Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perrysburg, United States of America

Nice getaway

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Location: Trail hikes + beautiful views
A+ Semi seculed, but within driving distance of MacDonald's
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Quiet, clean, comfortable but a bit old-fashioned.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: The tram to the bottom of the gorge is fine as is the jet boat ride. The views from the hotel a great.
The room was clean and quiet, the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was a bit cramped. There was no microwave or mini refrigerator in the room. The free breakfast was terrible. The coffee was watery and they didn't even have any black tea.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Nice view

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Nice room in lovely setting. Nice view from room. Had own balcony.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Top 10 View!

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Price, convenience, cleanliness
Cons: Maybe some upgrades to bathrooms, but we enjoyed the quaintness.
Location: Located conveniently to New River Gorge activities, National Park, State Parks, hiking, and waterfalls.
The HNSP Lodge was a convenient place to stay for our WV adventure. Our check-in was swift and courteous and our room had an amazing view of the New River Gorge. We could watch and listen to the trains roll past as well as take a tram down to the gorge for more amazing scenery. Our room was clean and comfortable. The place is old and may not have all the up-graded decor, but it is efficient. The price per night was a bargain, as well, that also included a continental breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A pleasant surprise!

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Bedrooms very clean and beds comfortable.
Cons: Smell of the stairwells; ice machines were on the fritz, but maintenance person told us they were awaiting parts to repair.
Location: Cathedral Falls was very pretty. Also Babcock State Park has the lovely Glade Creek Grist Mill, about 1/2 hour away.
We stayed here for two days on a waterfall photo trip. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality and comfort of the rooms. The only negative was the strong musty odor when you're in the stairwells. It could have been related to the hot humid weather and the stairwell was close to the pool area. The pool was also nice and clean. Very few options for meals out-Subway or Gino's pizza. That is why the restaurant has a captive audience! We ate at the restaurant, which had decent food and excellent service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice place

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Room was comfortable and very clean.
Cons: Updating would be nice Breakfast could be better. At least give us glass cups for our coffee!
This hotel needs updating, but it was clean and comfortable. We had a room on the 4th floor with a whole wall of windows and a balcony on the other. If you don't like outside access be sure to state that when you make reservations, as other rooms on lower level were outside access. Also, I read somewhere in expedia's description that all rooms have fireplaces, but that isn't true. Only 1 room has a fireplace, and we didn't get it. Breakfast is free, something to skip. Otherwise, we really enjoyed our stay and would stay again.. I bet it's beautiful in the summer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean room with a nice view

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Hotel was very outdated but the room was clean and had a nice view. Breakfast was terrible. Only 15 minute drive to Fayetteville. We would stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views.

Posted Mar 18, 2015
This was the last stop on a long trip. It was by far the best. It was a nice, clean room. It was very charming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GREAT VALUE!

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Excellent hotel with a great view! Would definitely come back, and recommend to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous view from a clean room

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: the view
Cons: the restaurant wasn't good at all.
Location: Adventures on the Gorge!
This is a lovely hotel. The rooms are small, but very clean and nice. The view is outstanding!