Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from spain

No notice of booking so no room!

Posted Dec 4, 2016
First impression, we arrived in the dark and had to carry our suitcases down dark steps with no assistance. Arriving at the front desk and, dedpite it being 19.00 we were told our room wasn't ready. After getting a cheap and nasty gin and tonic from the bar, which was full of people on their phones/ipads (the only place with wifi!) we found out that this was a lie. Hawksbill hadn't received our booking, so there wasn't a room ready for us and housekeeping would have to be called. Having experienced the lack of care to their customers we booked another hotel, called a taxi and left.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london uk

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: leaving
Cons: most things
Location: the beach shelves from shallow to deep in a few steps difficult of elderly or young children.
our door wouldn't lock the safe didn't work both were fixed
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your review on Expedia. We are not sure which of the four beaches you are referring to in regards to the change in depth etc. however wave action alter/shift sand banks within days to change depth. In regards to the maintenance related defects, once a problem is reported our team is prompt to rectify or change rooms if the problem can’t be rectified in a timely manner. We sincerely hoped that your stay was enjoyable and would definitely look forward to a return visit in the near future. Sincerely, John St. Luce
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bucks

Building site hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2016
The Hawsbill hotel promised refurbishment is by no means ready . We stayed there over Christmas. On arrival our room was not even ready let alone finished . There is an awful lot of work to be done and they simply should have not been open . There is very little to do in the way of sport if any . It all has to be paid for despite being offered as an all inclusive hotel . The entertainment is a few nights a week and not very special .The pool is 3ft deep and tiny and the tennis courts and table tennis all need replacing . The only positive was that the hotel staff are all lovely but working under very difficult conditions ie two bars having to share a blender . The crockery having to be transported by car to the restaurant. Toilets that have no running water . It really shouldn't be open until the refurbishment is complete. Would not recommend this hotel until it really is finished .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible hotel and worse management

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: the staff with the exception of the management was friendly and helpful.
Cons: everything
There isn't enough room on here to adequately describe the conditions at this hotel due to character restrictions. The hotel had recently undergone a remodel but was suppose to be open prior to our arrival. while traveling to the hotel i discovered on my own that the hotel would not be open on time. Neither expedia or the hotel notified me of this. I called Expedia and they told me i would be put in a sister property for one day then transfered to this hotel. When we finally arrived at this hotel no rooms were ready for any of the guests and we had to sit in the reception area for 5 hours before we got a room. we had no hot water, or functioning smoke detectors the entire trip. door latches were painted closed so no way to secure your room. in room safes didn't work, no effort was made by staff to fix any complaints. holes in screens allowing insects into rooms. only one shower towel provided. only one restaurant open and no beach bar open or pool working. flock of sheep roaming the property at night making noise keeping guests up most of the night. management was rude and hostile toward guests requesting to move rooms or repairs. There were construction trailers parked outside of the front door of the room and construction debris piles. the entire property was a muddy mess.This hotel was not at all what is advertised and Expedia failed to inform me prior to the trip that the hotel would not be ready or offer other accommodations. would not recommend any Rex resorts property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Hawksbill resort

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Location and four beaches.
Cons: Being remodeled.
This was our third time there. Enjoyed the beaches as usual. Not much sense in commenting on the room, dining area, or people because it is shutting down for 6 months to remodel and sounds like a lot of people are being replaced. Everyone of staff were helpful and friendly considering the mood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Peaceful getaway

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: The location.
Cons: Updating the facility
Location: The location is great if you like getting tan.
When my wife and I first arrived, we were greeted with champagne. The reception was nice but in need of updates. We moved down to the Sea Grapes Bar where we thought we were in a geriatric center. Yes everyone was retired and living their years in Antigua, but as time went on we started to see younger people. The rooms are adequate especially since you have no tv or phones. But if you are looking for nice, peaceful and quiet vacation, this is definitely it. You will lose track of time and days just relaxing on the beach or having drinks at the bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Beautiful Secluded Getaway

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The beaches, staff, and secluded backdrop.
Cons: Resurface the tennis court which was slippery and dangerous.
Location: Take a trip of St. Johns. And don't miss the catamaran around the island.
Hawksbill was charming. The beaches, not quite white coral sand but very light caramel colored with powder blue seas, were set amidst a backdrop of lush, rolling tropical foliage. The staff was charming, and the food delicious. It is easily the best all inclusive food I have had. The resort is very secluded, which was wonderful. While the accommodations were dated, they were clean and comfortable. We had an unusual amount of rain during our 10 days but still had 5 days of pure sunshine, and the other days got plenty of sun along with some showers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Dated Paradise

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Beautiful grounds, beaches, ocean views and friendly staff. All inclusive was wonderful!!!
Cons: Checking out what is required to be improved, replaced or repaired with each unit. We had the impression that maintenance was only fair.
Location: Excellent established location and cove. Several side trips (some are all day), available for tours of Antigua or nearby Barbuda.
Our first stay at Hawksbill (9 of 10) great weather days. Required taxi service from and to airport. Gated entrance. Warm reception from staff. Beautiful grounds with ocean overlook and beaches. All the units are either on the water or have water views. The units vary in size, type and condition. Our water view unit was comfortable and relied on the prevailing temperatures which were mostly ideal (no AC, phone or TV). All meals, save lunch require a lengthy walk back to the main restaurant on the overlook and a gradual uphill walk or a shorter distance (38 step) stair climb. Breakfast and dinner are buffet style, with a la carte available at extra cost) and are quite good. Lunch is served at beach level center food/drink area. Good food variety and quality. All food and alcoholic drinks were included. The ocean ranges from rough with crashing surf to calm permitting kayaking and sailing. These craft are available at a modest price. Enjoyed sitting at the beach edge in comfortable full reclining chairs. Walking the beaches, as two other beaches are part of the grounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston area

Convenience in a Hawksbill happiness

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: See above.
Cons: I don't like working through Rex Resorts. I knew more about the resort than the Rex agent. Hard to book rooms and make arrangements.
Location: Town and side trips easily available, on site travel concierge.
Small, intimate resort. Comprehensive offering of food, living accomodations, recreation, and relaxation in a tropical paradise. Staff is variable, from rude to convivial Open bar and overall generous offering of services makes this a best buy. Good family resort. I like the "openness" of Antiqua, and this resort in particular: local people swim on the beaches, easy trip to town, goats feed on the property, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very basic but clean

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Nice location and the grounds were kept clean
Cons: Renovations and maybe updated furniture. Bug problem (cockroaches) entering rooms.
Location: Location is isolated making it very relaxing with a short drive (20min) to St. Johns.
Overall Hawksbill is lovely resort that is well maintained. The staff are courteous with a very few exception. The rooms are kept clean BUT the resort needs to take action in improving or limiting areas where cockroaches are able to enter your room. Possibly improve drains and window screens. I had a cockroach in my room almost everyday. For some this is not a big deal but it effected our ability to sleep soundly. The food is very basic with limited options but edible. Basically the same meals just about everyday. The resort is dated that could use some renovation.