Ratings based on 244 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 19, 2015
We had a lovely week Great beaches friendly people
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Bad Arrival Experience

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Better customer service when it comes to problems the hotel created!! Realize you are in a customer satisfaction business.
So my reservations were guaranteed for late arrival for an pre-paid all-inclusive stay. However after a long flight, I arrived at the hotel around 11:30pm. The receptionist had this shocked look on her face and then excused herself to go talk to the manager on duty. It turns out my reserved for late arrival room was not available for that night. They basically gave my room away or overbooked. They same thing happened to another hotel guest who was waiting in the lobby!! So they decided to find me another room at another hotel. While waiting, I asked for a bottle of water (after a long trip). They eventually put me up in another hotel for the night until my room would be available the next day. This temporary hotel was of LESS QUALITY and I was dying to get out of there as soon as possible. The next day I was transported back to the hotel once my room was ready. Upon check-out at check-out, I learn that they were charging me $4 for that bottle of water. $4 dollars is no big deal, but I got nothing for MY INCONVENIENCE due to THEIR MISTAKE. I demanded a partial refund or discount from Expedia for the one-night of my less than quality temporary stay at another hotel. I had pre-paid for a 3 star hotel and quality that I did not get for all of my days in Antigua. Through Expedia, the hotel management would not negotiate with idea. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Especially if you are expecting a room to be available after a long flight to this country.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by lucille

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Major renovation needed

Posted Mar 28, 2015 on Hotels
A major renovation is needed to justify the nightly rate. The rooms and common areas are stuck back in the 90s. The food was okay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

overnight at the Halcyon Cove

Posted Mar 9, 2015 on Hotels
Only stayed one night, arriving 11pm. Arrival handled excellently, Mr West even made us a cheese sandwich and delivered it to our room! Facilities during the day were lovely, enjoyed a time sunbathing at the pool. Hotel made our room available until 3pm even tho' checkout was at 11am, this was much appreciated and made the travel back to the UK much more relaxing. Will definitely do this again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Halcyon Defined

Posted Feb 23, 2015
My Spouse and I were looking for some much needed R&R for our Anniversary and hoped Halcyon Cove would live up to the definition of it's name and provide just that. This was not to be the case however, from the outdated furnishings to the mosquito infested rooms and grounds our anti-Halcyon nightmare began. Though on the beach the beach chairs were so worn most were broken. The Wooden Beach shades unkept to the point of offering very little shade. We were extremely disappointed to say the least.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newport,RI

Disappointing stay

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: The room was clean and my bed was comfortable .
Cons: This hotel needs so much I don't know where to start.
Location: The location is some what isolate there are a few restaurants nearby but that is it . You need a car to go any where.
When I pulled up to the hotel in the taxi I was very surprised and disappointed on how old the property was . When I got to my room and saw the condition of it I went to the front desk to ask for another room which turned out to be better. Everything about this hotel is old including the beach chairs. The staff works hard but I think that the ownership does not spend much on . The grounds are not very nice . Every night we would eat some where else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Love the location Love love the staff But the hotel is run down and needs some updating badly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sussex UK

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Most of the points are above. I have had many overnight stays in Antigua before I travel on to Montserrat where I have a home and this was one of the
Cons: After swimming in the sea it would have been useful to have a beach side shower. There may be one but I didn't spot it.
Location: A one-night stay so things to do didn't apply to me.
Clean, excellent air-conditioning in my room, friendly staff, good well appointed room too and sited next to one of Antigua's best beaches at a reasonable cost...my one night stay was far too brief .I will certainly stay there again and for hopefully for much longer.