Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great pool, friendly staff

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Great getaway. Loved the champagne at checkin. Loved the pool and hot tub. Skip the restaurant. Over priced for what it is and waiter wasn't great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel; good value; not special

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Good location, reasonable price. Roominess small, bathroom even smaller. Clean and comfortable. Fine place to stay if you are not looking for luxury surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Clean, plenty of room. Great access to eats and shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by The Kensington Hotel on State Street, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at The Kensington Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Jan 28, 2017
We loved that we were able to get a balcony room. Great pool area, very few kids, which made the experience much more relaxing for us. Exercise room was better than most.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Mi

Had a great getaway close to home

Posted Dec 30, 2016
I usually visit Ann Arbor for music events but we decided to treat ourselves to a nice holiday getaway. Had a super dinner at The Earle and stayed overnight at The Kensington. The pool and fitness area was phenomenal. One of the largest and warmest hotel pools I've enjoyed with depth up to 9 feet. Nice hot tub, sauna, and exercise room. The room was clean and quiet and this one, with a king bed, had a nice balcony to sit out on. Restaurant was under renovation but no big deal. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel next to shopping and Campus

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Clean, friendly staff, no issues with the room, close to where I was working.
Cons: A free breakfast, but they have a restaurant on site so I understand why they don't.
Location: Shopping, dining, 10 min from campus.
Stayed for business and had a pleasant stay. The hotel is clean and the staff very courteous. Everything you could ask for when staying for few days. Great location next to a mall if your into shopping and right on the street that takes you to campus, about 10 min drive. I will stay again if I have to travel to the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset Mi.

Very nice Hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: The cleanness and the staff were the best.
Cons: Better signs directing you where to turn to find entrance.
Location: Lots of shopping and places to eat, as well as places to sight see. Located near the U of M campus so lots of sporting events going on.
My wife was in the Hospital so decided to stay a couple of nights in Ann Arbor, because of the weather conditions. This hotel was a short distance from hospital . Located on the edge of the mall so lots of places to eat and shop. We were given Champlain or water when we signed in. Rooms were very clean and quiet and maids made sure we had every thing we needed. The only draw back was finding the drive to use to get to hotel. I was told they are working on it and i'm sure come spring that will be corrected. I also arrived at night so it was even harder to find. If I have to stay in Ann Arbor Mi. again this will be the place.Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo

Great location, great room.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Clean and comfortable room with king bed close to great shopping and restaurants. I enjoyed my stay there while in town while my mom had surgery at University of Michigan hospital. An easy ride to the hospital, and a clean, nice room when I returned. Gorgeous pool that I did not have time to use. I will definitely return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

Nice older hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Was here for business. The room was very nice and comfortable. The only downside was the hotel bar. Not much of a selection or scene.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unwashed sheets

Posted Dec 14, 2016
It was a little alarming to move my feet in the middle of the night to discover crumbs on the sheet so clearly they did not wash the bedding!!