Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

This hotel should not be open

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: I liked the price which was decent and the clean rooms.
Cons: The hotel needs major renovation and investment. Beautify the property, clean the pools, and have activities/live entertainment on the premises.
Location: The hotel was about a 10min ride from the city/downtown area where the shops and nightlife is.
My stay at this hotel was so disappointing. It has so much more potential. The hotel sits on a large piece of land but its falling apart (literally). It boasts having several restaurants on its website but only one was open. The pools looked disgusting. I wouldn't dare set foot in the pool. The beach is nice but it was deserted. However, the rooms were clean and spacious. The prices at the restaurant were pricey. Pretty ridiculous. I've heard from the locals that the hotel was shut down for some time and recently opened about a year ago...but when you speak to the staff they say they've been working there for 10+ years. The hotel is also secluded so you have to take a cab everywhere, which can be pricey.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Almost Abandoned

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything.
Location: very far from everything...
there are 6 employees for the entire hotel. only part of the 3rd floor is open for guests and they have signs that they are doing repairs on 3/4th of the hotel, which is falling apart ( there is no work being done). DON'T STAY HERE. the only nice thing was the service at the bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great staff, Amazing Views!

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly and very helpful.
Cons: There were a few cosmetic issues that can be resolved to improve the overall appearance of the hotel.
Location: We visited Nelson's Dockyard and Shirley Heights. We enjoyed the local markets. The best roti was at the Roti King in St. John's.
The staff were very friendly and extremely thoughtful to children. The beach and the views were amazing. Overall we had a great stay and we will definitely visit again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lies lies and more lies

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Everything on this website about this hotel is a lie. They don't have more than half of the amenities listed. The hotel is very run down and needs to be painted and fixed. The wifi is HORRIBLE I tried to connect and it took me almost two days until I finally did. When I addressed this issue to the staff they gave me attitude about it and wouldn't even help me at all and said it wasn't there issue. The hotel beds are not even queens beds it's a LIE they are full beds and are highly uncomfortable the rooms are also filled with mosquitos. When we complained to the manager about the amenities the staff laughed and said Expedia needs to update their information because there is no amenities whatsoever in this hotel Except the pool and beach I HIGHLY RECCOMEND NOT GOING TO THIS HOTEL YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PR

Nice hotel they should promote more

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Ac not woking room and facilities clean landscaping needs attention nice staff WiFi good. Business stay great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good for the price

Posted Jun 27, 2015
We received a discount by booking flight and hotel on Expedia. The hotel has some shortcomings, but we were satisfied with the value in relation to the price we paid. Desk clerk was rude at check in. Restaurant over priced. Near a bad location. But security is good with guard at the gate and on the grounds 24/7. Free upgrade to beach view. Rooms were clean and maid service was good. View from the room was excellent. AC in room is adequate but could use improved circulation into bathrooms and sleeping area. It blows too hard directly on the desk area for someone sitting there. I was sweating in the bathroom and on the bed and cold at the desk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted May 4, 2015
Continuous cold water.. Lovely Hotel Staff Huge lack of hotel facilities such a shame
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2015
The resort is very old, almost empty. Doesnt look like the picture and apparently those that travel to Antigua avoid it. The area where it is located has great beach, but nothing else there. Too expensive. Only place one can dine is in the hotel - expensive and not very good food. English Bay or Jolly Harbour would be way better areas to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midwest USA

Not quite the Bates motel, because nobody dies

Posted Mar 27, 2015
This hotel is in a beautiful Caribbean country - my mother said to say something nice or not at all. My wife and I were the only guests for most of our stay. The hallways were dirty, scary and abandoned. Just like the rest of the place. The beach is beautiful, but there is no staff to help you with a beach chair, as they are all chained up and no staff to be found! A non-guest remarked about the beach "what stunning beauty". And the hotel - "what stunning neglect"! Very disappointed and not worth our substantial cost to stay. Find somewhere else to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

confusing experience but not without it's charms

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Beach was nice and clean. Staff was helpful and got to know us during our stay. The hotel had an official taxi driver who they would call, he was nice
Cons: overall condition of most things was shabby, facade of building was dumpy, menu too limited.
Location: Close to St. John's by taxi, some boat tours will pick you up on the beach at the hotel, Ft. Barrington ruins close by, not much walking distance....
Simply put. This hotel which looks like it holds hundreds of people had between 8-15 guests the entire time we stayed -which was one week. This was during the busy season ( Feb, dry season ). Other hotels like nearby Sandals were teaming with tourists of all types. Now this was utterly weird to us, especially on our initial walk around the hotel and beach. There are 3 restaurants, but only 1 will be open a open once a day for a few hours so- if your hungry before 7pm but after 4pm- you're out of luck. Arranging for a taxi isn't as easy as you might think and they encourage you to book the driver in advance through the front desk. Not what I was expecting with a hotel of this size. The two biggest bummers where there were two menus at the restaurants and we got tired of the food, and the condition of the hotel is noticeably bad. Broken ice machines, bathroom door in our room didn't close or lock, wobbly railing on our ocean view room on the top floor (8th), outdated non HD tv with annoying lines across the screen, limited drink options. The whole place was operating on a shoe string budget. We popped for the ocean view room with a breakfast plan at around 300 US per night so overall not the fit and finish you'd expect for that cash. Redeeming qualities were the vacant beach, which is gorgeous! Felt nice to have it all to ourselves seemingly. If you plan on spending your entire trip at the hotel you might want to reconsider, the limited food options will bug you quickly.