Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

BETTER THAN EXPECTED!

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Beach
Cons: Workout Room can be upgraded.
Was apprehensive about selecting this hotel due to the noted poor ratings. Decided to stay there due to the near proximity to St. John's. So I went there with limited expectations. I was surprisingly pleased with my stay there. Very friendly staff especially Mr. Joseph at the front desk. Maybe I was just there at the right time but the environment was peaceful and quiet. The property is attached to a beautiful beach that captivates the most picturesque sunsets. There is an adequate restaurant on the property and a nice pool. The rooms are clean with mini fridge and Wifi. There is a small exercise room that can use some upgrading or at least the addition of some free weights but has a universal machine and is serviceable. The only downer was during my checkout dealing with a rather rude woman at the desk. Overall I would still give it a thumbs up!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maidstone Kent U/K

Worst Hotel I have stayed in!!!

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: The view from our room.
Location: Without a car the location is awful. $30 return to any civilisation. Nothing to do in hotel or nearby.
On arrival no bell boy for luggage. At dinner only myself and my wife same breakfast, same dinner and breakfast. No entertainment. 1 restaurant, 1 bar. Dirty pool, broken loungers and worst of all inedible food at exorbitant prices compounded by the ++ taxes. We had to stay Saturday, Sunday but left on Monday as soon as possible. Web site a pack of lies and Expedia should not have sent us there!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Pools were disgusting, no activities as listed

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: the entire hotel need to be revamped. The description should be updated as none of the activities listed are actually available.
Location: Out of the way, in the middle of nowhere
Do not go to this hotel unless you plan not to use the pool or any of the activities listed in the description. We went for Christmas '16, there was not one decoration or bit of music for the holiday. There was nothing to do there. The description lists parasailing, jet skis, etc but there was nothing there. Beach chairs were chained up. There was a dock to see the sunken ship which lies in the adjacent bay and that too was closed. Pools were unusable. They were disgustingly dirty and appeared not be cleaned in weeks, maybe months. Lounge chairs were not provided. Rooms were ok, tvs were old. Place looked a bit run down and deserted. The only upside was the food. It was fresh and well-prepared. Restaurant staff nice. A ride from this hotel to anywhere was $30 round trip, as it in the middle of nowhere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do Not Waste your Money

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
This was the WORST Hotel we have ever booked. We could not stay here. We asked for a refund, but will be checking our credit card to make certain they are not charging us. They put us in a room - the air conditioning was not working. They told us they were sold out - booked solid.....only 3 cars in the parking lot. We attempted to stay. The air conditioning did not work in the second room; the maid never came; there was NO ONE in this hotel. We believe they only had 8 rooms working and even those didn't have air conditioning. When we went to check out after the first night, the person at registration did not seem surprised when we were checking out or telling them that the air conditioning did not work in the second room. The property is old, needs a serious facelift.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

This hotel should not be open

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: I liked the price which was decent and the clean rooms.
Cons: The hotel needs major renovation and investment. Beautify the property, clean the pools, and have activities/live entertainment on the premises.
Location: The hotel was about a 10min ride from the city/downtown area where the shops and nightlife is.
My stay at this hotel was so disappointing. It has so much more potential. The hotel sits on a large piece of land but its falling apart (literally). It boasts having several restaurants on its website but only one was open. The pools looked disgusting. I wouldn't dare set foot in the pool. The beach is nice but it was deserted. However, the rooms were clean and spacious. The prices at the restaurant were pricey. Pretty ridiculous. I've heard from the locals that the hotel was shut down for some time and recently opened about a year ago...but when you speak to the staff they say they've been working there for 10+ years. The hotel is also secluded so you have to take a cab everywhere, which can be pricey.
2 out of 5
by Sonia from Florida

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Was nothing to write home about, the staff in the dining room was nice they is the only thing that was good about the hotel. Front desk clerk he was not pleasant. The air condition in the room they put me, did not work the toilet seat was nasty and brown, bathrooms was out dated. I could go on and on. Would not stay there again, also was too far
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Almost Abandoned

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything.
Location: very far from everything...
there are 6 employees for the entire hotel. only part of the 3rd floor is open for guests and they have signs that they are doing repairs on 3/4th of the hotel, which is falling apart ( there is no work being done). DON'T STAY HERE. the only nice thing was the service at the bar.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

in a nutshell... love the hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
We had an amazing time the entire staff was nice and friendly they insured our stay was pleasant. The manager was very nice and was available if we ever had any issues. The females at the fro t desk wasn't informative but the young man that works at night answered all out questions. The rooms were clean and the AC was great. The beach was nice and clean as well as the beach. The chef was nice he came out so we could tell him thanks. The waitress were very nosey ease dripping on our convos but other than that they were nice. This hotel is secluded from everything but minutes to the town where everything us at your fingertips. Keep in mind this hotel has the potential to be a 5 star but I'll say its on a 4 star level.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great staff, Amazing Views!

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly and very helpful.
Cons: There were a few cosmetic issues that can be resolved to improve the overall appearance of the hotel.
Location: We visited Nelson's Dockyard and Shirley Heights. We enjoyed the local markets. The best roti was at the Roti King in St. John's.
The staff were very friendly and extremely thoughtful to children. The beach and the views were amazing. Overall we had a great stay and we will definitely visit again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lies lies and more lies

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Everything on this website about this hotel is a lie. They don't have more than half of the amenities listed. The hotel is very run down and needs to be painted and fixed. The wifi is HORRIBLE I tried to connect and it took me almost two days until I finally did. When I addressed this issue to the staff they gave me attitude about it and wouldn't even help me at all and said it wasn't there issue. The hotel beds are not even queens beds it's a LIE they are full beds and are highly uncomfortable the rooms are also filled with mosquitos. When we complained to the manager about the amenities the staff laughed and said Expedia needs to update their information because there is no amenities whatsoever in this hotel Except the pool and beach I HIGHLY RECCOMEND NOT GOING TO THIS HOTEL YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!!!!