Ratings based on 567 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Margaret from ROCHESTER

NOT A TYPICAL WYNDHAM

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
I was pretty shocked when I walked into the hotel and saw the condition of the hotel. I was expecting a nicer hotel, considering it was a Wyndham. The room was nice, but the rest of the hotel was very worn out. The carpet, the halls, the elevator, everything but the room looked very USED. It even smelled old and over-used. The staff was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Sara, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are currently in the process of upgrading the hotel. We hope that in the future, you will stay with us and see all of the new changes we are making
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the $$

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Had One elevator and didn't go to but one side of the building. 3/4 of the parking lot was torn up and a lot of construction noise the whole weekend. Rooms were clean but I do not feel it was worth the nightly cost that was charged.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Sara, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We hope to have our new landscaping and parking lot finished next week. I apologize for the construction noise from the new property next door. We also hope this project is finished by the middle of June.
1 out of 5
by Lynne from Hamilton, On

A CONSTRUCTION ZONE -- AWFUL!

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived after dark to find that this "recently renovated" hotel was in the middle of a construction zone (theirs). We nearly broke an axle driving through the area to get to the BACK of the hotel (there was no front entrance) to walk through to the front desk. We were given the key to what turned out to be a handicapped room (we aren't) with a shower that was secured halfway up the wall with a handheld thing,no tub and a single curtain. As it was now close to midnight and we had driven for 6-1/2 hrs. and had brought our bags across sand, broken concrete and unpacked, we were too tired to go through the hassle of having to move rooms. We didnt find out for a while that the fan in the bathroom was obviously broken, and sounded like a tractor when the light was put on, so we couldn't leave a light on to enable us to find it in the dark. When we woke in the morning (early because of the noise outside on the property) we noticed two large holes in the screen. This was a property we would NEVER have booked if the true tale about the condition had been told. To say the least, we are very upset to have spent money on this kind of disappointing property. We feel that Hotels.com (which I have used many times, but just realized that you have to "sign in" for points to be given) should at the very least offer another night (o us, as a show of goodwill.
2 out of 5
by Steven

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rajeev

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Jeffrey from Wisconsin

$500 2 night stay for this disappointing hotel.

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
Upon arrival, there was a line of 6 guests checking in with only one staff member assigned to check in. We waited in line 20+ minutes to get keys. Early first morning a maintenance employee woke us up by arbitrarily walking into our room. After falling back to sleep, the fire alarm began going off-falsely. Parking lot torn up-pot holes, crevices, large rocks all over the place-path to parking is not clearly identified. We were in Ann Arbor for U of M's graduation and were up charged to $500 for our two night stay by Wyndham for this room/hotel! They were clearly taking advantage of out of state guests. It was a huge disappointment. I would not recommend this hotel and had such a poor experience that I will never stay at another Wyndham.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Sara, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I apologize for the issues you had when you were at the hotel. We are working on upgrading the hotel and hope that in the future you will stay with us again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent but still in the middle of renovation

Posted May 1, 2016
This hotel is still being renovated. The elevators and most of the inside looks old. Pro: the rates included breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2016 by Sara , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are currently working on updating our property. We look forward to you staying with us in the future.
2 out of 5
by STEVEN

Being renovated-still a work in progress

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
Looks like this is an older hotel that is being renovated. I would suggest owners just shut it down and finish the work rather than sucker people into staying there when it is not ready for prime time yet. The parking lot was a mess with potholes and construction equipment everywhere. Ceiling light in bathroom missing a fixture cover. Paint drippings on door. Toilet running continuously and then finally overflowed. I called front desk to have somebody fix it/clean it up. Took a long time for somebody to show up. Cannot recommend this hotel at this time. Hopefully they can get it fixed up soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Sara, Hotel Management
I apologize for the issues you had with your stay. We are currently working on upgrading the hotel so it will be enjoyable for everyone in the future. We hope to finish this project in the near future. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommended

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: Inexpensive, comfortable bed, good location for my trip.
The grounds were being dug up when I arrived, creating a very unattractive exterior. The interior was not in renovations but the colors (large expanses of yellow and aqua wall) very unattractive. The hotel staff was pleasant but did the minimum required. The room was adequate but the TV remote didn't work (needed batteries?) and the wallpaper had some rents that gave it the impression of poor maintenance. Also, my room, in the back, overlooked the highway and was noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2016 by Sara, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are currently making updates to the hotel, so in the future, your stay with us will be better.
4 out of 5
by MEKLIT

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels