Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles


Posted Sep 29, 2016
Beautiful hotel. Beautiful location. Beautiful helpful staff. I didn't want to leave.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Romsey, Hants, UK

Lovely Relaxing Boutique Hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: The restaurant menu service (lack of the ubiquitous buffet) esp at breakfast. All rooms have large veranda, and we enjoyed having our own plunge pool.
Cons: Although the shower and air conditioning were perfectly adequate, a little updating of these would be welcome.
Location: A beautiful setting nestled in lush green hills with lovely sea views. Hotel not on the beach, but lovely beaches are nearby, with hotel transport.
We really enjoyed our stay at Sugar Ridge. It was the low season, and so not too busy and nice and quiet. Although not on the beach, several lovely beaches are close by and the hotel are happy to take and fetch you. Also, all inclusive terms are extended to two of these.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Great food and service and views from our verandah were stunning. Good gym and a pool for swimming lengths separate from general pool.
Location: A lot of the boat tours pick up from Jolly harbour boat dock. Miracles restaurant is opposite hotel and very good.
There are lots of great hotels in Antigua and we were really pleased we chose Sugar Ridge, we went all inclusive and that worked well for us and our 21 and 18 year old sons. The deal available on Expedia was very good and the hotel gym was another reason for our choice. There is a bit of walking to get to the rooms and it involves steps, can be hard work in heat of the day but the quietness of location and the views are worth it. We had a room with a plunge pool which was a great way to cool down.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2016
The staff was great, the rooms are clean and the area is accommodating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading

Fantastic hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: being in the jungle
Cons: nothing
We`ve just spent 15 amazing days in the Sugar Ridge. The villas with the private splash pools are very nice, modern and clean. There are 2 additional pools you can use at the main building. The wifi works fine in the rooms. Food is hi-end and the stuff is one of the best and friendliest I have ever seen. Great place! :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel except for the cats on the property

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Hotel is nice and most of the staff were friendly. There are also several cats on the property so beware if you are allergic to cats. Also the hotel is on a hill so you will be climbing up and down multiple stairs to your room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Not satisfy with the accommodation

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Orbitz
I was surprise with my stay at the Sugar Ridge resort. The appearance is very deceptive. I was not satisfy with the professionalism of the executive staff. The room was not of 4 star quality, the patio had a number of stray cats hanging around all the time, could not enjoy sitting on the outside, without cat begging for food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach and nice hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Restaurant
Staff and accomodation is great. Pool and restaurant is also good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mt. Prospect, IL

“Cement jungle in paradise.

Posted Jun 20, 2016
“Cement jungle in paradise, hills, not very good food, strange property layout. There are better close by.” We arrived and checked out the next day. The non-management employees are kind and helpful. The managers we encountered were nice until we wanted to leave. Expedia did a great job. Yay Expedia. The place is simply not a fun place. It's certainly not to be considered high on the star charts. 3 at best on a perfect day.... Okay maybe 2.5. We decided that we'd rather spend more money than stay there, our room was sort of nice, it's just the grounds are very bare with many bare dirt areas, cement everywhere you look, everything is either up or down hill. You can't just relax somewhere without almost breaking a hip getting there. Whatever you do, don't forget your sunglasses as you will walk a marathon to recover them. While in the lobby we watched people asking for beach towels kept in the back room, then awaiting a beach shuttle. Again struggling to get somewhere... Anywhere. Who designed this place thinking it would be a great resort? Honestly who designed this place. Better yet..... How did it get top 8 in Antigue? And 4 Star rating? Somebody must know somebody. So when we called Expedia the evening of our arrival, then the next morning registered our want to check out, we were evaded by the GM Jeffers all day who sent in his team of dodgers until he sent a message trying to charge us for 3 nights to leave. Then he surrendered to 2 nights, and finally.