Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel friendly staff

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Small hotel with friendly staff
Cons: Shower ( but effects of recent drought etc. on water supply probably to blame)
Location: Close to town and Dickenson Bay beach
Good value and convenient location, facilities OK, quiet due to time of visit helpful staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hants UK

A cricket trip with a pal.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: I thought the value of the rooms were fair.The aircon was good. The room we were in was in good repair.
Cons: Staff in the restaurant, bar and one of the receptionists were not very good and didn`t seem bothered. Cleaning the room every day and not every other
Location: Terrific beaches close, but the road is busy and there is no foot path. Same applies to St Johns.
The hotel is slightly dated and not the cleanest. Our room was only serviced every other day. The staff serving breakfast were very slow and not really interested. We couldn`t get a coffee on our last morning because the chef was not there. Tea only and my second cup was mint tea . The girl obviously couldn`t make tea either. The breakfast was ok but expensive for so small a portion. The bar was expensive and slow at serving you. On our departure we were not allowed a room to change in or shower after we had been at the cricket all day and we were hot and sweaty.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

No beach...

Posted Feb 11, 2017
The room, bedding and pillows smelt the mold... no matter what you did!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

overnight stoppover

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: modernise and update the bedrooms and bathroom.
Location: poor location. nothing in walking distance
we needed an overnight stoppover close to the airport. Whilst the check in reception and restaurant staff were very friendly i commented that everything else was looking tired and past its sell by date. l was instantly berated with "we are a typical carribean hotel". why must Carribean equate to rundown? we subsequently stayed in several small fantastic hotels particularly in St Lucia.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Great staff but the beds were terrible.

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Very friendly staff.
Location: The hotel is a mile walk to any beach or other restaurant.
Great staff but the beds were terrible. The pillows were old & flat. The rooms were tired and for $125 a night, seemed overpriced. The restaurant attached to the hotel was run by someone else. They charged $10 for a "Continental Breakfast" that was toast, juice and a small bowl of unripe fruit. One egg, bacon, toast & fruit was $12.50. All of the other places we ate were less expensive for much better food.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St.Maarten

Very DISAPPOINTING

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING NEEDS TO BE IMPROVED
Location: The Location is not bad because it is not very far from the beach and there is a convenient grocery store right next door...
For the many times I have been to this Hotel and being displeased, I would have think by now that the owners would have done some improvement on the building exterior and interior. The hotel can do so much more than it is doing right now if only someone who realize that something needs to be done. The rooms has never been upgraded in over 5 to 10 years, The pool has broken tiles inside of it that can give you a cut while swimming, You can put a soap on the soap holder in the shower because the holder is at a 45 degree angel with rusty screws. When you flush the toilet it takes at less 10 to 15 minutes to refill because the waters refilling the tank drop by drop. The furniture in the room is out dated. Although the restaurant is owned by someone else, I do believe that the owners of the hotel should make sure that the guest is satisfied with the food and service that they are getting and that is not the case. The food is very POOR. The Kitchen is not appropriate for cooking any meal, and why I said that is because of the amount of flies I saw on the counter that is being used to prepare the food. Like I said if the owner/ owners would only put some time and money into upgrading the hotel it could do so much better than it is doing right now. The pictures of the Hotel that is seen on Expedia for this hotel is far much better than the hotel is and so i think these pictures needs to be taken down. I will not book another night at this hotel unless something is done. Thanks
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore Maryland

Nice hotel, close to the beach, good location.

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: The hotel location and price
Cons: The hotel should have the reception area open with an attendant 24hrs to meet Guests needs.
Location: close to the beach and shopping
I had a wonderful experience. The receptionist was nice and friendly.
5 out of 5
by Pedro from San Juan.

Business Trip

Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice. It's a small hotel but the staff is super friendly and accommodating. Perfect for a two night business trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Passing grade

Posted May 13, 2015 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay at the Anchorage Inn ! -Excellent staff -Excellent breakfast Only thing I would caution someone about is the bathroom. The wall in the bathroom does not go to the ceiling. So you had better be pretty comfortable with whoever you are staying with! (Every sound can be heard from within) FYI... No hot water in the night. So get your shower before it's too late if you require hot water.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Budget Hotel in a pleasant location.

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: The setting is nice, the pool is good. The room was large and comfortable, and finding a kitchenette was a bonus.
Cons: The shower in room 10, as the temperature oscillated unpredictably during showering between cold and almost scalding, hence my giving a score of 3.
Location: Walking into St Johns, one way, or to the beach, the other way, was possible for the moderately fit. English Harbour is worth a visit.
Overall it served the purpose of my trip, which was to attend the 1st Test Match between West Indies and England. I breakfasted in the hotel, but no other meals were available, and it was necessary to walk some distance or taxi for dinner.