Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not 5 star!

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Lots of different pools
Cons: So many, look at 'about your experience' section
Location: n/a
Definitely not a 5 star hotel. Having been to Antalya a few times to 5 star hotels, this was no where near that category. - Hotel is a bit tired - No one speaks English - If you have allergies forget about it. They have an allergy chart, that no one seems to understand, it is not clear if the 'coloured dot' indicates it is ok to eat or it contains that type of food - none of the staff knew either, if lucky enough to find someone who understand even when pointing at the chart, they all said something different. Tried to be super careful but using common sense and only having plain food, but this was not enough and had many allergic reactions which ruined our family holiday. - From our room we could hear the music playing until early hours of the morning, so forget trying to go to bed at a reasonable time. - The room temperature was very hot, the air con didn't seem to do much, even after asking for them to take a look at it, it was still super hot - Lots of kids and no adult only sections (eating, pools...) like other hotels in Antalya
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Front desk staff unfriendly and unhelpful. I was alone in my room and was forced to get a double bed room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2017 by CRM Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We regret to read that your expectations were not met due to the room. We kindly would like to inform that our rooms are either equipped with 1 French or 2 Twin beds, and are being divided according to the availability on the arrival day, we regret to read that you experienced inconveniences because of it. We sinderely hope to welcome you again ofcourse, in that case please do not hesitate to contact us in advance to share your preferences so that we can arrange the room accordingly! Sincerely, CRM Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Terrible experience

Posted May 28, 2017
Hotel front desk was not helpful giving me a single room with a king size bed. I was forced to accept a room with double beds although i was alone. The A/C was not working and it was extremely hot. Did enjoy my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2017 by CRM Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Thank you for sharing your feedack with us. We are happy that you overall enjoyed your stay though regret to read that you experienced inconveniences regarding the bedtype. We would like to kindly inform you that the rooms are equipped with either 1 French or 2 Twin bed and are divided according to the availability on the arrival day. Unfortunately we did not receive any special preferences in advance, but we surely hope to welcome you here again, and in that case please do not hesitate to contact us in advance, so that we can arrange a room according to your wishes! Sincerely, CRM Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, wonderful activities and beach

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Everything - staff, location, beach gym, spa
Celebrated a birthday and had a wonderful experience, have every intention to return to the hotel in the near future.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by CRM Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, We are very happy that you spend a wonderful time in Titanic Beach Lara and that we were able to contribute to an unforgettable birthday celebration. Thank you very much for sharing your personal experiences hereby, we sincerely hope to welcome you here again in the near future! With kind regards, CRM Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice hotel very good facility's

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Lovely hotel and rooms were a good size So much food on offer however after a week it was starting to get boring having the same everyday Bar was good on a evening also outside bars during the day was good Beach and water sports was good I'd sure recommend this hotel to anyone looking to go to Antalya
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by CRM Management, Hotel Management
Dear john, Thank you very much for sharing your personal holiday experiences and for your recommendation. We are happy that you overall remained satisfied with our hotel and services, we surely hope to welcome you here again in the near future! Sincerely, CRM Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

NICE SETTING AND GROUNDS BUT PLAIN HOTEL

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: The setting: pools, dining areas, etc were very beautiful
Cons: Clean the carpets in the rooms
The room was very ordinary and the carpet in the room was in need of a good cleaning. It was disappointing and small spot cleaning can go a long way.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by CRM Management, Hotel Management
Dear Shelley, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback hereby. We are happy that you overall remained satisfied with our hotel and facilities, though regret to read about your dissatisfaction regarding the roomcleaning. We would like to inform you that we have shared this with the relevant department manager in order to overlook this service and make changes for the better where necessary. You may always contact the Call center of Guest Services during your stay fr any kind of enquiries and / or feedback, in order to take all necessary notes and to solve any problem as quick and convenient as possible. We sincerely hope that we may welcome you back to Titanic Beach Lara Hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Rude staff, no real wifi, poor service, no english

Posted Apr 17, 2017
On paper this should have been an excellent holiday however the staff at the hotel were extremely rude (from reception to room service and especially the waiters in the dining areas)! My booking mentioned 'premium wifi' however for the first 4 days of my stay the wifi was only enough to load a Whatsapp message every now and again - forget being able to use a browser and even access email. Would not recommend this hotel if you are planning to work online or even use the internet. Our room was eventually changed after complaining multiple times about the bed(s) - we were put in a room with two connected beds as opposed to the double bed I had paid for. Even after changing the room the bed was still not a double bed! Poor service indeed. Toiletries were not once fully replenished and I would have to speak with guest relations multiple times. I gave up in the end. Catering staff (waiters and servers) were extremely rude and regularly ignored guests including us. We have a 1 year old baby and were given a baby high-chair on average 2 out of 3 times that we asked. We occasionally had to and bring this ourselves as staff would ignore us or tell us to bring this from another part of the dinning hall. While the features and facilities of the hotel seem great on paper and are built to a good standard, the service is terribly appalling and really lets down the holiday. Also, if you're expecting a travel adapter from reception (as is mentioned online) forget it, it's a lie!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by CRM Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, We would like to thank you for your time to share your personal holiday experiences hereby, we truely regret to read that not all your expectations were met. We will share your feedback with all the relevant department managers, in order to overlook our services and change if necessary. We do would like to inform that customer preferences such as room/floor/bed type etc. are a subject of our hotels availability and can not be confirmed in advance, but we always do our very best. Travel adaptors are usually provided at the reception desk (with a deposit) though it is possible that we had no availability at the moment you requested this. We regret to read that not all your expectations were met, though we do hope to welcome you here once more to convince you from our services.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

outstanding

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
outstanding all around
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017
Dear Guests, Thank you for your positive feedback and maximum rating! We hope to welcome you here again! Sincerely, CRM Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel and excellent hotel staff and food

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: excellent staff
Cons: there was no ac condition
expectation .big rooms .the all is excellent .food .staff.location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by CRM Management, Hotel Management
Dear khaled, We are happy that you overall remained satisfied with our hotel, facilities and services. We sincerley hope to welcome you here again in the near future!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017
Dear Guests, We would like to thank you for reveiwing your recent stay at Titanic Beach Lara. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, we would be glad to welcome you here again soon! Sincerely, CRM Management