Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The place is beautiful I enjoyed the quiet

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Scenery
Cons: Mosquito control
We were working and did not take full advantage of all the hotel has to offer as our times did not coincide with included meals and open bar. My room was fine even without ac the sound from waves made quite peaceful the other guys rooms had mosquito problems and they moved to ac room after first night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Second honeymoon!

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: The staff, the setting, the architecture, the history, the food.
Cons: We loved it.
Location: Beautiful setting on Hawkbill bay. Took taxi to Nelson's Dockyard for day trip. Very interesting and fun.
We loved our stay at Hawksbill. I felt as if I were in a James Bond movie. It is a very beautiful location. The beach is just steps from the cottage. The sea is enchanting. The grounds were lovely. Everywhere one looks there is beauty. The staff was excellent and the food was good and good for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's all about the beaches

Posted Mar 15, 2017
The hotel represents faded ellagance but the beaches are beautiful. Very easy to relax and enjoy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of the old, run down, dumpy rooms

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Booked rooms and called the hotel to confirm. Was told they had no availability by the front desk. Called Hotels.com to sort it out, and they suddenly "found" some rooms for us. Upon check in, they gave us three really shoddy, run down, no A/C rooms with window slats that you can't close(no privacy). Ironically named, "superior sea view rooms." I refused the rooms, and the front desk security was kind enough to "upgrade" us to the renovated units. Upon checkout, the hotel made sure to charge us for the upgraded rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado springs, colorado

end of the road location and great staff

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: The location is literally at the end of the road, a wonderful location to unwind. The staff is exceptional.
Cons: From simple like adding beach chairs and additional mosquito control to upgrading beds, to fixing roofs and plumbing there is much to do.
Location: Hiking and walking the beach were our main activities but also kayak. We could watch the steam vent from Montserrat and the sun set on Hawksbill.
Can't say enough good things about the staff, but the trip was about the location and it is great. I visited Eden Beach 30 years ago off a cruise and was impressed by a couple having morning coffee on their porch, watching the morning sun light the distant islands. This is the perfect location for a beach resort. The small size and lack of crowded beaches were exactly what we looking for. No TV and limited internet even better. The staff was attentive throughout, front desk, waitstaff, maids,especially Millie, Jareem, Cameron, Felecia, Jessie and love to Parker. My concern, based on other reviews was around food but it was very good. Fresh fruit and salads at every meal, great soups and lots of chicken and fish, although the fish was disappointing and bland. On the downside, the infrastructure seemed to have a new problem each day, from broken pipes to leaky roofs (during BBQ night, added to the fun). Mosquitoes were a problem. We came prepared with lots of DEET but additional fogging would be helpful. More beach chairs are needed. We really enjoyed the ECO-excursion Rebecca helped us with, they picked us and dropped us right at the beach and had a great day hiking through caves, snorkeling, visiting other islands, loved it. The other guests, mostly Brits, were wonderful neighbors. We appreciated the quite evenings and the limited organized "night life" was fine with us. Relaxing, revitalizing, rejuvenating, just what we needed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from spain

No notice of booking so no room!

Posted Dec 4, 2016
First impression, we arrived in the dark and had to carry our suitcases down dark steps with no assistance. Arriving at the front desk and, dedpite it being 19.00 we were told our room wasn't ready. After getting a cheap and nasty gin and tonic from the bar, which was full of people on their phones/ipads (the only place with wifi!) we found out that this was a lie. Hawksbill hadn't received our booking, so there wasn't a room ready for us and housekeeping would have to be called. Having experienced the lack of care to their customers we booked another hotel, called a taxi and left.
4 out of 5
by Carol from Shropshire

Relaxing stay

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Very relaxing! The staff were all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. They were always polite and friendly and had a lovely smile when they greeted you! If you want to unwind this is the place to go, many people staying there had been going back for years, I think this says a lot about the resort! Shame smart shorts can't be worn for the evening meal or BBQ, I think this would open up the resort to more people. (Not sure why you have to pay for bottled water at an all inclusive resort.)
3 out of 5
by Paul j from Hemel Hempstead

Stay in the Hawksbill

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Room 65 was poor quality however, we were moved to Room 72 and thus was more than adequate Food good but not varied
Comment from Hotel Management
by Genenal Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, the Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on Expedia. Your concerns pertaining to the garden view room (assigned upon arrival) and food is duly noted and will be addressed accordingly. Thank you once again for the feedback and we do hope you will consider a return visit to Hawksbill in the near future. Best wishes, John St. Luce
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london uk

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: leaving
Cons: most things
Location: the beach shelves from shallow to deep in a few steps difficult of elderly or young children.
our door wouldn't lock the safe didn't work both were fixed
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your review on Expedia. We are not sure which of the four beaches you are referring to in regards to the change in depth etc. however wave action alter/shift sand banks within days to change depth. In regards to the maintenance related defects, once a problem is reported our team is prompt to rectify or change rooms if the problem can’t be rectified in a timely manner. We sincerely hoped that your stay was enjoyable and would definitely look forward to a return visit in the near future. Sincerely, John St. Luce
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels