Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cottage life in Antigua

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Cons: The cottage decor is tired; the furniture in the LR/DR needs a good cleaning and blinds in the bathroom need to be replaced.
Location: To access the beach we had to walk through a recently closed resort which was a tad eerie. Once at the beach it was spectacular!
Our hosts were the highlight of our stay. Douglas and Gabriella are very committed to their guests having a wonderful experience. As for the cottage; the view from the deck was lovely; the bed linens were high quality, fresh and the bed very comfortable; having a well equipped kitchen was terrific and being able to BBQ fresh fish or chicken from the market was an option we enjoyed as an alternative to dining out every night. We spent most evenings on the deck, sipping on wine enjoying the sounds of the lagoon and nature. Cottage life does come along with a few critters when staying on the ground level near bush and water. Again our hosts were very responsive and took care of any issues immediately.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Idyllic retreat

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: Quiet. Very helpful service from Gaby and Doug. Lovely garden setting.
Cons: Hard to think of anything... Maybe bins with lids and somewhere you can throw away your own rubbish each day to get it out of the cottage
Location: Apart from the nearest beach we also enjoyed Fort Barrington to see the wonderful views and Deep Bay just 5 mins from the cottage.
We had a wonderful break at Yepton Cottages. A tranquil hideaway of simple cottages in a garden. We had the largest cottage with a gigantic bed in a separate bedroom with aircon, a bathroom, lounge and dining area and small but effective kitchen. The veranda was our favourite spot for long lazy breakfasts watching the birds on the salt lake, afternoon lazing in the hammock, or long barbecue dinners. The beach is a short stroll away, and usually almost deserted - with dozens of others around the island to explore too. Gaby and Douglas were extremely helpful, taking us to the supermarket on the first day to stock up, providing excellent sightseeing information, arranging restaurant and taxi bookings and striking the balance between friendliness and giving us peace and quiet alone. I would recommend Yepton Cottages to anyone looking for comfortable, quiet, self-catering in Antigua.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Amazing hosts and gorgeous little cottages

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Pros: Our cottage was perfectly equipped & the bed very big and comfy. Lovely shared pool and the view of the lake, with the sea behind, was totally amazing
Cons: Absolutely nothing. This is perfect for anyone who likes to do their own thing and enjoy the island away from the all inclusive resorts.
Location: 10 minute walk from a couple of secluded beaches with that gorgeous white sand and perfect turquoise sea. Easy bus to St. John's - great location!
My sister and I went to Antigua for 8 days in February and stayed in one of Gabie and Douglas' beautiful cottages. Upon arrival we were greeted with a cold beer and helpful introduction before they took us to the supermarket so we could buy supplies for the week. We decided not to hire a car so they took us through the map of the area in detail, explained the bus routes to us and booked our excursions. They were always available to help and were so kind and keen to make sure we were having a good time and had everything we needed. They have great knowledge of the island and gave us brilliant advice and recommendations, as well as information about the history and culture of the island (thanks Douglas!). The cottage was very well equipped, clean, comfy and with a lovely terrace and bbq, which we enjoyed every evening. The whole environment at Yepton is extremely relaxing and, with the wonderful hosts, makes it a perfect holiday destination. We could recommend this highly enough!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

The beach

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Private secluded beach its just amazing!! No one around at all. It was just the 2 of us all day. Plus has a lot of cool stuff to explore.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Cross, London

Personal service and well appointed accomodation

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Immaculate, sheets were high quality and we had a mid week change of linen and towels. Aircon/fans/ventilation was well designed. Solar powered too!
Cons: Would love to see recycling introduced in Antigua!
Location: Lovely view of lagoon - birdwatching. Two local beaches within 5 mins walk - turquoise waters and clean, white sand. 20 mins drive to capital.
Our hosts were professional, helpful and welcoming. We really appreciated their input as we were travelling with two small children. The chalet was excellent - beautiful view over the lagoon - it felt like a retreat. It was a self catering set up and the kitchen equipment was extensive and useful - shows that the owners really have taken a lot of thought over details. The local beach was a 5 minute walk and we went there on several occasions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.


