Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Sweet Spot

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Our stay was simply amazing. My beautiful wife and I went there for our honeymoon and were very impressed. We stayed in one of the cottages and it was very romantic. What a joy to wake up and drink coffee in the morning from our patio while watching local lizards crawl around on trees. The thing I want to stress the most however, was that the food was AMAZING. We were treated to delicious 4 course meals every lunch and dinner. Pretty much everything we ate was wonderful. The bar staff could be a little friendlier but that is a minor complaint/ suggestion. Overall, so impressed. We want to save up and be able to go back some day. They have my vote!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Miami,Florida

Great beach,great hotel,poor food.

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: THE BEACH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: Simply the food needs to be improved a lot!!!!They should send mngment to the all inclusive 5 stars resorts in Mexico & the Dominican Rep.to learn.
Location: Location is perfect,flawless & gorgeous.Things to do are also ok.
Great beach,great hotel,mediocre food.Worth going back just for the amazing beach & cottages right on the water.If what you're looking for is beach & quietness,this is the place in Antigua.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore,MD

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Very romantic and cozy resort. The resort buildings are nicely spaced and might require a buggy ride (limo). Really enjoyed my stay, excellent customer service, amazing beach, fun activities, and impeccable dinner in the beach.. Overall a must visit/ stay resort in Antigua!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mansfield, TX

Incredible beach location

Posted Jul 15, 2015
The beach the hotel sits on is incredible! The resort is quiet and relaxing, but still offers a wide choice of activities. We highly recommend this hotel, and we would happily stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Perfect Honeymoon

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: When the blinds were open in the cottage, the staff working on the landscape next door could see in our room. The fan was also very noisy.
We stayed in one of the Gaugin Cottages. The amount of private space you have is amazing, perfect for a honeymoon! The plunge pool was exceptionally nice to have. Everything was clean and updated. The beach and main pool were only about a minute away, which was very convenient. The beaches were kept clean and simply beautiful. The food was awesome, some of the best meals we have ever had. The bars served premium spirits and you never had to wait long for a drink. The resort had so many free activities to offer as well, like cooking classes and guided hikes. We were honestly blown away by our stay at Galley Bay. We will definitely be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Midland, TX

Excellent hotel, with the feel of a private beach

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: beach, food, cocktails
Cons: it would be nice if the wait staff brought drinks to you on the beach.
Location: beach felt private, the waters were calm, we sailed up and down the coast with Capt. Sean who was excellent, and shopping in St. Johns isn't far.
beachfront rooms with views you only see in a magazine. only hotel guests on the beach with no one peddling merchandise to you. very secluded and relaxing; off the beaten path but you end up in paradise. the food was EXCELLENT! i was unsure how i'd like Caribbean food, but i left craving it the week after. the resort was not crowded at all; they were 93% occupied and it felt like a lot fewer people than that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great during honeymoon and visit 6 years later

Posted May 28, 2015
The title says it all. Great drinks, food, staff, emenities, rooms, and so on. Highly recommended as a quiet non party atmosphere all inclusive resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location right on beach.

Posted May 6, 2015
Staff lovely, really relaxing break. Excellent food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

A nice experience for a couple married 50 years.

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: The setting is beautiful but the surf is strong and very rough.
Cons: How do you “fix” the rough surf?
Location: This is a gated community so staying on the property is the norm. If you are inclined, there is a pool table, and croquet field. A pool is also here
Staff was excellent and very helpful. Whenever we needed something we were sure one of the staff could solve our problem. However, the bed was very “lumpy” and hard for me to get in it because I am so short. The toilet had to be flushed several times because it wouldn’t clear the contents on one flush.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Nice and Quiet Resort in Antigua

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Recently went to the Galley Bay in my honeymoon. The resort was very nice and quiet. No kids which is a huge plus. Nice pool area and a long stretch of beach. We ate mostly at the Sea Grape restaurant and it never disappointed. The Barefoot Grill was a great choice for lunches. The staff was always very nice and friendly. They were definitely one of the best parts of the resort. The room (one of the superior rooms) was not quite as nice as we would have liked, but we honestly didn't go to just be cooped up in the room so it wasn't a big deal.