Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Hidden gem in Antigua

Posted May 23, 2017
Beautiful hotel, amazing food and drinks in the heart of colonial Antigua. Walking distance to major points of interest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Beautiful Central American hotel that captures the essence of Antigua Guatemala. Very romantic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymus, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on your recent experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back soon! Best Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Excellent hotel a short walk from city center

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: The main floor area with its construction simulating an old convent; its vegetation; its comfortable chairs, and dining area is like an exclusive club
Cons: Our room on the second floor consisting of all walls and no windows except in the ceiling was somewhat claustrophobic.
Location: The hotel is across the street from one of the important ruins of Antigua, the Convent of las Capuchinas. It is several blocks from most activities.
A premium hotel, one of the most expensive in Antigua. The staff handles everything in a first class way. The staff is there when you need assistance but otherwise respects your privacy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, Thank you for taking the time to write a comment of your recent stay. We feel delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities and atmosphere and we apologize for any inconveniences caused, if you have had any concerns of your room, please feel free to ask a change a the front desk. We also feel proud you could sense our boutique experience in our service and really hope you come back soon. Best Regards
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Total Antigua Experience

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing colonial restoration and a very comfortable hotel. Wonderful service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017
Dear Andrew, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the boutique experience & service. We hope you come back soon! Best Regards
5 out of 5
by Bowen

Perfect spot in Antigua

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
We booked the Capitains suite and having a private outdoor hottub to soak in after a long day of hiking or walking around Antigua was amazing. The meals at the onsite restaraunt were amazing. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Nicest hotel we ever stayed at.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017
Dear Bowen, it's awesome you had a great boutique experience at Convento Boutique Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. Also, we feel proud you received a great service from our staff and we will make this congratulation extensive to them. Best Regards, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville

Amazing Colonial Hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: The look and feel of the colonial architecture throughout
Cons: Better lighting in the private patio, and perhaps a firepit for an extended outdoor experience.
Location: The location was perfect, within walking distance of everything, shops, local market, and a plethora of restaurants. Yet, located in quiet street.
After my visit I confirmed every single review about this hotel and its staff. Friendly and helpful staff, super comfortable and high end accommodations. The layout of the suit I stayed in was very cozy and had all amenities that made my stay very pleasant. The fireplace was perfect for the December days of cool weather, the private patio is tastefully decorated and glaringly accented with the water fountain, that the overall look and feel of staying at a convent is very real and exquisite. When I visit Antigua Guatemala again, I will most definitely stay at this hotel, as it exceeds my expectations of a boutique hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear MackZ, thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay, we feel so honored and proud you enjoyed your overall stay, and thank you for bringing the lightening details to our attention,we will considerate them to give you a better experience on your next visit. As a small luxury hotel of the world we truly have an extra thoughtful care of all our guests and we feel so happy you could live the experience. We will be waiting for you next time you come to Antigua Guatemala!
5 out of 5
by Jeancarlo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Thanksgiving in Guatemala

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Rustic decor, courtyards, pool, candles, charm
Cons: The special menu in the restaurant Thanks giving night was fantastic, but other than that, I thought the food was bland and uninteresting
Location: The old buildings, architecture, jade stores, street sellers were all so interesting to visit. Easy day trips. Central location
This was our best Thanksgiving ever and definitely the most memorable. We had dinner in the restaurant of the hotel which borders and interior courtyard with a fountain. The hotel is built on a series of courtyards, some have fountains, another a pool sitting underneath a stone wall fountain. The courtyards are green and cool and enchanting. This must have been an old convent (hence the name) and once inside you have the sense of comfort, romance and magic. We went with our three teenage boys. We splurged and got separate rooms. Very nice. Our room had a private terrace which was walled in with a private jacuzzi and wall fountain. sitting in the hot tub with my husband at the patio table, totally private, was so relaxing. The bathroom was huge. The decoration is definitely rustic. If you want sleek and modern or sweeping views, this is not the hotel. If you want intimate, charming and luxurious, this hotel more than fills the bill. I think this is one of my favorite hotels ever and I've been all over the world. Great location. about 3 blocks from the center plaza/park. Everything is in walking distance. Great vacation with teens. We climbed a volcano and went to the lake. DONT rent a car. So easy to get lost and road not so safe. It is very easy to get transfers from the airport and tours to the main spots.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear spaintraveler, we truly got excited and honored just reading your review. How awesome trip you had! Antigua Guatemala is rich in a lot of aspects such as the views, food, culture and history, we feel proud you could be one on one with this experience. Also, we feel very happy you enjoyed your overall stay, the Convento atmosphere and boutique experience, its overwhelming beauty in every detail, being part of Small Luxury Hotels of the World adds to it the extra thoughtful care we have for our guests. Please, come back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Amazing Hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Probably one of my favorite hotels on earth. Beautiful inside.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, We feel truly honored for your comment, thank you so much! And, thank you for your preference. We hope you come back soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Wifi was not that good. But We were there on vacation
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017
Dear Elisa, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We apologize for the WIFi inconveniences and hope you come back soon! Best Regards