Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel, terrible beach.

Posted Jul 10, 2016
The hotel is great with excellent facilities and swimming pools. The food was good and had plenty to choose from. The only let down was the beach which is rocky and rough, two feet into the water it is above chest height. Wouldn't recommend for families or if you are looking for a nice swim in the sea.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton, UK

Amazing hotel!!

Posted Jun 1, 2016
If you are looking for a place peaceful, quiet and beautiful, Royal Mare is the place to go! It's near the beach, very good food, all staffs from hotel very polite and helpful. They have a gym you can use for free and if you want to spend an extra money they have a big Spa with different types of massages. My wife, my 2y son and myself had a unforgettable time at Royal Mare, i chose a "all inclusive deal" and it saved me a lot of money with drinks and food, they do very good food (different everyday) and we could have all kind of cocktails for free. We had a sea view room and it was just a few meters away from the beach. I recommend you to hire a car to drive around the island, there are some beautiful places to see and it's cheap! To have an idea how much we enjoyed the hotel, we supposed to stay 7 days, but I cancelled our flights in the last minute and extended our holiday 3 more days. It was the perfect holiday for us!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Little Disappointing

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: Reataurant staff/ waiters v polite and work so hard for the guests. Animation team very engaged with guests and care.
Cons: Very big hotel so challenging to manage but simple improvements necessary ie label phones with correct numbers, be polite to guests, update rooms.
Location: Nothing really nearby, only one bus in am to Hersonissos, returning afternon.
No expectations on arrival however a few disappointments due to disorganisation and general maintenance: .Grounds. Hotel v big, nice greenery around appartments, well structured. Porters work hard all day and assist anyone with driving them to and from rooms if needed, as many elderly this time of year. .Room. old furniture, v soft mattress, bathroom shower door leaking, decoration old and needs renewing. Slippers and bathrobe provided as well as tea, coffee and kettle. .Service. telephone reception instructions appear to be incorrect in all rooms as this is known to other guests but not updated hence at 11.30pm i tried calling reception to get another blanket...wasnt able to get through so slept in the bathrobe. Asked for blanket twice as this was removed from my room, twice (first 4 nights chilly & windy). Requested coffee sachets when these ran out, as they were not filled automatically. One morning on asking for a Spa appointment (spa information kiost was empty), a lady with the mobile in her hand said she could call but better I just go myself (?!) .Food/Main Restaurant. All waiters work very hard, very structured, excellent service. Food varierty plentiful for every taste. Sweets ie cakes all tasted the same as all used processed cream. (Exception: Greek traditiinal cakes ). .SPA. 5 min walk uphill from the main Hotel is the Spa, which I used a few times however prices more expensive than London on comparison. Ladies at Spa very professional.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Israel

The hotel's location is problematic, but the hotel

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: The service, cleanliness, the dining room was great, the pool was large, Balcony Room
Cons: Dining room collection
Location: Nothing environment. Should take a taxi 8 euros to go to the city. No taverns in the area to take a taxi.
The rooms were far from the dining room. No where to hang out in the evening. To reach the city should take a taxi.
4 out of 5
by babeth from Paris

grand hotel, mais sur un modèle de village

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: l'espace , le style
Cons: le buffet, bon mais pas extraordinaire
Location: petite ville Hernossisos sans style à coté.
très bon accueil d'un personnel attentif. Grand chambre avec balcon
5 out of 5
by Frau 43J from Schweiz

Ausgezeichneter Service

Posted Sep 21, 2013 on Hotels
Das Hotel ist sehr gross und hat viele Pools. Die angebotenen Speisen in den vielen Restaurants sind sehr gut. Einziges Manko ist der Strand. Für leute die es lieben sehr Nahen beim nächsten Nachbarn zu liegen geht das sicher, aber ich bin nicht der Typ für Fleischauflauf. à la Rimini etc. Dann hat es viele Steine wo man sehr vorsichtig ins Wasser gehen muss um sich nicht die Füsse anzuschlagen. Badeschuhe wäre empfehlenswert. Das Hotel mit Thalasso Spa kann ich sehr empfehlen, doch für Strandferien ist es nur für "Anspruchslose"
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superbe Hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2013 on Hotels
Très bel hotel, super restaurant, belles piscines, sympa
5 out of 5
by Janak from London, UK

Great all round hotel for a fantastic break

Posted Apr 28, 2013
Pros: Atmosphere, environment and location brings the whole of Crete within it.
Cons: Nothing, nothing and nothing
Location: Great right on the beach, the hotel even has a ***** beach Rest. & Bar
Fantastic location right on the beach Superb facilities with gym and a spa Very helpful, friendly and courtious staff 4 gourmet style restaurants each with a theme 31 swimming pools High class sports facilities and beach activities
3 out of 5
by JM

bad service

Posted May 18, 2012 on Hotels
Pb of the hotel is the non professionalism of the receptionnist, and the restaurants closing early.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ottimo in bassa stagione .

Posted Apr 11, 2012
Hotel molto adatto in bassa stagione . Penso che in alta stagione si riempa di gruppi in particolare dall'est europeo (50% dei clienti). Durante la nostra vacanza era all'inizio della stagione e ottimo sotto tutti gli aspetti .