Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Cross, London

Personal service and well appointed accomodation

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Immaculate, sheets were high quality and we had a mid week change of linen and towels. Aircon/fans/ventilation was well designed. Solar powered too!
Cons: Would love to see recycling introduced in Antigua!
Location: Lovely view of lagoon - birdwatching. Two local beaches within 5 mins walk - turquoise waters and clean, white sand. 20 mins drive to capital.
Our hosts were professional, helpful and welcoming. We really appreciated their input as we were travelling with two small children. The chalet was excellent - beautiful view over the lagoon - it felt like a retreat. It was a self catering set up and the kitchen equipment was extensive and useful - shows that the owners really have taken a lot of thought over details. The local beach was a 5 minute walk and we went there on several occasions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Wonderful!

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Pros: Quiet. Relaxed. Reliable internet (I know, so sad!).
Cons: I can't think of a thing.
Location: It's a small island, so everything is close enough.
I completely agree with the other reviewers who have praised hosts/owners Gabriella and Doug: they are the best! Rather than repeating, I'll try to add points that I don't see covered elsewhere. The cottages are simple, functional, and well-designed. The kitchen was remarkably well equipped and cooking in it was a pleasure. We are not chefs, but preparing meals was enjoyable thanks to the organized and complete kitchen. The veranda was a perfect spot for breakfast and dinner. Massive cruise ships passed by on their way to port in the morning and again when they left in the evening. Their schedule is posted online and you could almost set your watch to the cruise ship crossings, which were impressive. Some nights we did need to use a bit of insect repellent to stay on the porch after dusk. We booked a circumnavigation of the island and were picked up and dropped off on the beach near the cottage. The catamaran came straight to the shoreline and dropped stairs so that we could board. On the first day we walked 40-minutes to Eden Beach--Antigua's only clothing optional beach--getting there via the service road behind the Hawksbill Resort. We had the pristine 1/2 mile beach entirely to ourselves most days. We decided to rent a car which made getting to the beach, and everything else, much easier. Driving on the left took a couple of hours to get used to, but having a car was definitely the right choice. We had a perfect 10-day vacation at Yepton!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex, England.

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Secluded and peaceful. Perfect for the relaxing break that we needed.
Cons: Nothing at all.
Location: Located in the Five Islands area of Antigua west of St John's. The cottages are overlooking a lagoon and 6 minutes walk from the nearest beach.
Tucked away in the Five Islands area of Antigua west of St John's. This delightful little group of cottages is situated on a lagoon just beyond the sea. the local beach is a six minute walk and very secluded. The gardens around the cottages are well kept and good for the local wildlife (birds, butterflies, lizards). The cottages are very well fitted out with all creature comforts (comfy bed and sofa) and plenty of cooking utensils (pots, pans, crockery etc). Lovely balcony with hammock and table and chairs where one can sit and relax. Nice small swimming pool surrounded by sun loungers just right for cooling off in. Gabriela and Douglas are excellent hosts, helpful and very knowledgeable. On arrival we were welcomed with a cold drink and shown around our cottage. Then Gabriela took us to the nearest large supermarket to buy provisions for our stay. Next day Douglas sat down with us and showed us all the places of interest on the island map (including for us where to do some bird-watching). They arranged our car hire and the rep came to our cottage to do the paperwork. We really couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by john from new york

Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
I rented two cottages for my wife and I, as well as our two adult children. We enjoyed the property with the multitude of birds and water fowl. Doug informed us of the best beaches and places to visit on the island, and Gabriella was very helpful and hospitable with all of our personal needs. She even gave my wife some after sun lotion to use after a full day at the beach. The kitchen and barbecue enabled us to prepare some meals right at our cottages. If you prefer to stay away from the all inclusive hotels, you will be very pleased at Yepton Estate Cottages.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eve from Denver CO

Wonderful little cottage in quiet part of St. John

Posted Jun 27, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our 6-night stay at the Yepton Cottages. Gabriella and Douglas are terrific hosts. We were in Antigua in the offseason, which meant many stores/restaurants were closed but also meant the beaches were pleasantly deserted!! We felt we had some beaches all to ourselves. We snorkeled every day and visited St John only once, which was plenty. We were there for the beach. It was wonderful to have a full kitchen as we cooked breakfast and dinner every day in the cottage, which saved a lot of money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, UK

