Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

5 day stay - loss of power in home

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Locale and accommodations
Cons: Update entire facility
Location: I-94/State Street, Ann Arbor - nearby shopping center (Briarwood)
Emergency situation, power out, all facilities within 20 miles no vacancies, fortunate to find Stay America directly across the street
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay and for sharing your feedback. We are glad you stayed with us during the power outage in your area and had a pleasant stay. We appreciate your observation in regard to the update and hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Drab and weary. Never got news the 80s was over.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: It was relatively cheap given the short notice.
Cons: Lots. - It needs redecorating. - Better bedding. - Staff need better training. - Better pest control. - Better curtains.
When I entered I was informed the wifi was down, which never was fixed by my stay. I was informed that there is no room service and to give them my towels if I wanted to get new ones given to me. The room was coloured a nicotine yellow and looked as if it had not been decorated in 30 years. The room came with a cooker and microwave, yet no plates, cutlery, cups or hot water making facilities. A sign on the desk indicated that you could request these at the front desk and it was patronisingly 'for your convenience'. There was minimal bedding, too thin to sleep without keeping the heater running. In Michigan at the middle of winter this felt a bit inappropriate. Sleeping was problematic, the curtains didn't block out the light from a spotlight outside the room. Additionally when the heater turned on, being placed directly under the window meant the convection from the heater blew the curtains wide open. There were bugs crawling all over the window. It appears that there is some infestation going on in that hotel. On my check out they claimed I owed money -- despite me paying for the entire trip via expedia. The individual who served me on checkout seemed to have no idea what he was doing or what was going on - in fact I would think he was a hotel guest if it wasn't for the rather hastily thrown on shirt he was wearing. Breakfast was a few coffee stops and a couple of cereal boxes. Less than what you'd receive at a B&B.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Please accept my apologies for the problems you encountered with your room and our service. I have shared your candid comments with my concerned team members to provide our guest with a better stay experience. We are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced and regret the same. We hope you will consider giving our hotel another chance so we can leave you with a much better impression on your next visit. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2017
They stay was great. Had no issues other than the heating/cooling unit I had to play with to get it warm in the room and also I found peanut shells by the lounge chair and under my bed. I stepped on a few and didn't know where they came from and that answered my question! Other than that everything was great
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad to see you had a great stay at our hotel, but disappointed that there were some cleanliness issues that were missed, which have been addressed with our housekeeping staff. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we expected

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Close to campus, that's about it. Did have a breakfast in the AM but not that great
Cons: Room smelled like cat urine. The rooms are not cleaned daily and we were never told this. Had to bring our wet towels to the front desk to exchange for clean ones at the end of the day.
Location: Very close to campus and booked room last minute. Should have been more suspicious
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable but bring your own breakfast

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
You can't forget it's a low cost motel. The furnishings/decor is pretty minimal, there aren't any luxury items. There is a full kitchen but you have to ask for any appliances, utensils, pots/pans, dishes, etc. It was quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast is pretty much non-existent. There were some carbohydrate choices and (my biggest complaint) the only creamer/milk like substance for both coffee and oatmeal was flavored non-dairy creamer (my personal idea of YECCH). Nothing to appeal to those of us who need to avoid artificial flavorings and sweeteners. Sigh. I ate leftovers and went out for coffee
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
I worked late and had to be back early and commute quite a distance so I booked the room last minute. It was very comfortable and more importantly quiet. The room was updated and felt very expensive. Will continue to stay here if I need to for work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Hearing that we were provided you with quiet, comfortable accommodations is more than satisfying. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty toilet, etc.

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
I had a terrible experience. The toilet was dirty with urine and feces around. Why not ensure it was cleaned before the next guest? Revolting. Never saw it in any other hotel. The carpet felt dirty. It took about 1 hour (4 phone calls) to get the wifi to work. Breakfast was very poor. Felt unsafe too. Had to look for another hotel, which was time-consuming during a time when I had a lot of training and work to do. Really disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
Nice rooms, friendly service staff, great location. No ice machine though. Everything else was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. It is satisfying to see you enjoyed the customer service provided by our staff and our convenient location. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
2 out of 5
by Kate

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels