Ratings based on 702 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Beach, Awful Resort

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The beach and view.
Cons: EVERYTHING except the beach.
The beach is amazing! Beautiful clear water and white sand. Hotel is beyond old and run down. The rooms are outdated and DO NOT have 1-10 volt outlets. The resort says there are 5 restaurants, 1 is a beach bar with a limited menu only open for lunch, the buffet is marginal at best, the other 3 restaurants are NOT open every day and reservations are required. To get a table at restaurant requiring a reservation, be prepared to be waiting in line at 7 am the day before (they only take reservations 24 hrs ahead). Also, they only do one dinner seating a night. So good luck with getting a table. If you want an umbrella by the beach / pool, again be prepared to set your alarm to get up prior to 6 am other wise there will be no umbrellas available. The rooms / building of the hotel are depleted. There have been no upgrades or improvements made in at least 20 years. Dirty and unpleasant to the eye. The rooms do not even contain standard amenities. Minibar contained nothing. If you want H2O, it will cost you at least $2 - this is an ALL-INCLUSIVE hotel. It is obvious that much of the hotel has been closed due to signage that has been scratched off and all of the empty buildings. The room was not ready upon arrival at 4pm, didn't get into our room until well after 6. I have seen nicer rooms at airports.Loud air conditioner. Cracks in floor. Dirty Overall, I would NOT advise anyone to stay at this hotel. Spend the extra money and stay in a nicer hotel with the standard amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Merseyside UK

Lovely relaxing holiday

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Just to start this is only a 3 star resort but just had our 3rd visit there in the last 18 months. Staff so nice, beach amazing. Beautiful sunset every night. Food good with the odd night that had limited choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Beautiful beach and area, good staff,

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Cons: noisy AC, the rooms and bathrooms need renovation
Good food, nice pool, very nice daily entertainment, the resort needs reconstruction
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Stay Somewhere Else!

Posted Feb 10, 2017
The actual beach is gorgeous, but this hotel is a piece of work. For the first 3 days, we had no air conditioning, a toilet that didn't work and no wifi in the rooms which we were promised. The staff is largely and overwhelmingly unhelpful. To say that they run on 'caribbean time' is a wild understatement. We addressed our problems directly with resort staff who appeared to have no inclination to improve the situation. It takes days to get your problems fixed, if they get fixed at all. No one is empowered to solve a problem and generally the resort is dirty. Cigarette butts everywhere and dirty cups from the open bar all over. The rooms have poor soundproofing so the live music can be heard in-room until it ends (between 11 and midnight some nights). You have to get up super early to make a reservation for the next night at dinner or you don't get one. Like I said, beach is great but with 365 beaches in Antigua there are plenty that don't have the issues that come with this resort. I fully understand that this is a budget-grade resort, and have stayed in nuermous others, but the difficulties that came with Jolly Beach were unparalelled. Stay somewhere else and preserve your vacation for relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quesnel, BC

Great friendly staff! Good food! 5 star beach!

Posted Feb 9, 2017
- Great stay at Jolly Beach - Great staff - clean rooms - Dave on beach good for tours
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pequannock,NJ

Old hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2017
The room was very small not even the dog can sleep,buffet was same food every day very limited choices you can not compare to buffet in Mexico or Punta cana i will not go for the hotel or for the food back. The beach water was exellent
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You should take this hotel out of your list.

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Hotel from the hell with the most rudest people ever. We stayed only one night and checked out next morning and they charged us for extra two night for penalty. We moved to Sugar Ridge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Henley

Fabulous location

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: Beach umbrellas beach umbrellas beach umbrellas !!!!!
Yes the hotel is tired but the location cannot be beaten The staff are wonderful and the food is ok - the cocktails are amazing !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

It's all about the beach

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Location: I did the helicopter tour of the Montserrat Volcano and it was amazing. I reserved a spot online with carribeanhelicopter. Don't get the middle seat
I was looking for an affordable all inclusive resort that was right on the beach. I spent everyday on the beach which was amazing and beautiful with a great view of the volcano on the next island. The sunsets are spectacular and that's all I really cared about. Everything else was fine. Food and staff was fine. The rooms are a dated, but functional. I only slept there when I wasn't on the beach. Had hot water and the first night my toilet stopped working. I let the front desk know and they sent someone to fix it immediately. It worked fine after that. Mosquitoes has always love me so I always used repellent, some guests didn't need to use it and never got bit. I read the reviews so I brought my own portable travel beach umbrella (portabrella), blow up tube (ten bucks on amazon) and sunscreen. These were essential and the sun is strong. The resort has umbrellas, but not enough for everyone so people would go to the beach at 7am to put towels down and save their spot. One vendors put his umbrellas on the beach and when people set up under them, he would come by and tell them it cost a fee. There's a small grocery store you can walk to for bottled water, spices or snacks. I do suggest bringing a covered cup or mug for your refills and to have in your room. Brings ones for tipping and use your bath towels as long as you can. I had a great time and it was my first solo trip. As a woman traveling alone there, I felt safe the entire time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Beautiful Beach, Wonderful Vacation

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Location and cleanliness
Cons: Some quick suggestions for minor amenities that would improve the rating from 4 to 5 would be: mini fridges and coffee makers in the room, room cards
Location: Very close to the Marina so chartering a sailboat for the afternoon was very easy. It's easy to grab a cab or get on the bus to go anywhere.
Our recent stay at the Jolly Beach Resort was wonderful. This is truly one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever vacationed on and the entire island is just a great vacation spot. We were a group of seven and each of us felt it was one of our best vacations yet. (this is somewhere near my 25th all-inclusive vacation) If you're looking for an incredible and expansive hotel room you will be disappointed as the rooms are older and not much bigger than a cruise ship. BUT if you're looking for a beautiful beach and incredible sunsets, with good food and friendly service, this is the place for you. It was nice that everyone was treated the same, there were no levels of wristbands that make some guests feel like 2nd class citizens. Everything was very clean. Great swimming pool/ swim up bar and an additional "quiet pool". But you go here mostly for the beach which I can't say enough good things about. The HOby Cats and kayaks were a nice option too. .