Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

NOT SO TRANQUIIL!!!

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: NOTHING.....it's not a Hotel!!! it is a timeshare faclitiy that books holidays,,,,,,
Cons: EVERYTHING!
Location: NEAR TO JOLLY HARBOUR.....OK restaurants pricey though! Supermarket with empty shelves quite often and Waitrose goods???? Wierd!
Sadly Tranquility isn't all that tranquil after all! Major problems with my booking upon arrival.................I was not alone.....other guests had the same issues! The place is very dated, needs serious work done......if you Google the place it comes up as one of the top hotels in Antigua!!! No it isn't! Certainly no where near 4 star as it claims....more 2 star!!! Staff, pleasant enough but not that interested nor helpful when there''s a problem.....too many 'Island smiles' and not enough done efficiently. On the plus side.....bed very comfortable, sun always hot and beach lovely and close by. Would definately NOT stay there again unless someone else paid! Not value for money, overpriced......so NOT RECOMMENDED AS A PLACE TO STAY!!! Antigua itself is a beautiful island but an expensive island too, lots of extra costs when dining 10% service + 15% island tax..... ie....non-alcoholic smoothie on the beach EC$15.00 - US$8.00+++!!!!! Almost glad to be home even if the weather sucks!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Apartments by the beach

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: Apartments are large and large patio area. Great position, yards from the beach, excellent local supermarket, good value for money
Apartments are large and large patio area. Great position, yards from the beach, excellent local supermarket, good value for money
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Very disappointed

Posted Jul 7, 2015
The worst air conditioning we've ever run into while traveling & it's quite warm as u can imagine . Water was cold , the all place smells bed . We lost cable every single day . We were very disappointed and never coming back to this place again .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from München

Bestes Preis/Leistungsverhätnis

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: Strand, Alles was man braucht zu Fuß erreichbar
Cons: Klimaanlage
Location: Direkt am Jolly Beach. Restaurants, Supermarkt, Auto- und Fahrradverleih ist alles in 5 min. zu Fuß erreichbar. Animation im Jolly Beach Resort
Wir (59/59) waren 8 Tage im Mai 2015 im Tranquility Bay und waren begeistert. Wenn man im Meer schwimmen will, gibt es keinen schöneren Strand auf Antigua als den Jolly Beach. Restaurants, Supermarkt, Auto- und Fahrradverleih ist alles in 5 min. zu Fuß erreichbar. Auch die Wohnungen im Tranquility waren super - nur die Klimaanlage schwächelte etwas. Das Personal ist sehr nett und hilfsbereit
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the beach and the pool next door.
Cons: Property is run down- an influx of capital is needed. Get rid of the hospital wrist bands or get comfortable plastic bands for guests to wear.
Location: Carmichael's served excellent food and arranged a complimentary shuttle to and from our hotel.
Front desk person was very friendly but gave horrible directions and did not even know there was a donkey sanctuary on the island. Our room had a broken dryer which was not repaired the entire week we were there. Air conditioning was poor which left the bedding and clothes damp. Livingroom furniture was uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice 2 bedroom suite right off the beach

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Angus and Filmina were especially nice.
Cons: Update room a little like pictures on walls and upholstery on sofas
Location: Very close to supermarket so you can stock up the kitchen and only 1 minute walk to the sand.
Suite was very clean although dated. Good size for a family of four and having a full kitchen made it nice to stock items for the week instead on eating out for every meal. 1 of the 3 air conditioners was not working (barely running as a fan) but weather was pleasant enough to get by without it. I would say they should change the feature about free Wi-Fi in room since we were never able to get a signal from any device to connect. Only small area by reception could get you on the Internet (no cell service at all which was fine by me - remember we are on vacation)! Grounds were kept very clean and they even helped us take groceries back from supermarket using a golf cart. Master bedroom was very spacious.
4 out of 5
by Bernd from Berlin

Idealer Familienurlaub am Meer

Posted Mar 12, 2015 on Hotels
Idealer Familienurlaub am Meer. Gute Einkaufsmöglichkeiten und ein schöner Strand. Hotel sauber, Personal freundlich. Ehrliche 4 Sterne in der Karibik.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

No view of beach from hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2015
A/c poor. Floors dirty. Maintenance slow to respond. But reception kind and knowledgeable. Hot shower and plenty of ice
4 out of 5
by Bolans5

Best Bang For your money

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Orbitz
Excellent front desk staff, welcoming, friendly and informative. Rooms are spacious clean and well stocked with clean towels, dishes great for family vacations. Call for a golf cart pickup to dinner and back at ant if the great restaurants in around the area. The beach is in your door step just put on your sandals or barefoot it to the beach on the property.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tarrytown, New York

Wonderful Experience!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The beach is nice and safe, we love the cleanliness and spaciousness of the suite, the location of the hotel and and we felt safe being there.
Location: The resturants in the areas are also nice especially, Fire House Smoked Grill.
My and family and I were very happy that we stayed at Tranquility Bay Hotel and highly recommend this hotel to others. We felt safe, the staff was extremely nice, especially Jerron, Joanne and Filomena. Jerron was very helpful. The beach is beautiful and safe to swim in. Our two bedroom suite was close to the beach. We love the spaciousness and the cleanliness of our two bedroom suite. The decor of the suite was nice. The washer and dryer was a plus it felt wonderful not having to do laundry on our return back from vacation. The supermarket in the area was also an added bonus. I, therefore, recommend Tranquility Bay to others without hesitation. We had a wonderful safe, time staying there.