Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2016
My only major issue was the water situation I was told that they don't get their water from the government they have their own pump system so most mornings when I got up to shower there would be either a trickle of water coming out of the pipe or none at all .most mornings I would need to call them and they did resolve the problem within 10 minutes the other times I called I didn't really get anybody on the phone which was a problem because I had people picking me up at a certain time other than that it's practically 5 minute walk down the hill to the beach which was perfect. It's very quiet and peaceful I had a beautiful view of the pool and Hills.
5 out of 5
by Nicola from England

Dickenson Bay Cottages

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
We were met by reception when we arrived and given a quick walk around our accommodation. We had a two bedroom villa which was two villas upstairs and downstairs combined. Worked brilliantly with us and teenage boys. The beach was a short stroll down the hill and we had vouchers for vouchers. Beach lovely and really quiet when no cruise ships. Next to sandals so nice. Sea really inviting to go for a dip or swim. George took us out three times on his speedboat to go snorkelling reasonable prices. Hotel lived up to expectations. Not glitzy but exactly as expected. Clean, spacious, great view. Pool and chairs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brooklyn n y

Very lovely and peaceful

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Pros: Location to beach and roads to St Johns
Cons: Parking lot, sign for hotel on road
Location: Very convenient to wonderful beach and drive to St. John's and supermarket
Great birdwatching, parking lot needs updating, wonderful view and pool
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maidenhead, UK

Unexpectedly - great value for money

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, airiness
Cons: Plumbing, cutting board, freezer does not freeze that much, also please check the cooker in No. 6
The villas are a great price and they look great inside - not luxurious, but the place was cosy, had white walls, white furniture frames and a lot of space. It had a rustic, colonial feeling, but a "good" one, not the "shabby" rustic. It is better than it actually looks on the photos. There is free wifi which is quite good, cable TV, it is close to the beach, they provide beach towels and a voucher for two beach chairs daily. You will have to rent an umbrella for USD 10 per day, or you can bring your own, but it was a bit too windy for our folding parasols. The vouchers save you USD12 per day. The beach is amazing, with white sand and turquoise water - it is the reason why we decided to come back, although we stayed in a different hotel 10 years ago. The walk back is uphills, but short. We stocked up in the largest supermarket - the Epicurean - on the first day (the taxi is USD5 one way), but there is also a little shop near Antigua Village where we topped up (it is a 10 minute walk), and there is also a large First Food Store which is a 20 minute walk, but we never got there. Somebody mentioned that kitchens are stocked up differently, ours did not have a cutting board and we had to ask for two wine glasses (and were given them immediately). They had some problems with the plumbing on a couple of mornings, but resolved them promptly. We will come back and have booked for November, but it will depend on whether I can fly and go uphills then ;-) plus the Zika situation.
3 out of 5
by Anthony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Good nice and comfy. For the price is a good value. The staff was super gentle
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Kitchen, overall appearance.
Location: Not a great location. Only one nearby restaurant.
Very pleasant experience. Beautiful cottages, helpful staff. Not too close to the beach, though. You need to walk down a big hill.
4 out of 5
by Asha from Trinidad & Tobago

Satisfied

Posted Mar 9, 2015 on Hotels
Neat place in a nice quiet neighbourhood. Loved the view from my room and the overall ambiance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Quiet, relaxing comfortable cottages

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Pool, grounds, staff and the overall feel of the cottage
Cons: The BBQ did not work very well and the outdoor seating could be more comfortable
Location: Dickenson Bay close to many restaurants, and beaches within walking distance. Extremely well stocked grocery store (Epicurean) within 5 min drive
We stayed at DB cottages in February. The staff were very helpful right from the begining carrying 2 single beds and setting them up for our 2 kids to sleep on. The pool and grounds were absolutely lovely. The high ceilings gave the room a very airy feel and the front veranda was a great place to relax and enjoy the surroundings. All the staff were very friendly and attentive. Karimah carried all our booking requests very efficiently. Great location with restaurants and beach near by. Nigels across the street had excellent pizza.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

It is exactly as advertized and a very good find.

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: The peace and quiet.
Cons: A baking tray.
Myself and my girlfriend have just returned from a 9 day break at these cottages where we were looking for a relaxed environment with peace and quiet but also a nearby beach, beach bars and restaurants. Well it had all of the above so no-one was telling lies in the advertising and a good honest assessment of the place. The beach was great for swimming and one of the nicest beaches I've seen on the island with a really good restaurant at the far end called Ana's; great cocktails and food. There is a supermarket and it's a 25 minute walk away on a mainly flat road and they do pretty much everything so you shouldn't need to look elsewhere. We stayed in a one-bedroom cottage and found it to be very comfortable and had most of what we needed for a self catering apartment, (It's amazing how important a baking tray is when you haven't got one) but we also ate out at Ana's or walked up to Tradewinds hotel and used their restaurant. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend it. Would we go back?...........without a shadow of a doubt!