Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Beautiful hotel and great location. All staff was wonderful! The room was great, but just wished the plunge pool was a jacuzzi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sugar ridge, antigua

Beyond our expectations"

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Everything...the staff, location, the rooms, the daily agenda for this resort.
Cons: The grounds walking up to Carmichael, people littering. Shame on the tourists.
Location: Five minute walk to restaurants , great ones like miracles and akropolis. On the way was the supermarket.
We had a wonderful time, wished that we had booked for at least 10 days instead of 7. So much to do and see. The hotel was simply elegant and the serenity was a surprise. We were treated so kindly by staff they were joyful and if any issues arises it was addressed immediately. a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Jan 29, 2017
SR is a beautiful and quiet boutique hotel located on the side of a mountain. A short distance from the beach, no biggie here. Free shuttle to and from. Great for couples or small groups wanting some R&R. The restaurant at the top has an Amazing view, be sure to check it out especially at dusk. The room I had #30, was clean and spacious. The bed firm yet comfortable. Could use an electrical outlet in the bathroom and balcony. View of the ocean blocked by trees but I didn't mind that. Hotel staff very helpful and pleasant always greeting you with a smile (Alicia). Kevin is the man, went above and beyond, your service will never be forgotten. Definitely would recommend and I'll be back again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Satisfactory

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Location quietness
Cons: Service at restaurant
All went well , some mantinence issues , room pool not well maintain Last day the service at the restaurant was very slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice rooms and amazing views.....

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: The rooms. The views. The food / service at Carmichael's - a noticable difference to the Sugar Club Bar / Restaurant
Cons: Open Carmichaels earlier Include the 15% taxes within the listed price Increase guest transportation within the hotel Complimentary water in the room
Location: Central location with easy access to the many white sand beaches - Sheer Rocks is a great spot for sunset/dinner and Jacqui O's for a beach side lunch
Is a nice hotel, with decent rooms and amazing views. However, it was the little things that let this hotel down. We stayed at the hotel for 9 nights and while knowingly opting out of the all-inclusive package, we were surprised (given the £££ room rates and overall hotel layout) how little was included; the subsequent cost (and often hassle) of ordering the basics (F&B) was disappointing, especially with a 15% tax and 10% service charge added to the list price....note - an additional $10 service fee is added on anything delivered to the room. Sugar Ridge has the making of a great hotel and I would return. However, in my view it has some work to do across the overall guest experience / value if it is to earn a place as one of the leading hotels on the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful grounds and friendly staff!

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Sugar ridge is a very quiet, beautiful boutique hotel. The staff are welcoming and grounds are well maintained. One of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. Highly recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort with an amazing view

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Sugar ridge has a breathtaking view and wonderful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Real nice hotel.

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, clean, nice room....in general real nice hotel.
Cons: It is done....just maintenance and keep up the place...
Location: Busy "main" road however nice location. Close to the beach, not close to town. You want to relax...the hotel to be.
Only stayed for 2 nights, the road is pretty noisy but you can't hear anything in the room. Nice lay out, room, hotel, pool and gym.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Can do better

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Quiet apart from the road noise from about 6am, layout of the hotel gives impression of seclusion and exclusivity.
Location: Good shuttle to two nearby beaches with plenty to do there i.e. jet skis, catamarans to hire etc Best to hire a car but night driving is a challenge.
Its the little things that let this hotel down, for example two of the three showers in the mens changing room next to the gym weren't working, ran out of towels three days running... no excuse for that. Most of the staff want to please but some don't seem to understand what good service is. I couldn't understand why so few people used the upstairs bar area until I sat in a number of seats and they are so uncomfortable its not possible to stay, I think it was a case of style over substance. Such a shame because the location is good and all of the components were there, just not all hooked up together.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by Management, Sugar Ridge, Hotel Management
We appreciate your Expedia review. As is the case with any property, occasionally there are items that break down during a guests’ stay, and they do not reflect the common condition of an apparatus or location, in this case, the men’s shower room. They have been repaired and all are in operating order. Our team typically receive high praise for their warmth and friendliness and we apologize that you did not feel you received this level of service. While your comments on our furniture are new to us, we want you to know that your feedback is valuable as it allows us to better deliver a complete guest experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Needs major work on cleaniness

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: The view from the infinity pool is gorgeous.
Cons: Cleaniness and bug control needs some serious improvement.
There seems to be a bug infestation when we were there. My boyfriend and I had many bug bites of the 3 nights that we were staying there. We suspected that they were flea / bed bug bites but we weren't very sure. We literally couldn't sleep through the nights because of the bites. We also saw bags of dirty bedsheets left behind on our balcony as the maid didn't actually take them out. The plunge pools are not cleaned regularly. The water filtering system for the pool was not turned all majority of the time for our room. We called to ask the front desk to turn the filtering on but never heard back. I hope that the hotel management can work on improving the sanitation of the compound.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by Management, Sugar Ridge, Hotel Management
Thank you for your Expedia review, though we would have liked to have heard about this situation while you were on property. We are at a loss as to what you may have come in contact with. We have a very strict hygiene program we follow, and we have had no other reports of any situations occurring. We also have fixed position mosquito repellent stations around the resort as well as an ongoing program of fogging throughout the week. As for the linens, we do apologize for this since they should have been removed once the room attendant finished cleaning the room, so that they could be collected by the houseman. We apologize for any inconvenience they may have caused you. We can assure you that our pools are cleaned regularly and our water filtration systems, while silent, are always running.