Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Honeymoon, but Dated Facility

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: beautiful beach and pool
Cons: A LOT can be improved with the facility, the whole resort needs a facelift. Resort is old and dated, and did not serve enough seafood
Location: Enjoyed the 360 island and snorkeling tour
My husband and I were so excited to honeymoon at Sandals in Antigua as we wanted to go to an island that was new for both of us and I read lots of reviews and believed this 4.5/5 star all-inclusive would be perfect for us. When we arrived we were disappointed at how OLD and DATED the resort looked. After staying at another 4.5/5 star resort in the Dominican Republic a year prior…I was shocked that this resort was so highly rated as it appeared to be a 3/5 at best. When we arrived to our room I was further in shock that it looked NOTHING like the pictures online. it was a small, old raggedy cabin that I refused to sleep in…the front desk upgraded us to the honeymoon suite which was better, but still far from luxurious as I expected. CONS: resort needs LOTS of updates to the entire facility (the beach and pool were the only areas that were 4.5/5 star to us), food was good but they did not serve as much seafood (shrimp and lobster) as we're used to at all-inclusives, no beach and pool drink service unless you have a butler PROS: beautiful beach and pool, nice staff for the most part, enjoyed the food overall especially the Hibachi, Eleanor's and the beach restarutant (only place to get lobster tails at resort), the 360 island tour was great (we got ours from the guys on the beach and it was fantastic), and great entertainment crew Overall: we had a great honeymoon and relaxed, we wouldn't stay here again as we like to stay at much more updated/new resorts
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Nice, but not the best Sandals experience

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: The grounds
Cons: The customer service
This is my 3rd visit to a Sandals and I have to say that I was the least impressed with this resort. Pros - The resort itself is beautiful and the restaurants are all lovely, with great tasting food. We got good service in all of them. The room itself is also lovely, clean and modern and the bed was very comfortable. Most of the staff were also very friendly and welcoming.The beach was beautiful but at times cold. Cons -We had a club level room - and there were no bedroom slippers for the cold floor. I called the conceirge twice to ask for slippers and was told that it was only for butler level rooms. They said they would see what they could do and I never heard from them after that. I've paid less that half the price of what I paid for Sandals and gor complimentary bedroom slippers. I was not pleased with this at all. I had a booking at the spa and was told to arrive 15 mins before,which I did. I then had to wait a further 15 mins...a total of 30 mins before I was attended to, while I saw persons coming in and out and getting attended to. It was only when I asked what was going on that I was rushed to the room. We are members of the Sandals loyalty programme (which they recognised on check in) and DID NOT receive any of the special treats/perks for members. The early morning rise and hunt for pool/beach chairs was not on my agenda either. if you want peace and quiet, stay in the Caribbean side. The Med. side is more party-like and noisy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not terrible but expected much better

Posted Oct 24, 2016
We stayed at the newer side of the resort and bought an upgraded room. The room was extremely dated and small than we expected. We paid extra for a mini bar and for some reason they could never even keep the fridge stocked with coke when we asked. When asked I was told "Oh we are out, ill try to get some..", never came. Drinks were hard to order. Me and my wife never really drink so when we asked for drink options at the Drunken dunk we were told "Are you kidding me? We have most everything just tell me what you want" and the bartender walked away for a bit somewhat laughing. We had very few drinks on this trip because we really did not know how to order/what to get. The room was okay but we kept getting locked out and they told us to just keep trying. Something was wrong with the scanner and they would not fix it. The food was the biggest disappointment. A few of the restaurants were swarmed by birds and they hired people to scare them away. Unfortunately that was not always successful and we often saw birds sitting on the buffet food eating i. A lot of the food was pretty boring and cheap tasting, even the sit down restaurants inside. I also did not expect to be harrassed by locals on the beach the whole time. I literally had them wake me up when I was rest on the beach to sell me a horse ride or a necklace the made by hand. Was very frusterating and not how I wanted to spend my honey moon. I am not ruling out sandals resorts in future but I will not return to this one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern, NJ

Rooms & Dining...

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Rooms: rooms are much smaller than other hotels even with the upgrade. This was a bit disappointing considering the money you pay to stay here. We stayed in the main tower which was the newest building (Med. side). You may consider booking a private villa by the gardens/near beach, we heard it was more spacious from other guests (although more expensive). Food: the food is good but the portions are small when doing restaurant dining (I recommend ordering 2 entrees). Eveything else was great! The beach and water make up for the above- absolutely beautiful. FYI... The beach is public so you will have vendors ask you daily if you would like to buy small items or book tours (they are mostly licensed vendors on the beach). They are nice tho so all you need to say is no thank you, if not interested (they won't really push you to buy anything).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just Beautiful

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: As said above, they couldn't do enough for you.
Cons: Dining. Food was good, but nothing to write home about. Steaks (all restaurants) terrible - poor cuts, thin, not seasoned well, overcooked.
Sandals was wonderful. Beautiful resort. Staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful, from management all the way down to maintenance. Everyone always has a smile and asks how your day is going.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, New York

The Place to be just fabulous!!!!

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: We absolutely love the hospitality of all staff
Cons: Golf cars would be great to transport guests from one location to the other of resort.
Location: Location is very close to airport and city, you can go horse back riding, jet skiing, shopping etc...
To say Sandals Grande Antigua is just beautiful would be an understatement. It is absolutely Grand!!! One of our best vocations ever!!! The hospitality of all the staff members was just excellent and beyond. Miss/Mrs Claudine at Pub/Drunken Duck was just amazing. She was extremely polite, kind, caring, friendly, and very respectful. Miss/Mrs Claudine along with Nurse Milka is an excellent and positive contribution to Sandals Grande Antigua Resort. we already recommended to family and friends, and would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Wonderful Location

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Pretty much everything!
Cons: A film channel in rooms, update the bed & room decor, docking station only takes old version iPod, could ask for donations to care for animals & birds
Location: Beautiful location so you do not really need to leave the resort to go anywhere if you don't feel like it. Otherwise boat trips are good & day trips.
The Sandals resort in Antigua is located on right on a great, long, sandy beach and provides a spacious, well-groomed holiday destination for couples only. We were there in August but the weather was great despite this being in their hurricane season. We stayed in a Mediterranean Walkout Club Level room which was spacious with a four poster bed, seating area and bathroom containing a large shower, separate whirlpool bath and toilet along with his and her sinks. The décor is a little dated and the mattress definitely needs replacing but otherwise the room was very comfortable. As an animal lover, I loved that the resort takes care of the local feline community by providing them with a cat café and as someone who usually gets badly bitten by mosquitoes, the fact that they would nightly 'fog' the resort with natural insect repellents was a god-send. The pools are lovely, set in beautiful gardens and the restaurants provided great food. This combined with Robert Mondavi wines as standard and full branded drinks package, the inclusive package is excellent. The staff were lovely and welcoming and a delight to be around and I would highly recommend this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tulsa ok

Posted Aug 14, 2016
This was a nice property , the original side where we stayed was older but very clean and well kept , staff was excellent , food was good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Resort calm

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Great calming vacation with great staff and unlimited food to enjoy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel and nice beach

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Was awesome but no mint for mojitos or our ocean view room had no view except that of trees. Also nightly crickets very annoying.