Ratings based on 616 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Needs to have the rooms updated!!!

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Beach and pool were awesome! Staff was so friendly and helpful, but the rooms were mostly awful! Had to change 3 times. No air conditioning! Last room had a little which stopped on 5th day. Has new owner, but can't fix everything in a day. Old owner did nothing to keep place up. Still had coil springs mattresses and orig. air conditioners that didn't work. Rooms full of mosquitoes!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frisco Tx

Do not expect a 5 star resort

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: BEACH,BEACH!!! Just steps away from a great quiet beach.. not to many vendors and if you told them you were not interested they left you alone.
Cons: They might put up a NO VENDOR zone on beach much like Jamaica has..
Location: It is a small island about 140 square miles so everything is with reach.. if you have questions ask the taxi drivers. They make excellent guides
We had a great time,lovely beach, and good drinks(not watered down) and tasty food. We were on 3rd floor with NO elevator but we managed. The staff was very professional, if you had a problem ,they would get right on it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach, that's all!

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Hotel is run down, which I knew after reading reviews but I got a good deal and said it can't be that bad. I moved my room twice air condition was not working even after the change it was just comfortable. You call for towels they never come. Grounds have fruit falling from trees no one cleans the path. They say they have 3 restaurants only 1 a night is open and the Italian you have to pay for but worth it. Buffet choices the same. No nightly entertainment. Coffee bad. Beach to die for. We stayed 4 days that was enough.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Vibe Right on the Beach

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: Just about everything
Cons: It's an older resort so some repairs are needed and I saw many in progress while I was there.
Location: The beach is the best! The locals and staff are willing to tell you about any events going on locally.
So this hotel is not for everyone. It is a truly genuine Caribbean experience, from the architecture, laid back vibe, and sea gulls on the beach. The staff is extremely accommodating and the beach is amazing. The rooms are simple and clean. My fiancé and I met many other travelers who has visited the resort before and decided to come back. If you are looking for a super luxurious 5 star hotel this is not for you, but if you want a more laid back feel in a safe and clean environment GO FOR IT. The pool area is fun. The staff does a great job initiating activities like pool volleyball, BINGO and even a cupcake eating contest. The beach has free activities and also activities you can pay the locals to do such jet skiing. There are vendors on the beach but I didn't find them to be overbearing. The reason why I say this hotel is not for everyone is based on other reviews and some guests (only 2) that were complaining while I was there. There isn't a nightclub on the resort so if you want a party resort it's not for you. The rooms are simplistic so if you spend a lot of time in your room it's not for you. My family is from the Caribbean so a few birds flying around doesn't bother me at all, it reminds me of our family vacations growing up. If you want to leave the resort getting a legit cab is super easy right in front. Overall I really enjoyed myself and will be back. The Hotel does not pretend to be anything it's not what I saw on the website is what I got.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

average hotel with great pools and beach

Posted May 8, 2016
Pros: This hotel had a great beach and awesome pools with plenty of activities to do
Cons: They have to do better with check in and housekeeping I never had the right amount of towels my whole stay there
Location: The location was okay we mostly stayed at the pool and the beach although we did go to Shirley Heights
This hotel was what I expected it to be just had 2 problems it took several hours to check in and we could never get towels, the food wasn't great but was okay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted May 1, 2016
Room comfort/condition needs a lot of improvement, so does the customer service of the staff Sewer system was open and you would smell it every time you walk by, which happ bed to be right outside our room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Walked around property for 20 mins and left hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2016
The one nice part was supposed to be the beach but even that was in poor condition relative to the rest of the island
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roma

Grazioso hotel sulla spiaggia più bella di Antigua

Posted Apr 14, 2016
La camera standard è un loculo. Da evitare. Doccia è un incavo nel muro. Il lavandino senza neanche lo spazio dove poggiare spazzolino e accessori. Nessuna mensola Porta scorrevole (tipo persiana) rotta, fuori dalle guide e bloccata a semi aperta. Privacy ZERO
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

jolly beach not so bad after all!

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: We loved the location, the beach and the proximity to the marina which had decent nightlife. We loved the staff and the BEACH!
Cons: nightlife, large pool redone, and open an operating sip and dip bar. warmer buffet food would be welcome too!
Location: best beach i have ever seen! great location to jolly harbour which is good to walk to at night. grocery store nearby for cigarettes and shampoo etc.
We just returned from Jolly Beach and we were pleased with our stay. We are not high maintenance people and found the resort to be filled with middle class people just like us. We made a lot of new friends and although we all had similar complaints, we also had several things we liked about the place. The rooms were cleaned every single day. There was ample food, and the staff was ok. Take the time to smile and say thanks and crack some jokes! Once they realize you're not a snob they will smile back and be lighthearted and funny themselves! Drinks were great and the restaurants and pool grill are the place to eat. As others mentioned the buffet food WAS cold and simple things like a sterno could have solved that because the food tasted good but I like mine hot! Italian dinner was a surcharge but we found it worth the money. The seafood place was great and we ate there 2 times. Surprisingly Indian place was good as well. The venders on the beach are super annoying but you get used to them. We even became very friendly with most of them by the end of the week (although they still wont stop asking you to buy something even after a daily NO. The beach was absolutely the best I have ever seen! I have been to nearly all the caribbean island and I would have to say this was HANDS DOWN the most intensely blue water we have EVER seen. There is no fish in the water and the water is sugar white. If you want to snorkel dont even attempt it here!
3 out of 5
by Ilona from Brighton

Great beach, good food, poor service

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely first class beach and pretty good food and service in the restaurants. From what I saw of Antigua, possible the best beach resort, perhaps with the exception of a few beach sales guys, few but read reviews on Trip Advisor to know who to stay clear of. Reception service was little short of shocking. Don't expect a smile or a thanks, all have been to the same school of rudeness training. Considering the amount you spend here it leaves a bad taste. Needs to be addressed by management. Also wifi is terrible, make sure you find out the conference wifi or neighbouring hotel, also needs addressing given cost of stay. Accommodation also in need of a refresh but we spent little time in it. Overall good but mainly down to location.