Ratings based on 506 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Convenient, close to U of M

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Check in was pleasant, the front desk clerk was very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older motel style but great condition

Posted Jan 10, 2018
This is one of those hotels that are really just a motel, with outdoor access to the rooms. It is noticeably older with the style and some dated facilities and a slightly worn down door frame, but the upkeep makes it all worth it. The room was immaculate, the staff was friendly, the location is good, and the price can't be beat unless you step down to the red roof or somewhere that is terribly cleaned and upkept. Quiet area, no smoking, and safe area. Totally would recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2018 by Management, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We take a lot of pride in having delivered locally owned, budget-friendly services for more than 50 years. It is great to hear that our tradition is strong. We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in town!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from twin lake

Dirty old Moldy day time staff bad

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Hire better Mangers and cleaning staff most unfriendly day staff rude female mangers
Location: fair
IF your a smoker you will get charged a fee after you leave even if you don't smoke in room the smell on your clothes they say you smoked in room no night time help for loud noises cracks in shower tiles bath room floor walls mold . broken lamps outlets don't work no bathroom fan
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We are very sorry that your room was unsatisfactory. Had you alerted the front desk during your stay, we could have remedied the issues you experienced, or found you a room that better suited your needs. In regards to the smoking charge, every hotel in Michigan is 100% smoke-free by law. Smoking is not permitted within 30 feet of any entrances. Multiple staff members agreed that you smoked in the room, and given that some of them have more than a decade of experience, we trust them to implement this policy fairly. We wish you all the best!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from twin lake mi

worst hotel ever

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Hire better mangers cleaning staff I have 2 videos and much more picture
Location: fair
The room was dirty had mold broken tiles in shower 2 of the outlet didn't work I was suppose to have 1 queen bed i got 2 full beds 2 of the lamps were broken 2 mm were on the floor 1st day still there 8 days later i was charged a smoking fee 100.00 didn't even smoke in there room it was my coat and clothes WORST HOTEL EVER
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Hello Again, We are very sorry that you were dissatisfied with your stay. Had you alerted us to these issues while you were still here, we could have either remedied them or moved you to a room that better suited you. In regards to the smoking charge, every hotel in Michigan is 100% smoke free by law. Our hotel has policies in place that are comparable to every other hotel in the area to enforce this law. Some members of our staff have been here for a number of years, and we have complete faith in their ability to fairly enforce these policies. We wish you all the best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Needs

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Could use bigger bath, needs updating. Could have hair dryer, and an iron.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! For future reference, we do have hair dryers and irons available upon request. We will take your feedback regarding the bathroom and room amenities into consideration, but we are glad that you were able to enjoy your stay regardless, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Good place to stay thats not too expensive but is clean and in a good location with a friendly and competent staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you enjoyed our convenient location and friendly staff! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bowling Green, OH

Cheap hotel okay for short stays

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pretty large room for just one person, had a nice little desk I was able to get work done on. Only 3 lamps in the room and one of mine didn’t work. Some stray trash left from previous customers and some stray hairs in the bathroom. Overall, you get what you pay for. I stayed here two nights and was perfectly fine but would not want to stay any more than that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We do pride ourselves on delivering basic amenities at some of the lowest rates in town. We do apologize that the cleanliness of the room did not exceed your expectations. We will review our standards with housekeeping, and hopefully everything will be in great shape for your next stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Old, but clean

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: The location is good, just down the road from "The Big House".
Cons: It needs updating badly.
This hotel is really old, it could use some renovation work. BUT it was clean, comfortable, and we didn't spend much time there anyway. The fan in the bathroom is REALLY LOUD. You'd think the hotel staff would alert management. The continental breakfast is over awfully soon, imho. We went in for a coffee at 9am the day after Thanksgiving and the worker was already taking things away. She had to bring the milk back, as there was no creamer for the coffee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts! We are glad that you were able to enjoy our convenient location. We will have maintenance look into the fan in your room, and hopefully everything will be in good shape the next time you stay with us. As is posted in the lobby, breakfast does end at 9 on weekdays and 10 on weekends. We are glad to hear that our front desk was able to accommodate your request for milk after breakfast was over. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Accessible to the university and community

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: The coziness of the room makes staying here a memorable experience.
Cons: The front desk clerk could be a little more friendly.
Location: Excellent location to major universities, shops, museums, restaurants and near freeway.
I love the spaciousness of the rooms. The location is awesome. Also, nearby restaurant and access to the University of Michigan with museums and more. Excellent place to stay if you're planning to see any Michigan football games.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We are very glad to hear of your positive experience! We definitely take pride in delivering some of the best service in town at amazing rates. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Go blue!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lansing

Only if sleeping in the rain is the other option.

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: The room was clean . It had a fridge and a microwave which worked. The manager was a nice guy.
Cons: Food. Other than toast and cereal for breakfast. Two green bananas was the only fruit option. No hot options other than coffee or tea.
Location: Major challenges turning left out of the site which is the only way to get downtown. There is a Trader Joes kinda close if you survive the left turn.
My room smelled musty. The breakfast buffet is like your kitchen when no one has gone shopping for two weeks. It is an old motel. That picture on Expedia is not representative.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts! We are glad that you found your newly renovated room to be comfortable. Our breakfast is continental, which means that it includes cold items only. If you have a specific suggestion for something we could include, we would be happy to hear it. We look forward to seeing you again soon!