Posted Dec 13, 2015
Pros: Quiet. Relaxed. Reliable internet (I know, so sad!).
Cons: I can't think of a thing.
Location: It's a small island, so everything is close enough.
I completely agree with the other reviewers who have praised hosts/owners Gabriella and Doug: they are the best! Rather than repeating, I'll try to add points that I don't see covered elsewhere. The cottages are simple, functional, and well-designed. The kitchen was remarkably well equipped and cooking in it was a pleasure. We are not chefs, but preparing meals was enjoyable thanks to the organized and complete kitchen. The veranda was a perfect spot for breakfast and dinner. Massive cruise ships passed by on their way to port in the morning and again when they left in the evening. Their schedule is posted online and you could almost set your watch to the cruise ship crossings, which were impressive. Some nights we did need to use a bit of insect repellent to stay on the porch after dusk. We booked a circumnavigation of the island and were picked up and dropped off on the beach near the cottage. The catamaran came straight to the shoreline and dropped stairs so that we could board. On the first day we walked 40-minutes to Eden Beach--Antigua's only clothing optional beach--getting there via the service road behind the Hawksbill Resort. We had the pristine 1/2 mile beach entirely to ourselves most days. We decided to rent a car which made getting to the beach, and everything else, much easier. Driving on the left took a couple of hours to get used to, but having a car was definitely the right choice. We had a perfect 10-day vacation at Yepton!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex, England.

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Secluded and peaceful. Perfect for the relaxing break that we needed.
Cons: Nothing at all.
Location: Located in the Five Islands area of Antigua west of St John's. The cottages are overlooking a lagoon and 6 minutes walk from the nearest beach.
Tucked away in the Five Islands area of Antigua west of St John's. This delightful little group of cottages is situated on a lagoon just beyond the sea. the local beach is a six minute walk and very secluded. The gardens around the cottages are well kept and good for the local wildlife (birds, butterflies, lizards). The cottages are very well fitted out with all creature comforts (comfy bed and sofa) and plenty of cooking utensils (pots, pans, crockery etc). Lovely balcony with hammock and table and chairs where one can sit and relax. Nice small swimming pool surrounded by sun loungers just right for cooling off in. Gabriela and Douglas are excellent hosts, helpful and very knowledgeable. On arrival we were welcomed with a cold drink and shown around our cottage. Then Gabriela took us to the nearest large supermarket to buy provisions for our stay. Next day Douglas sat down with us and showed us all the places of interest on the island map (including for us where to do some bird-watching). They arranged our car hire and the rep came to our cottage to do the paperwork. We really couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay.
5 out of 5
by john from new york

Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
I rented two cottages for my wife and I, as well as our two adult children. We enjoyed the property with the multitude of birds and water fowl. Doug informed us of the best beaches and places to visit on the island, and Gabriella was very helpful and hospitable with all of our personal needs. She even gave my wife some after sun lotion to use after a full day at the beach. The kitchen and barbecue enabled us to prepare some meals right at our cottages. If you prefer to stay away from the all inclusive hotels, you will be very pleased at Yepton Estate Cottages.
5 out of 5
by Eve from Denver CO

Wonderful little cottage in quiet part of St. John

Posted Jun 27, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our 6-night stay at the Yepton Cottages. Gabriella and Douglas are terrific hosts. We were in Antigua in the offseason, which meant many stores/restaurants were closed but also meant the beaches were pleasantly deserted!! We felt we had some beaches all to ourselves. We snorkeled every day and visited St John only once, which was plenty. We were there for the beach. It was wonderful to have a full kitchen as we cooked breakfast and dinner every day in the cottage, which saved a lot of money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, UK

A beautiful place and a richly rewarding holiday

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Quiet location, comfortable cottage, lovely views and our hosts made this an idyllic setting for a richly rewarding holiday.
Cons: Nothing - just perfect as it is. Even the drought did not spoil our pleasure.
Location: Watch the wildlife by the lagoon, enjoy the beach, explore the history of the island, meet the people and see the sun go down.
Trust the very positive reviews. A welcoming phone call from Gabriela after we had booked assured us that we were in good hands. She and Douglas are delightful hosts, well-informed about the island and the people – whom we found good-natured and always helpful. On arrival we were presented with a complimentary bottle of wine, and taken to a well-stocked supermarket. Douglas, with map, directed us to good beaches and the many places to visit, including historic sites, beach bars and restaurants. A car is needed to explore, as well as to shop, but Yepton is well-placed, in a quiet area on the north-west coast, yet close to St John’s from which all roads across the island lead. It was also deeply rewarding just to be on the Yepton estate. Six comfortable cottages, with air-conditioned bedrooms, are well-equipped for self-catering and spaciously and attractively set out on the estate, adjacent to a small but welcome pool. Our cottage combined a spacious living room and kitchen. Always we ate outside on the veranda, attracting beautiful small birds and gorgeous green lizards to our table. It was enriching just to sit, relax, and take in the view. A few metres from the cottages across the lawn lies a lagoon, surrounded by shrubs, endlessly fascinating. The water is alive with brown pelicans, egrets, herons, terns and much else, with frigate birds overhead – and in the twilight small bats flit past. A ten-minute walk leads to a white-sand, blue-sea beach.