Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 日本

基本家族向けです

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: 広い、清潔、Wi-Fi比較的安定
Cons: 朝食をもう少し改善してほしい
Location: ミシガン大に行く場合は良いです
ホテルの広さ設備ともに問題なし、ビジネスにも使えます。近くにあるモールにレストランもあり便利 ただし朝食はほぼ毎日同じです
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2015 by Anastasia Sterner Front Desk Supervisor, Hotel Management
Dear Hiroshi, Thank you for taking the time to rate us, we value your opinion of our hotel! I will be sure to ask the breakfast bar attendant if they are following the weekly meal plans. We try to rotate everything evenly throughout the week. I'm sorry that didn't happen during your stay! I'm glad that you found our location to be convenient, I think we have a pretty good location as well! If you return to Ann Arbor we would love for you to come stay with us again, we enjoyed having you here! Have a wonderful day!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Non-smoking smells like smoking on 4th Floor.

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: The pool.
Cons: 4th Floor.
Thety originally placed us in a 4th floor, non-smoking King suite but the smell of cigarette smoke was strong. They looked for another room on the 4th floor but the staff said it was the same. We were eventually moved to the 2d floor but the difference was night and day. The 4th floor used to be a smoking floor until 5 years ago, according to the staff. However, the one room we entered on the 4th floor smelled like they had a poker game in it that night. Avoid the 4th floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by Anastasia Sterner, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. I am so sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with the first king suite you were given on the 4th floor, I’m glad we were able to get you moved down to the 2nd floor and that the room was much better for you! I hope this doesn’t affect any future decision making about staying with us again, it was a pleasure having you here. Thanks for staying with us, we hope you have great day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mostly good

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Cons: Bathroom space
Clean nice hotel...good distance to nearby mall and restaurants. Close drive to Ann Arbor. Bathroom area small and cramped.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by Anastasia Sterner, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad that you were able to find your way around easily, we do have a pretty convenient location I must admit! I’m sorry to hear that you thought the bathrooms were small and cramped! I want to thank you for staying with us, if you return to Ann Arbor we would love for you to stay again. Have a great day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Jersey

Check in was easy and allowed early.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Noise proofing on highway side.A refrigerator in the room is a nice touch which was not in these rooms.
Location: Mall, UM golf, access to highway to Detroit and away from main traffic congestion.
Room was clean, fresh and spacious. Parking was free and location was behind mall away from crazy Ann Arbor traffic and road construction. We were in a room over looking highway and there was some truck noise at night but all in all for the rate, this location was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2015 by Anastasia Sterner, Hotel Management
Dear tk, I am sorry to hear that the noise from the free-way side of the building was bothersome for you. The rooms on that side of building do have double pane windows. We would love for you to come stay with us again. If you return to Ann Arbor just let us know when making reservations or at check in that you would prefer mall side facing rooms and we can attach your request to your guest profile in our computer system! We hope you will return, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a great day!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bugs

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: staff was great
Cons: no excuse for bugs - need to update the furniture - beds
Location: N/A
bed was very old with sags and lumps. found bugs in the shower before my shower in the morning
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Anastasia Sterner Front Desk Supervisor, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, I am terribly sorry to hear that you had bugs in your shower in the morning, that is just absolutely awful! I would also like to apologize for the bed in your room, I’m very sorry to hear that it was uncomfortable and felt old and lumpy. I will have maintenance defiantly go to the room and have them replace that bed as soon as possible! I am delighted to hear that you thought our staff was great. We appreciate your feedback and want to thank you for staying with us and would also like to invite you back if you return to Ann Arbor. We will give you the service and satisfaction you deserve from our hotel! Have a wonderful day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Very nice, clean hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Very clean, friendly staff Very helpful. Clean rooms, nice breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by sharon from Toronto

Clean & comfortable, great pricing!

Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was clean & comfortable. Staff was courteous and professional! Price was good. I would stay here again for sure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lacey from Ann Arbor

Perfect Mini Getaway

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
I was pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel was. It's was probably the cleanest hotel I've ever been too. I was even more surprised when it came to the FREE breakfast they provided. There was everything you could want and plenty of it. So glad I picked this hotel for a mini family getaway
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Decent hotel, dissapointing customer care

Posted May 11, 2015
Unfortunately upon arrival we found that the room we had booked was unsuitable for an additional rollaway bed contrary to the information on expedia. This resulted in the additional cost of an upgrade to a king suite. We had clearly requested a rollaway bed when booking and the hotel failed to warn us it before arrival that it would be unavailable or provide a complimentary upgrade. Dissapointing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2015 by Anastasia Sterner Front Desk Supervisor, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing, your comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and we are committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable accommodations for our guests. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this issue may have caused. It is a fire hazard and is against the law for us to have a roll away in a room that has 2 double beds. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future and provide you with the service you deserve and expect from us. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you have a wonderful day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2015 on Hotels