Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by HERNANDO from Miami

Hotel is great but food is too expensive

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is great, beautiful, nice food but... too expensive! I guess that the whole island is expensive
4 out of 5
by JOSE from Miami Beach

Relaxing Place on the Hills

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
I spent couple days in this hotel and I have to say I enjoyed the Stay. The place is really quiet and it has a beautiful view of Dickenson Bay. The pool is not big but nice and relaxing and the bonfire in the evening are perfect after a beach day, my only complain the mosquitos could be really annoying. The menu in the restaurant has several options and the food has good quality so don’t miss the Antiguan Breakfast and the Pumpkin Soup.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

RUNDOWN. OVERPRICED. Not Recommened.

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: Reception staff are accommodating and helpful. Nice view.
Cons: Renovation. Overpriced.
Location: Isolated.
Had to over night in Antigua, I've been in this situation many times before, after reading many reviews I decided to stay at this hotel. This hotel is overpriced for the quality of the hotel and the room I stayed in is in need of a renovation. The room's electronic key did not work leaving me locked out of my room, I walked back to my room and the reception and up and down the many stairs 2,3 different times, finally I was given a actual key. The bathroom was dark and the toilet barely worked. I had lunch at the restaurant, the service was ok. The meal was very greasy. Without any other options I had to have dinner there, I had the Mixed Seafood Grill, I was very disappointed. I read the reviews and totally disagree, this is not the quality I excepted and I can not believe that this restaurant is one of Antiugua's premier restaurants, the seafood was severely overdone or cooked from frozen, the remedy to this was " I'm sorry, would you like more shrimp" she brought me 3 shrimp and told me we will give you 10% off your bill, I declined the shrimp and hiked back to my room. Receiption staff were helpful. I will not stay here again I would not recommend. Disappointed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good stay!

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Orbitz
I enjoyed the hotel's quiet, relaxing environment. The staff was very helpful. I wanted to go to town and the staff was helpful with arranging a taxi for me. Overall, I had a very good stay.
4 out of 5
by terry from southampton,new york

satisfied customer

Posted Mar 11, 2016 on Hotels
nice room with loft overlooking Dickenson Bay. Beautiful view. great restaurant with terrible,slow service. short walk to beach,but take a cab on return,since the climb is brutal.The view alone is worth my returning to Trade Winds.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent Overnight Stay

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Friendly, efficient staff at check-in. Extremely clean, comfortable room, good dinner but excellent Antiguan breakfast. Would definitely recommend this hotel based on our short stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beyond lovely

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Pros: Quiet and relaxed but very comfortable.
Cons: Ok. Maybe bigger beach towels.
Location: It is walkable to the beach and an uphill return. They run a shuttle which is prompt and courteous.
It's hard to describe paradise. The views are extraordinary, the staff are delightful, the food is wonderful. I could live there forever.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

An excellent hotel to do business in Antigua

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Stayed two nights. Room was adequate, clean and functional. Solid internet/Wi-Fi service despite warning by hotel manager that they were in the process of changing service provider. Food - breakfast and dinner - was very good, but nothing can beat the views from the restaurant. A real gem of a property.
3 out of 5
by Sharon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, New York

Overated.. Absolutely NOT a 4 star!!!

Posted Dec 29, 2015
This hotel is well over rated. While the grounds of the hotel is well kept with a variety of beautiful Caribbean flowers, the inside is not well kept by the housekeepers. When "cleaned" the bathroom sink was still dirty & the electric kettle was brown when I attempted to use it for the first time.. Thank God I tend to wash hotel utensils prior to using. It appeared clean but the white rag I used to wash it out became brown with dirt from the inside. The bed was harder than "The Flintstones" bedrock. The pool is a sham, I guess to make interested parties when looking for hotels think they have a nice pool.. Well it's nothing to write home about. Finally I don't believe the designer of this hotel anticipated that its guests will be arriving with luggages, as it is a task to tote your luggage up numerous stairs.... Forget it if you are at the bottom end of the entrance..yes they have one entrance & exit.. One more thing, the food /menu is yet to be desired. While the view is great & the room is spacious, I certainly would not return to trade winds hotel. I'm usually not a critique of hotels I've stayed,(and I've stayed at numerous considering I travel around the world at least 3 times per yr), but I had to comment on the over rating of this hotel.. I often pick my hotels based on reviews and this is my first disappointment in years..