Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Best resort, on the most beautiful beach

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Lots to do, great restaurants. We stayed in the Mediterranean Club Level suite and would definitely choose that again
Location: Perfect location on beautiful beaches and turquoise waters. We did the sunset cruise and enjoyed that. We only did activities through the resort.
This was our first Sandals experience and definitely won't be our last. The staff was amazing, the food was amazing, the weather was amazing, no complaints.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

the old and the new

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Landscaping and beach
Cons: Rooms and pool areas on Caribbean side. Wider variety of foods and better cocktails. More accommodating to guests and better room service.
Location: Location was ok but isolated so not much to do nearby
The overall hotel is nice but the Caribbean side is very old and dated. The Mediterranean side was newer and nicer. Landscaping and beach was best part of the hotel. Food was just ok and drinks were cheaply made. Staff was friendly enough but not natural. For me it seems a bit better overpriced for what we got . Room service Sucks!!!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florham Park, NJ

Great beach

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Loved the pools and beach. Loved the Paris Cafe. The gym was large with many machines; there was an ant problem in there.
Cons: The food and wine could be improved as it was not what we expected, based on price paid. The wine and beer selection should be expanded.
Location: Location was great. Close to airport and close to many things to do.
We wanted a relaxing stay with a nice room and great food. The pools and beach were very nice! The landscape was gorgeous-colorful floral everywhere. The food was mediocre at some places; Very good at one or 2 restaurants. The room was not what we reserved; we reserved "walk out to the pool" and we were placed on the 2nd floor?? Also, the wine served was not good; there should be a selection-not one choice. We had to purchase wine as the kind served was not good. It tasted like a $5 bottle. Also, the beer selection was great at ONE bar; all other bars only had 1 or 2 choices...seems cheap. Also, there was a "smell" when you walked outside; it was similar to sewage. The staff was very nice in some areas of the resort; some of the staff should smile more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Flea allergy.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: The grounds are beautiful but not wheelchair friendly.
Location: Resort is rather isolated and not much to do if you leave it.
If you are allergic to flea bites bring lottsa of flea repellent. Me I'm still scratching. They definentely have a flea investation. Everyone in our eight person group got bit. When staff was informed of this they handed out a spray repellent .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best vacation experience ever

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: electric outlet in the bathroom
Location: stayed in sandals had no desire to leave
We found Sandals Antigua to be just about perfect in every way,, from the friendly staff to the delicious food to the beautiful beach ect ect ect have nothing of importance bad to say
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredible staff

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Sandals staff was incredible!!! Everyone very friendly. We especially loved the staff at the Drunken Duck!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The perfect way to relax.

Posted Jan 18, 2017
I'm trying to think of anything I would change and I can not honesty find anything. The entire staff were wonderful. Keep it up don't change a thing. Two small comments, shorten the fashion show. It was to long and everyone was getting tired of it. And more rockin music by the Med pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Honeymoon, but Dated Facility

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: beautiful beach and pool
Cons: A LOT can be improved with the facility, the whole resort needs a facelift. Resort is old and dated, and did not serve enough seafood
Location: Enjoyed the 360 island and snorkeling tour
My husband and I were so excited to honeymoon at Sandals in Antigua as we wanted to go to an island that was new for both of us and I read lots of reviews and believed this 4.5/5 star all-inclusive would be perfect for us. When we arrived we were disappointed at how OLD and DATED the resort looked. After staying at another 4.5/5 star resort in the Dominican Republic a year prior…I was shocked that this resort was so highly rated as it appeared to be a 3/5 at best. When we arrived to our room I was further in shock that it looked NOTHING like the pictures online. it was a small, old raggedy cabin that I refused to sleep in…the front desk upgraded us to the honeymoon suite which was better, but still far from luxurious as I expected. CONS: resort needs LOTS of updates to the entire facility (the beach and pool were the only areas that were 4.5/5 star to us), food was good but they did not serve as much seafood (shrimp and lobster) as we're used to at all-inclusives, no beach and pool drink service unless you have a butler PROS: beautiful beach and pool, nice staff for the most part, enjoyed the food overall especially the Hibachi, Eleanor's and the beach restarutant (only place to get lobster tails at resort), the 360 island tour was great (we got ours from the guys on the beach and it was fantastic), and great entertainment crew Overall: we had a great honeymoon and relaxed, we wouldn't stay here again as we like to stay at much more updated/new resorts
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Nice, but not the best Sandals experience

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: The grounds
Cons: The customer service
This is my 3rd visit to a Sandals and I have to say that I was the least impressed with this resort. Pros - The resort itself is beautiful and the restaurants are all lovely, with great tasting food. We got good service in all of them. The room itself is also lovely, clean and modern and the bed was very comfortable. Most of the staff were also very friendly and welcoming.The beach was beautiful but at times cold. Cons -We had a club level room - and there were no bedroom slippers for the cold floor. I called the conceirge twice to ask for slippers and was told that it was only for butler level rooms. They said they would see what they could do and I never heard from them after that. I've paid less that half the price of what I paid for Sandals and gor complimentary bedroom slippers. I was not pleased with this at all. I had a booking at the spa and was told to arrive 15 mins before,which I did. I then had to wait a further 15 mins...a total of 30 mins before I was attended to, while I saw persons coming in and out and getting attended to. It was only when I asked what was going on that I was rushed to the room. We are members of the Sandals loyalty programme (which they recognised on check in) and DID NOT receive any of the special treats/perks for members. The early morning rise and hunt for pool/beach chairs was not on my agenda either. if you want peace and quiet, stay in the Caribbean side. The Med. side is more party-like and noisy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not terrible but expected much better

Posted Oct 24, 2016
We stayed at the newer side of the resort and bought an upgraded room. The room was extremely dated and small than we expected. We paid extra for a mini bar and for some reason they could never even keep the fridge stocked with coke when we asked. When asked I was told "Oh we are out, ill try to get some..", never came. Drinks were hard to order. Me and my wife never really drink so when we asked for drink options at the Drunken dunk we were told "Are you kidding me? We have most everything just tell me what you want" and the bartender walked away for a bit somewhat laughing. We had very few drinks on this trip because we really did not know how to order/what to get. The room was okay but we kept getting locked out and they told us to just keep trying. Something was wrong with the scanner and they would not fix it. The food was the biggest disappointment. A few of the restaurants were swarmed by birds and they hired people to scare them away. Unfortunately that was not always successful and we often saw birds sitting on the buffet food eating i. A lot of the food was pretty boring and cheap tasting, even the sit down restaurants inside. I also did not expect to be harrassed by locals on the beach the whole time. I literally had them wake me up when I was rest on the beach to sell me a horse ride or a necklace the made by hand. Was very frusterating and not how I wanted to spend my honey moon. I am not ruling out sandals resorts in future but I will not return to this one.