Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Carol from Shropshire

Relaxing stay

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Very relaxing! The staff were all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. They were always polite and friendly and had a lovely smile when they greeted you! If you want to unwind this is the place to go, many people staying there had been going back for years, I think this says a lot about the resort! Shame smart shorts can't be worn for the evening meal or BBQ, I think this would open up the resort to more people. (Not sure why you have to pay for bottled water at an all inclusive resort.)
3 out of 5
by Paul j from Hemel Hempstead

Stay in the Hawksbill

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Room 65 was poor quality however, we were moved to Room 72 and thus was more than adequate Food good but not varied
Comment from Hotel Management
by Genenal Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, the Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on Expedia. Your concerns pertaining to the garden view room (assigned upon arrival) and food is duly noted and will be addressed accordingly. Thank you once again for the feedback and we do hope you will consider a return visit to Hawksbill in the near future. Best wishes, John St. Luce
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london uk

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: leaving
Cons: most things
Location: the beach shelves from shallow to deep in a few steps difficult of elderly or young children.
our door wouldn't lock the safe didn't work both were fixed
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your review on Expedia. We are not sure which of the four beaches you are referring to in regards to the change in depth etc. however wave action alter/shift sand banks within days to change depth. In regards to the maintenance related defects, once a problem is reported our team is prompt to rectify or change rooms if the problem can’t be rectified in a timely manner. We sincerely hoped that your stay was enjoyable and would definitely look forward to a return visit in the near future. Sincerely, John St. Luce
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Tim from Canterbury

Great relaxing holiday destination

Posted Feb 1, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was great. Ity was like going back in time. Great place,most guests come back every year, Beaches are stunning but the buildings need some upgrade. The Hotel is improving all the time with aircon in some rooms. It is a slow process but do not this put you off going. It was the most relaxing holiday we have had. Staff great, helpful, polite, always there to help.Great relaxing hotel. It seems a but colonial.Would go back anytime
3 out of 5
by Brian K.

Does not live up to expectations at present

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Ebookers
We visited Hawksbill for the sixth time, following re-opening after refurbishment, expecting our usual relaxing holiday. Unfortunately the first few days were spoiled by the deficiencies caused by opening too soon - problems with water, plumbing, incomplete building works, no water sports, etc.. Once the room was sorted out and we'd come to terms with the redevelopment of the pool and beach bar area we were able to appreciate the fantastic improvements to the Tamarind Restaurant and the usual fabulous views from the Terrace and beaches. The food was delicious and the Staff were friendly and courteous despite working under pressure. The venue is still our favourite and we WILL return - once we are sure they are ready for us. Highly recommended when back to normal
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bucks

Building site hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2016
The Hawsbill hotel promised refurbishment is by no means ready . We stayed there over Christmas. On arrival our room was not even ready let alone finished . There is an awful lot of work to be done and they simply should have not been open . There is very little to do in the way of sport if any . It all has to be paid for despite being offered as an all inclusive hotel . The entertainment is a few nights a week and not very special .The pool is 3ft deep and tiny and the tennis courts and table tennis all need replacing . The only positive was that the hotel staff are all lovely but working under very difficult conditions ie two bars having to share a blender . The crockery having to be transported by car to the restaurant. Toilets that have no running water . It really shouldn't be open until the refurbishment is complete. Would not recommend this hotel until it really is finished .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible hotel and worse management

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: the staff with the exception of the management was friendly and helpful.
Cons: everything
There isn't enough room on here to adequately describe the conditions at this hotel due to character restrictions. The hotel had recently undergone a remodel but was suppose to be open prior to our arrival. while traveling to the hotel i discovered on my own that the hotel would not be open on time. Neither expedia or the hotel notified me of this. I called Expedia and they told me i would be put in a sister property for one day then transfered to this hotel. When we finally arrived at this hotel no rooms were ready for any of the guests and we had to sit in the reception area for 5 hours before we got a room. we had no hot water, or functioning smoke detectors the entire trip. door latches were painted closed so no way to secure your room. in room safes didn't work, no effort was made by staff to fix any complaints. holes in screens allowing insects into rooms. only one shower towel provided. only one restaurant open and no beach bar open or pool working. flock of sheep roaming the property at night making noise keeping guests up most of the night. management was rude and hostile toward guests requesting to move rooms or repairs. There were construction trailers parked outside of the front door of the room and construction debris piles. the entire property was a muddy mess.This hotel was not at all what is advertised and Expedia failed to inform me prior to the trip that the hotel would not be ready or offer other accommodations. would not recommend any Rex resorts property.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel am Traumstand

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: Die Lage am Strand
Cons: Die Zimmer gehören teilweise erneuert. Der Pool ist sehr klein, den sollte man besser in einen Springbrunnen abändern.
Location: Direkt am Ende einer Zubringerstrasse, dann nur noch Urwald und Traumstrände
Wir sind bereits das 2. Mal in diesem Hotel. Leider hatten wir aber dieses Mal mit dem Zimmer einige Probleme. Erst kein Wasser und eine defekte Toilette, dann Zimmerwechsel aber hier fehlender Deckenventilator und wieder eine defekte Toilette. Nach 3 Tagen war dann alles soweit ok. Strandbar sowie Pool waren leider noch im Umbau und konnten nicht benutzt werden. Aber die Hotelstrände sowie das Hauptgebäude inkl. Restaurant und Bar waren wieder super.
5 out of 5
by IAIN from London

Great value for money

Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels
Good value for money dated but we're informed refurbishment is coming this year