Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY NY

Nice hotel. Most rooms only 10 steps to beach.

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We used their recommended reliable taxi service to get to other beaches and restaurants throughout our stay. If you are looking to save some money on meals, each room has a fully equipped efficiency kitchen. This is a small intimate hotel. Not a mega resort. If you are seeking an intimate feel, great location and peaceful atmosphere I would recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Potential But A Bit Disappointing

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Beachfront, small, personal, friendly, clean.
Cons: Linens, towels, toiletries, plumbing, restaurant ambiance.
Location: Pigeon Beach beachfront restaurant/bar Catherine's Cafe. Also ate at Admirals's Inn and Trappas. Rumbaba also supposed to be great but fully booked
I had my eye on this place for a few years because it is small and right on the water. I was disappointed that it was more run down than I expected. Some small improvements could make a big difference. Plumbing is problematic and upkeep of deck chairs, doors and windows etc. is poor. Bedding and towels could use an upgrade and it would be nice to have better shampoo etc. and daily water bottles. But the setting is idyllic, the place is very clean, and the staff were great. AC machine was top of the line, silent - very unusual. The restaurant food is not bad, though surprisingly pricey for breakfast, but there's no evening ambiance. Could be easily fixed with simple things like candles rather than bright lights... I think I would come back here again if I had the opportunity but I'd be excited to see these improvements and would be more than happy to pay a bit more for them. Thanks Catamaran...hoping you can keep improving!
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

Charming hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: we really enjoyed the small size of this hotel and the intimate feel to it. It felt more of a genuine local island hotel than the big internationals
Cons: Bathrooms could be improved as slightly dated in decor, but working well.
Location: there is a restaurant next door and another on the adjoining marina, a supermarket and another bar about 5 mins walk
This is a charming family run hotel that fronts onto the beach. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It has the feel of being away from it all. There is an adjoining restaurant overlooking the sea that serves good food and daily specials. It is a 5 min drive from English Harbour which has shopping, bars and restaurants.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel ON the beach

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: staff, location, one can walk to English Harbour
Cons: outdated rooms
lovely to hear the waves from lying in bed, nice for a break away from crowds. sea and pool gorgeous temperature. restaurant buffet good, great rum punch on arrival, staff very helpful. room a little dated but fine. air con, fan, big beds, tiny bathroom, lovely to have a big fridge.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Amazing.....worth the ride from airport!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
We found this gem of a place while searching the web from the airport....what a wonderful surprise! We were welcomed by the owner's Feona's son Colin his lovely wife and cute little grandson CJ.....the location is so beautiful and picturesque......a private beach with a view of the mountains and Falmouth harbour so fantastic....we highly recommend....we will be back.
4 out of 5
by Terry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by liz from London, UK

Difficult to fault this hotel and it's location.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Everything you would want to do is accessible from this location. Renting a car is a good idea. Roads are very easy to drive on.
We felt comfortable the minute we arrived as we were warmly welcomed. The private beach outside the room was fantastic and the bar/restaurant facilities are great. It's a peaceful place and there is a more than adequate supermarket 5 mins walk away. Renting a car is probably a good idea so that you can explore other parts of the Island, although the local buses were fine to use and very cheap. Local taxi drivers were friendly and pointed out things of interest on the journeys. I would definately recommend staying in a local hotel like this as you get to interact with the staff and other local residents whereas if you stay in the all inclusive resorts, you just get stuck with other brits and americans who aren't half as friendly as local people !! I think it's always good to support local businesses which if staying in a resort, you don't get to do. Every member of staff at the Catamaran was lovely and made our stay fantastic. i would urge people to consider this establishment when looking for somewhere to stay. Looking forward to returning there sometime !
5 out of 5
for Families
by dave from penarth, wales

Beachside quite literally

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Small and quiet, nice small pool but not full when I was there. Unobtrusive service
Cons: Rooms could do with a little tlc,eg fridge had rust spotted top. But I would love to go back again
Location: Two restaurants,plus local caffe and supermarket within easy walking distance. Beach and water sports kit on site. Short taxi ride, 8usd to English
A quiet hotel, right on the beach.rooms not ultramodern, but clean ans comfortable. My room was on the ground floor, out of front door across veranda and on white sandy beach. Hotel bar and restaurant right next door.close to english harbour and nelsons dockyard. Good Italian within 100 metres
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by Stefanie from Hamburg

Kleines Hotel mit Charme

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Die kleine Größe des Hotels und die Lage des Zimmers: (nachts hörte man nichts außer die leise plätschernden Wellen..!)
Cons: Die Lichter im Restaurant könnten etwas dunkler sein
Location: Falmouth Harbour,Nähe English Dockyard National Park, wunderbarer Nachbarstrand (Pigeons Point), Super Restaurant neben dem Hotel (Combusa)
Wir haben 2 Wochen im Catamaran gewohnt und es war einfach klasse. Das Personal war extrem nett, die Zimmer sauber, die Lage (das WIchtigste!) genial: am Falmouth Harbour,als guter Ausgangspunkt für Ausflüge. Vor dem Zimmer befand sich nicht nur eine Hängematte, in welcher man die herrlichen Cocktails aus der Hotelbar schlürfen konnte, sondern 3 Meter weiter auch noch ein kleiner Sandstrand. Es gab die Möglichkeit, mit den hoteleigenen kleinen Segelbooten zu segeln und sogar eine Einweisung im Segeln zu bekommen durch einen Segellehrer, alles umsonst. Klein, fein, persönlich.
2 out of 5
by kevin from guadeloupe

Mauvaise experience

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Le personnel de l'hotel
Cons: La clim, l'eau chaude
Location: Le quartier n'est malheureusement pas situe dans une zone attractive de l'iles, nous avons apreciė la plage de pigeon beach a 10 mins en voiture
Hotel situe loin de st john, du coup chaque deplacement en taxi nous coute cher. Les installations sont vetustes, la climation en plus de ne pas fonctionner, fait un bruit horrible pendant la nuit, pareil que le ventillateur. Nous n'avons eu de l'eau chaude que le premier jour. La connection internet n'est accecible que sur le balcon. Neanmoins, le personnel est tres charmant et tres disponible. Les chambres sont tres(trop) proches, avec un balcon commun pour les clients.