Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Truly Beachfront

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Good quality food and friendly staff. Small crowds
Location: We went into town RedCliffe Quay for an evening which was great to get out of the protective confines of the resort and see the real Antigua.
We loved Galley Bay. Having stayed at other all inclusive resorts, this one really stands out. The meals werent just a buffet but a real menu with table service. Rooms were large and comfortable with essentially our own private beach with an oceanfront. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. While its all inclusive, its not a raucous party scene which is actually more appealing to us There were excursions available but nobody constantly trying to sell you things or overly pushy at all
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful paradise

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Wonderful food, people, room, beach. Everything was so close and user friendly. The drinks were delicious! They always had something fun going on. The live music was fun in the evenings. Couldn't have had a better time at the resort. On the other hand, dealing with Expedia has been a nightmare and I will never travel with them again. They booked us for a flight that didn't exist and offered no help when we were stranded in another country. Expedia did not notify the resort we would be late and the resort had given our room away. I am very disappointed in this travel agency. Everyone in customer support was very rude and offered no compensation for the troubles they created for us. Trip was ruined because of their unprofessional behavior!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

Lovely friendly hotel with a wonderful setting.

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Cons: Some of the parts of the hotel are beginning to look a little tired - if we are really marking it close to 5 stars.
Location: Site was fantastic and we only left the place by boat all week!
Our only disappointment was that we could hardly ever swim in the sea as it was too rough. Otherwise staff were great, food very good, and plenty of drinks willingly served.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p Costa Rica

Beautiful location

Posted Mar 28, 2016
The hotel is in a beautiful location, the Beach was Pretty with clear waters. Our room was clean, big, nice decoración. Peacefull place to relax our daily life activities. The staff was kínd and nice allways trying to please us. I believe we are going to go back to Galley Bay soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Healdsburg CA.

Great Get Away Heltel

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Pros: Beautiful location well managed and good food, staff and services, Great secluded beach and nice pool area.
Cons: Continue to upgrade amenities
Location: St. Johns is a typical island town but still quaint. Good historical features with Shirley Heights and Nelson's Dockyard.
Excellent, mature clientel no kids, all inclusive food and Beverages.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Cool rooms and very relaxing

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: The room was very private
Cons: Breakfast at Sea Grape was average. There was often a wait to get in and the buffet never changed.
Location: The location is a 15 minute cab ride from the airport and 10 minutes from St. John. We enjoyed a circumnavigation cruise by Excellence Tours.
We have stayed at several all inclusive resorts in the Cancun area, but for our 20th anniversary, we wanted to go somewhere different and chose Antigua's Galley Bay Resort. We stayed in a bungalow which had it's own pool and was a short distance from the pool and beach. The room very comfortable, with an air conditioned bedroom and large bathroom. Most of the guests at the hotel were 65 years old and British, so we did not fit the demographic. We enjoyed a couple's massage and loved dinner at the 2 reservation restaurants Guagain and Ismay's. We played croquet, tennis, and rode bikes around the resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Relaxing stay right on the beach

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Pros: Great beach; super friendly staff; great accomodations; nice, relaxed atmosphere.
Cons: Rooms are not well stocked with liquor or snacks and no drink service on the beach.
Location: Hotel has it's own beautiful beach, but not a lot else to do nearby. Plenty of excursion options available, but this is a place to go to relax.
Just came back from 6 great days at Galley Bay. Hotel is located on its own stretch of beach - no other hotels around - and the beach is beautiful. Definitely splurge for the beachfront suites - huge, nice rooms and out your door right onto the beach. Staff couldn't have been nicer - everyone was friendly and extremely helpful. Definitely a laid back, relaxing vibe - but still had live music almost every night we were there. We've been to a number of all inclusive in the Caribbean and this one is amongst the best we've been to - we will definitely be going back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

wonderful stay

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: location, food, staff, size of rooms
Cons: add umbrellas in front of each chalet. update showers /shower heads.
Location: boat trips, cycling, nature trail, other bays/beaches, jogging
we stayed 21-28 November and didn't want to leave when the week was up. It is a fantastic location, a long white beach curving round to two headlands, with chalets right on the beach with lots of palm trees and shrubs on the beach offering shade and an almost empty beach as the guest density is low. Choices of 4 places to eat, good food with lots of different fish, although the top restaurant Ismay's was over-rated and not worth paying extra for. Great cocktails all day, champagne , wine etc all inclusive. Staff are very friendly and get to know you, always helpful. this is one place we'd love to go back to.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Easy relaxing vacation.

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: Location, restaurants, grounds, activities
Cons: Some staff are standoffish. Included wine selections could be better.
Location: No need to leave the resort
Great atmosphere, beautiful grounds, great food and drinks. Highly recommend the premium beachfront suites.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Faultless hotel for a quiet Antiguan get away

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: staff, service, food, location
Cons: Can't think of anything!
Location: beautiful beach location, plus within easy reach of St Johns. Loads of activities close by - from boat trips and snorkelling to zip wire in rainforest
Galley Bay Resort is really special. The friendliness of staff and service is second to none, the quality of accommodation and the grounds and hotel are fantastic and the food is excellent. We could not fault them on anything, it is a wonderful place.