Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

This hotel should not be open

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: I liked the price which was decent and the clean rooms.
Cons: The hotel needs major renovation and investment. Beautify the property, clean the pools, and have activities/live entertainment on the premises.
Location: The hotel was about a 10min ride from the city/downtown area where the shops and nightlife is.
My stay at this hotel was so disappointing. It has so much more potential. The hotel sits on a large piece of land but its falling apart (literally). It boasts having several restaurants on its website but only one was open. The pools looked disgusting. I wouldn't dare set foot in the pool. The beach is nice but it was deserted. However, the rooms were clean and spacious. The prices at the restaurant were pricey. Pretty ridiculous. I've heard from the locals that the hotel was shut down for some time and recently opened about a year ago...but when you speak to the staff they say they've been working there for 10+ years. The hotel is also secluded so you have to take a cab everywhere, which can be pricey.
2 out of 5
by Sonia from Florida

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Was nothing to write home about, the staff in the dining room was nice they is the only thing that was good about the hotel. Front desk clerk he was not pleasant. The air condition in the room they put me, did not work the toilet seat was nasty and brown, bathrooms was out dated. I could go on and on. Would not stay there again, also was too far
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Almost Abandoned

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything.
Location: very far from everything...
there are 6 employees for the entire hotel. only part of the 3rd floor is open for guests and they have signs that they are doing repairs on 3/4th of the hotel, which is falling apart ( there is no work being done). DON'T STAY HERE. the only nice thing was the service at the bar.
1 out of 5
by JONATHAN from Monterrey, MX

Tengan cuidado.

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
El hotel está en completo abandono, sin mantenimiento.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

in a nutshell... love the hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
We had an amazing time the entire staff was nice and friendly they insured our stay was pleasant. The manager was very nice and was available if we ever had any issues. The females at the fro t desk wasn't informative but the young man that works at night answered all out questions. The rooms were clean and the AC was great. The beach was nice and clean as well as the beach. The chef was nice he came out so we could tell him thanks. The waitress were very nosey ease dripping on our convos but other than that they were nice. This hotel is secluded from everything but minutes to the town where everything us at your fingertips. Keep in mind this hotel has the potential to be a 5 star but I'll say its on a 4 star level.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great staff, Amazing Views!

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly and very helpful.
Cons: There were a few cosmetic issues that can be resolved to improve the overall appearance of the hotel.
Location: We visited Nelson's Dockyard and Shirley Heights. We enjoyed the local markets. The best roti was at the Roti King in St. John's.
The staff were very friendly and extremely thoughtful to children. The beach and the views were amazing. Overall we had a great stay and we will definitely visit again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lies lies and more lies

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Everything on this website about this hotel is a lie. They don't have more than half of the amenities listed. The hotel is very run down and needs to be painted and fixed. The wifi is HORRIBLE I tried to connect and it took me almost two days until I finally did. When I addressed this issue to the staff they gave me attitude about it and wouldn't even help me at all and said it wasn't there issue. The hotel beds are not even queens beds it's a LIE they are full beds and are highly uncomfortable the rooms are also filled with mosquitos. When we complained to the manager about the amenities the staff laughed and said Expedia needs to update their information because there is no amenities whatsoever in this hotel Except the pool and beach I HIGHLY RECCOMEND NOT GOING TO THIS HOTEL YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!!!!
3 out of 5
by Carol E from Raleigh

Great basic hotel No luxuries.

Posted Feb 19, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel has great bones, but clearly needs a major renovation. Clean rooms, gorgeous beach, friendly and helpful staff. Basics are fine, but wifi was terrible, and the rooms need work.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the end of the world

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
If you've ever wondered what it's like to have an almost private mansion, beach and pool, here is your chance. Lots of reviews complain about the decor and state of the building. Frankly this is what Hawaii will look like in 5-10 years. Floors 1-3 are under renovation. Not that I saw any work getting done. There is an article in the Observer magazine. It talks about the government taking over derelict properties. This property is under review by the government. Use your favourite search engine to find it. The cleaning staff was great. They managed to remove all the sand we tracked into the room every day. This is a great hotel for 2-3 days if you have a vehicle. If you are someone who needs to see and be seen by hundreds of people this isn't for you. It's a great property for kids. They can't wreck anything and there is no one around to hear them. The all inclusive option is expensive. I was quoted $250-$330USD/day. Three of us in the room. We got lucky. Booked the least expensive room and ended up with an ocean view. Worst case scenario, you'll be on the 4th floor facing the hill behind the hotel. Of course there are a few bad things. The dead cockroach that came out of the ice machine. The elevator always resets to the top floor. If you're not happy with this place, the internet is just strong enough to book another property.
4 out of 5
by Mat from Osoyoos, BC

Former . . . and future gem!!

Posted Jan 24, 2016 on Hotels
Booked through Hotels.com when travel/flight/cruise arrangements were disrupted so "sight unseen". Although the facility has been allowed to run down, the original facility was tremendous and there are plans to refurbish. Rooms were excellent and the beach unparalleled. The staff could not have been more helpful and the new manager is a consumate host and will help the facility get back to prominence. Recommend you give it a shoot.