Ratings based on 1,157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Historic hotel-close to shops-tricky location

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Close proximity to the Naval Academy, shops and restaurants in the heart of Historic Annapolis.
Cons: Better check-in process, parking was very tricky.
Location: U.S. Naval Academy
We enjoyed our stay at The Maryland Inn of the Historic Inns of Annapolis for two nights. Guest beware though, check-in and parking are tricky and frustrating. You check-in at the Governor Calvert House (separate location 3-4 blocks away). Parking is a real challenge. We were given the option to either valet at the Calvert House or park 4 blocks away from the Maryland Inn. We chose the latter. Once we got acclimated to our surroundings the rest of the stay was awesome. The Maryland Inn is a 15 minute walk from the Naval Academy, and 5-15 minutes from dozens of great shops and restaurants. The $150 per night fare is too high in our opinion with little hotel amenities save for coffee service in the lobby each morning. The rooms are well decorated and clean but small and tight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2016 by HIA, Hotel Management
Thank you Dennis for the nice review, comments and feedback. We are in the heart of downtown Annapolis so parking is a premium with tight streets. We are very close to everything and we love to hear how our guests like our new look from the renovation. We look forward to having you come back again. Warm Regards, Daryl Strayer, GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Annapolis a wonderful town

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Staff was outstanding – old historic hotel very quaint – great restaurant
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Right on the bay – great food town
Was in town to see a show at the Ram’s Head great experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2016 by HIA, Hotel Management
thank you guest for the nice review and letting everyone know about the outstanding staff and our historic hotel. Come back and see us again soon. Warm Regards, Daryl Strayer, GM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Nice hotel for USNA visit

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Bed was comfortable.
Cons: Breakfast was minimal - pastries, coffee, tea or juice. Add small plates or napkins to pastry area at Calvert hotel. Have a second valet person.
Location: Beside State House. Shops and quaint restaurants nearby.
we stayed here when our son visited the USNA on Candidate Weekend. It was close to shops, in a beautiful area of town. In warm weather it would be a walkable distance to the USNA. Must Valet car - $25.00/day. If stay at other Inns in this group you must check-in here and valet park your car at this location. They did have a shuttle between to Inns and that would take you to the USNA. However, same person driving shuttle and valeting cars. Had to wait over 30 minutes to get car one morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2016 by HIA, Hotel Management
Dear Cyndi, thank you for the review and feedback, we are glad you like our beds and location. Sorry about the wait times, as it's a small city and getting around is difficult. We look forward to you coming back soon. Warm Regards, Daryl Strayer, GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: Loved the decor of the room. Very clean and comfortable
Location: Close to everything in historic Annapolis.
Was only there for one night. Room was very pretty and comfortable. Walking distance to all the shops and restaurants in historic Annapolis.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2016 by HIA, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review and letting everyone know about how clean, comfy and lovely decore we have. We look forward to you coming back again soon. Warm Regards, Daryl Strayer, GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McLean, VA

Quaint, comfortable and reasonably priced hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Quaint; great location.
Cons: This may be down to Expedia and not the hotel, but when I checked in my reservation was under a different name from mine. Embarrassing.
Very comfortable and convenient location, right at the top of Main Street in the middle of old Annapolis. I would strongly recommend for people who want to take in the local sights and enjoy an inn from the old days. Bed was very comfortable even for a 6'3" person.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2016 by HIA, Hotel Management
Dear Barry, thank you for your review, sorry about the name mix up. It was great to hear you comment about our great location and being downtown Annapolis. I hope we see you back soon. Warm Regards, Daryl Strayer, GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellville

One night stand

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: Everything but especially the bed and bedding were very comfortable. Completely updated facility.
Cons: Please make sure your guests understand how your facility is setup and where things are located. Your restaurant is not to be missed but no mention.
Location: Looking out the window is history everywhere. Naval Academy, great food, SHOPPING! Go down any backstreet.
My wife and I checked in late in the evening and the front desk person was very helpful directing us to places to go. Our room was perfect and beautiful. The bed and bedding were comfortable especially given it was 29 degrees outside. The night was quiet, no disturbing sounds in the building or outside. The next morning we had to leave and the front desk took our luggage as we explored till lunch before we had to leave the city. Again very helpful. By chance we stumbled on the restaurant at their sister facilities so my advice is to make an effort to eat here. The French Toast was awesome. This facility is divided in three properties in close proximity. so be sure to know where the check in facility is located and the facility where the restaurant is located. Not to worry, it may be slightly unconventional for some but totally worth it as this is very historic and a wonderful place to stay. Bottom line, stay here even if only for a one night stand....with your spouse.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2015 by HIA, Hotel Management
Thank you Mark for the beautiful remarks about the property and restaurant. We love when our guests have a great time, even if it is only one night. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm Regards, Daryl Strayer, GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Nuria from Portland, OR

Great time in downtown Annapolis

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
This was a great little hotel right in the heart of Annapolis! We loved the ability to roll out of bed and be right in downtown. There are great food options nearby, within 2 minutes walking, as well as the Navy Academy campus. The hotel serves a light breakfast in the morning with pastries, muffins and bagels and great coffee. I'd gladly stay here again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2015 by HIA, Hotel Management
Thank you Nuria, for the all the nice comments and compliments about the area and our hotel. We were so happy to hear how you would gladly stay here again, we look forward to seeing you. Warm Regards, Daryl Strayer, GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dan

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2015 by HIA, Hotel Management
Thank Dan for the 5 star review, we look forward to seeing you back soon. Warm Regards, Daryl Strayer, GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: Location! Close to everything! Cozy feel. Historic quality.
Cons: Keys
Location: Many quaint shops, fine restaurants, museums, pubs.
Only problem was the room key. It malfunctioned about four times during my 2 night visit. Very frustrating! But hotel staff were very accommodating and quickly brought new keys each time. Have never had so much trouble with keys.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2015 by HIA, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review, I am sorry about the keys, we must have had a malfunction for sure. I was happy to hear you liked the historic town and all the shops and restaurant in the walking area. We look forward to having you back again! Warm Regards, Daryl Strayer, GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by patrick

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2015 by HIA, Hotel Management
Thank you Patrick for the 5 star review!! Come see us again soon. Warm Regards, Daryl Strayer, GM