Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice, well maintained hotel. Cozy, and neat.

Posted Jan 4, 2016
The customer service is excellent, the place is beautiful, quiet, very well maintained. It has a great location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Anonymous

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels
The negative part of our stay had to do with inadequate commuications between Hotel.com & the hotel on paymemt. We had pre-paid but when we checked in, the hotel owner said we hadn't & was asking for a 2nd payment. After ceding on that point, we had another problem the next AM around the question of whether b'fast was included in our rate. Our on-line reservation said yes but the owner said no. She never ceded on that point, but allowed us to check out even though, according to her, we still owed her for the b'fasts that we had already been served. These discrepancies around the terms & conditions of our on-line reservation took the pleasure out of what otherwise would have been a really plesant stay.
3 out of 5
by Thomas from Atlanta

Passing through Antigua

Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels
This is a beautiful hotel. The staff was friendly but not overly accommodating. When we saw that the room we were given had a dehumidifier running in it, we were concerned about the musty smell (even after the machine was removed). The staff was not overly accommodating. We finally did get another room but were made to feel like we had the problem and not them. The neighborhood is off the beaten path in Antigua. The breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heather from Guatemala City, Guatemala

Lovely quiet B&B

Posted Apr 21, 2014
I stayed at Casa Madeleine during the Semana Santa weekend. It is a lovely small and quiet B&B with beautiful gardens and a perfect view of Agua. The staff were lovely and gracious. They spoke English extremely well. The morning breakfast was very good and was included in the price of the room. I stayed in the Green Room and while small it had a desk and extremely comfortable bed. Due to the fact that they only serve breakfast I was able to order in for my evening meal. The only negative was it was quite a walk from the Central Park but I got my exercise. I thoroughly enjoyed my 90 full body massage.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Quiet Relaxing Place Very Helpful Staff

Posted Jul 27, 2013 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at Casa Madelaine but we must admit that since it is a location for its mission owners there were constantly large groups of people there and the noise level was disruptive. However, we must say that the staff was so helpful in so many ways that it made up for the noise interference. The location is far from the city centre and walking on narrow sidewalks and cobblestone streets was difficult. The breakfasts were delicious and promptly served. The security was excellent. Thank you for a fine stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the romantic place we thought it was

Posted Mar 4, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel is right next to a busy road, so you hear trucks and motorcycles constantly. There is a lot of soot from the chicken buses, and our lungs still have not recovered weeks after coming home. The hotel has a hot tub, but they don't have it ready to go, you have to wait many hours to heat up. Typical breakfast had beans that were liquified, watered down and poured on the plate. Too many disappointments to list.
5 out of 5
by Joan

GREAT HOTEL

Posted Feb 4, 2013 on Hotels
I would definitely go back again! It exceeded my expectations! It was spotlessly clean and the service was exceptional.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The website photos don't do it justice

Posted Dec 31, 2012 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time. The hotel is extremely beautiful and very peaceful. There are a couple of photos on their website, but they don't capture how beautiful it truly is. The staff was very accomodating. We hope to come back and bring friends in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from Australia

Good place to stay

Posted Nov 12, 2012
Pros: Ambience
Location: Not quite nr centre of town but walkable
Very pleasant - thoughtful staff Reception staff speak English Helpful with transportation to other places Breakfast ok
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lindsay from Nashville, TN, USA

Amazing experience

Posted Oct 26, 2012
Pros: the view!
Cons: the street is a bit noisy, but anywhere you stay in Antigua is the same.
Location: lovely landscaping, lush flora
Our stay at Casa Madeleine was a wonderful experience. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are cozy and well kept, and the staff was very helpful and welcoming. We stayed for several days and had a great time. The view from outside the room was stunning. The ladies at the front desk always had a smile and helped out with anything we needed. I would definitely stay here again!