Ratings based on 450 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Out dated rooms andfacilities with a nice beach

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Jolly beach resort needs some major renovation to its rooms and facilities. For this to be a 3 to 3.5 star resort . The staff is friendly and the beach is very nice it's a shame the facility isn't up to par needs a lot of updating .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from -

Good staff and nice beach but poor poor facilities

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: staff and beach
Cons: entire hotel
Location: the beaches around are very nice but renting a car to get around the island is best
The staff and the beach is very nice but cant make up for the old rundown condition of the hotel. The bathrooms are the worse and the rooms are small and very dated. The food was good but repeated every day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa ontario

A slightly dated hotel with a beautiful beach

Posted Jan 23, 2017
We had a great stay, very safe walking around anywhere in Antigua. Staff at resort were awesome and marina was close by for groceries and additional booze. We did a tour of the island with a John Henry, an excellent taxi driver who gave us the history of the island and was very informative about all historic attractions. We are definitely going back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Beautiful stretch of beach

Posted Jan 23, 2017
We read lots of reviews before coming so we knew exactly what to expect. We are all about the Sea, sand and sun and Jolly Beach is perfect for our purposes. The resort is modest in appointment and amenities. We enjoyed the seafood both at the buffet and Lydia's. The jerk chicken at the beach grill is fantastic. It is cooked to order so expect to wait. The resort has so much potential. They can benefit by doing some simple things: do not disturb signs on doors, more consistent room cleaning times, taxi coordination, etc. All said, we would come back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Old hotel on a gorgeous beach

Posted Jan 21, 2017
I would not recommend this hotel as it is old,bathrooms in terrible condition,the staff have a bad attitude,not smiling as if they were bored and some of them are rude,extremely boring evening and day entertainement.But the beach is fantastic. It is not at all good value for money!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Positive: beautiful beach. Pools nice Cons: food is mediocre. Rooms need updating. No solid door.Doors and bathroom windows have screens. You hear everyone outside your room, even at 2 am. Music is loud until midnight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: The resort is beautiful and well kept. Entertainment is great. Food selection is great. Amazing experience.
Cons: The rooms need serious renovations to be modern. Seems to be stuck in the 80's.
With the exception of the room conditions, my friend and I had an amazing time on the resort. The pool is beautiful and the staff is amazing. Would recommend this resort but warn others about the room conditions.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In major need of refurbishment - awful

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Just two staff at the hotel were really quite nice. The staff at Lydia's were all good - a nice exception. Of course the beach, the view and the pool.
Cons: Almost everything. Get the management at Lydia's to train the hotel staff.
- Overall almost all staff need customer service training. Staff were not rude, but they were far from friendly. - The room was tiny, and having to sit in the reception foyer for Wi-Fi is ridiculous this day in age, especially considering what they charge. Brown water in tap at times, shower not draining properly, air-conditioning unit very noisy and dripping water on the bed. No fridge in room. Room was very old. Tiny TV was old. Light bulb needed replacing on arrival. - The food in the buffet restaurant is pretty awful. And I'm not talking about local food, we pretty much only ate local food as it was the only thing half-decent. - Porter was rude on arrival, porters also flew around the narrow roads, expecting us to get out of their way. - We actually witnessed the receptionist talking a departing guest into leaving a bottle of wine with her personally. It was not offered, it was asked for. - Not worth the money we spent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Nice hotel on the beach. Little dated, needs renovation and new beds in the rooms. But overall is good. Staff are excellent very helpful. Three restaurants and barbecue near the beach to choose from, but you need to pay $20 per person for the Italian extra even if you are all inclusive. Most of the time we eat in the main restaurant as is very similar to the Caribbean accept in the Caribbean is not buffet, is a table service, and more like ala card dinning. From 12-5 pm you can always pick up a burger or chicken with chips from the barbecue near the beach. Beach is amazing and clean, sun beds always available. Entertainment every evening over Christmas and New Year. Enjoy your stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best beach in Antigua

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: The beach, the friendly staff.
Cons: The rooms have a big balacony area, I think some of that space could have been used for the actual rooms themselves, since it is a bit cramped.
Location: kayaking, wind surfing, diving school, jet skying,boats trips, Castaways bar is on the beach, grocery store walking distance.
The hotel is located on the best beach in Antigua. The water is un-believably magestic very calm , there are lots of water activities you can take part it, such as wind surfing, diving, kayaking, jet skying etc. The hotel has some social activites for guest to take part in during the day. The only cons for me were that the rooms did not have free wifi, you can however get free wifi at the lobby and conference rooms area or pay for wifi in your room. The room i stayed in was very breezy, the rooms is a bit small as well compared to other hotels i stayed in, however the scenery and beach makes up for that. The hotel staff is very friendly and courteous.