A beautiful place and a richly rewarding holiday

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Quiet location, comfortable cottage, lovely views and our hosts made this an idyllic setting for a richly rewarding holiday.
Cons: Nothing - just perfect as it is. Even the drought did not spoil our pleasure.
Location: Watch the wildlife by the lagoon, enjoy the beach, explore the history of the island, meet the people and see the sun go down.
Trust the very positive reviews. A welcoming phone call from Gabriela after we had booked assured us that we were in good hands. She and Douglas are delightful hosts, well-informed about the island and the people – whom we found good-natured and always helpful. On arrival we were presented with a complimentary bottle of wine, and taken to a well-stocked supermarket. Douglas, with map, directed us to good beaches and the many places to visit, including historic sites, beach bars and restaurants. A car is needed to explore, as well as to shop, but Yepton is well-placed, in a quiet area on the north-west coast, yet close to St John’s from which all roads across the island lead. It was also deeply rewarding just to be on the Yepton estate. Six comfortable cottages, with air-conditioned bedrooms, are well-equipped for self-catering and spaciously and attractively set out on the estate, adjacent to a small but welcome pool. Our cottage combined a spacious living room and kitchen. Always we ate outside on the veranda, attracting beautiful small birds and gorgeous green lizards to our table. It was enriching just to sit, relax, and take in the view. A few metres from the cottages across the lawn lies a lagoon, surrounded by shrubs, endlessly fascinating. The water is alive with brown pelicans, egrets, herons, terns and much else, with frigate birds overhead – and in the twilight small bats flit past. A ten-minute walk leads to a white-sand, blue-sea beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint Antiguan Cottages

Posted May 10, 2015
Nice, peaceful stay. Beautiful beach within 5 minute walk---pleasant pond on the property with a variety of bird visitors. Wonderful hosts (owners), who reside on the property. They took us to a supermarket our first day and had great recommendations for restaurants. Although the location was off the beaten track, you could participate in day excursions or get your own car and explore the island. There are a ton of beautiful beaches to explore. A real Antiguan experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Honeymoon in Paadise!!

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Peaceful location and perfect hosts.
Cons: Absolutely nothing
Location: Peaceful and romantic. Car hire is a must if you want to explore the island.
From the very moment we arrived Gabriela and Douglas made us both feel at home. Arranging car hire and giving advice on places to visit and eat etc their personal touch just added to our experience. Forget about all inclusive deals, this is the perfect place to relax and unwind in a truely romantic location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely setting and very quiet

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Setting
Cons: More air con in main room would be lovely
Location: Quiet but that was what we liked. Villas look across a saltwater lake with many wild birds.
The villas are lovely but did get very hot particularly at night. The owners Gabriel and Douglas are very helpful with ideas of where to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rainer from Sudbury, MA

Great hospitality and fun place to stay

Posted Apr 16, 2015 on Hotels
We spent a week on Antigua and very much enjoyed our stay at Yepton Estate Cottages. We can definitely recommend it, unless you're looking for a big resort experience with beach bars etc. Douglas and Gabi were excellent hosts and always available for help, starting with a grocery shopping trip on the day of arrival and an in-depth explanation of the island's attractions, all the way to help with reservations for rental cars and boat cruises. The kitchen was exquisitely equipped, which came in handy because we used the grill on the porch quite a bit. Cottage included sitting area with a comfortable couch, TV, stereo, a separate bedroom with AC, a breakfast area, wifi, patio chairs and cable, and a hammock. No problems at all with the solar driven water heating system, we had hot water at any time of the day. Obviously, this is not a five star hotel but the cottages are all well kept up. There is a small pool on the grounds, not big enough to swim in. Be aware that the cottages are not on the beach but overlook a large saltwater pond, which is a big attraction for many different kinds of birds. If you want to go to the beach, it's an easy, less than five minute walk to the adjacent Coconut Beach resort. Plus, you can walk for 15 minutes or drive down quickly to Deep Bay beach next door, which turned out to be one of the nicest beaches we saw. The prevalent winds can be strong. Made it a bit harder to use the grill, but hey,they keep the mosquitoes away!