Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canterbury

good value hotel

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: location staff value for money plenty of food and drinks
Cons: The internet connection was slow at times but they changed the router next day. Internet was only available at reception, not in rooms.
Location: great location by beach. went on island safari,
My husband and I had an excellent time at the Halcyon. The room may look a bit tired but it was very clean and adequate. It is not a 5 star hotel and people forget that. if u want 5 star be prepared to pay 5 star next door at Sandals. The room was large with king bed, sofa and view of the sea from balcony. Fabulous watching the sunset one evening. Very handy for the beach. 3 full meals a day plus afternoon tea. The all inclusive deal meant drinks anytime including wine and cocktails at the beach bar. Had beauty therapy in house which I used. reasonable prices. Staff very helpful and attentive. Taxis readily availabe by hotel. Best bit for me was the aqua aerobics every morning. Tour guides in hotel so we booked an island safari. Mainly Brits there during our stay in Feb. Also a particular VIP was staying there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beach was very nice hotel in some disrepair-

Posted Feb 3, 2017
facilities generally need major reconditioning looks like cosmetic updates to a 1990's facilities as a building contractor i see $2-3 m. in basic repairs/updating necessary excellent location, nice beach proximity to airport and St John v good wait staff and domestics
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A Happy Week

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Location, food, drinks, beach, pool. Comfortable beds.
Cons: Maintenance - see above.
Location: Lovely beach and many water sports etc., available. We hired a car and toured the island, but organised tours seemed quite expensive.
We enjoyed our week at Halcyon. The food was good, the drinks were generous and the staff did their best to help although some seemed rather inexperienced. There were plenty of sunbeds. The hotel is old, but most facilities have been brought up to date, There is fresh paint everywhere and the gardens are very well looked after. My only complaint is that it didn't seem to be anyone's job to notice when things need fixing and do something about it, e.g loose loo seats, broken tap handles, missing plugs etc., etc. All small stuff easily dealt with but annoying for guests. There were several such small items in our room and someone came and fixed them quickly and well when I reported them, but there were similar faults in the public facilities which looked as though they had needed doing for some time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed bugs alert!

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Our family of four got so many bites all over our bodies after only one night stay. The sofa, bed sheets and blankets have stains on them. The restaurant by the pier is nice and it's only why I gave it one more star. But room cleanliness is always our no.1 priority so I still won't recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great experience!

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Our stay at Halcyon Cove will be a memory we will never forget. Hopefully we will be able to visit again. The food was amazing! Big shout out to the Chef Egbert for starting this vacation off right. The entire staff was wonderful to us especially Mrs Julian, Dolston, Austin, Fenton and the lady at the tour desk. So sorry never got to learn her name. Just remember it starts with an "S". Thank you for the brush! We are truly missing the place already.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beach was great. Food just ok. Kids club closed .

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Great beach Food just ok always the same Kids club closed Big construction truck lost control and hit main building, we see big fire and explosion. Likely no one was in the building. I was very scared.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Excellent resort

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Our trip was amazing. The resort was not fancy at all. Very simple. The staff was so friendly, food was excellent, clean rooms, and the beach was gorgeous! Enjoyed the island tour very much as well. I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for quiet and relaxing get away time for a budget price. If you want tons of activity and partying don't book here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Staff members were friendly except for the ones during the check out process.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calagry canada

Nice location, great restaurant

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Room was clean, staff was friendly. Great value for money. AC was a little touchy and bathroom sink faucet was a challenge. Minor issues overal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Gin, thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is indeed a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your time with us, especially our great restaurant, friendly staff and Beach front location. We have rectified the bends in the faucets as the bend was too steep. All of our air conditioners are new, could have been just a change to the setting that need to changed. Looking forward to your return visit in the not too distant future. Best wishes, Riaan Thiart
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel with friendly staff.

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Upon arrival, the staff was very accommodating. They are all hard workers and maintain a smile on their faces. They were able to accommodate any small requests I had. The food was always delicious and varied. The beach was right on the property so there was no need to travel far.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ari, Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments. It is indeed a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your time with us, especially our Beach front location, the friendly Staff and delicious foods. We look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future. Best wishes, Riaan Thiart