Ratings based on 549 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2017
This hotel is very comfortable and has beautiful grounds. Part of the old hotel was a convent during Spanish colonial rule in Guatemala and the restoration and maintenance of those structures is very interesting. In addition, our reservation through Expedia indicated a gala Christmas Eve dinner was included in our already very reasonable room cost cost for this hotel. When we inquired at check-in about this we were told that the dinner was incorrectly listed as included. We accepted this (since the price of the room was already heavily discounted) and went about our way. The hotel staff independently decided to honor the free dinner and notified us later that each of our booked rooms would include 2 free Christmas Eve dinners per room. This was a wonderful surprise and the meal was delicious. I vowed I would post this since it was a very generous gesture and we really appreciated it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alameda, CA

One of the most beautiful hotels in the world

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: the grounds, the museums inside the hotel, the Spa
Cons: Bathrooms could be updated.
Location: Close to the entrance in Antigua, walking distance to central square.
Extraordinary 5-star hotel. the rooms are new even though they are built around 400 year old ruins. The spa in particular is stunningly beautiful. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from guatemala

nice hotel to relax

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: everything
this hotel has everything you need to relax and have a pleasant stay in Antigua Guatemala. The hotel has a nice swimming pool, good food, small gym, sauna, museums to see nice areas to sit and relax. The new spa area is beautiful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel....20 years ago

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Cons: The rooms need a complete overhaul, extremely old, this is not what a 5star room looks like.
The hotel itself its beautiful, but the rooms are awful... We had to switch rooms because of the humidity... if you have allergies, probably the worst night of your vacation. Then they gave us another room, which was nice, but, to be honest WAY overrated for a 5-star hotel...the rooms in this hotel are very old (probably 20-25 years old)...i wouldn't recommend it, there are much nicer hotel rooms in Antigua for the same fee. This is not a 5 star hotel, bottom line.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from berkeley ca

Charge for water bottles!

Posted Dec 12, 2016
This five star hotel I had impressive art, beautiful rooms and was very comfortable. The irritating part is that they charge $2.50 for each water bottle you consume in the room. Since you can't drink the tap water, you are pretty much stuck. When I asked them they said they use the money to improve the road from Antigua to the airport. 100 rooms*2 bottles a day*365 days=$150,000 a year. Street should be paved in gold! They should be providing clean water to nearby communities! Also asked for quiet room so the staff chose the room on the cobblestone street where all the traffic flows. Complained and got another room. Guess the Expedia customers get the worst rooms?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Charming and historical but busy during the day.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Excellent and friendly staff. Historic character. Gardens.
Cons: Someone at entrance to greet guests and take one to reception which is miles away and not signposted. Free water al least on first might.
Location: Ideal. Within waking distance of everything.
This hotel has a lot of charm and character, it is well located, and rooms, while not luxurious and verging on the basic, are ok and fit all the bills (and all have log fires, which is wonderful) but it is busy because of all the events that seem to take place here all the time. Luckily the rooms are away from all that. Check in was chaotic and not friendly. Reception is miles away from the main entrance and there is no sign or anyone to take you there. Staff is extremely friendly. The Guatemalans in general are lovey people. We, being from London, cannot get over the fact that every single member of staff always greet us. A great place to stay. And all profits go in rapport of social projects. Restaurant is very very good but a bit pricey. What makes this place special is definitely its staff and the historic setting (build on the ruins of a massive convent).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exceptional Hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel built on a 16th century monastery, blocks away from Antigua's main plaza. The hotel retains much of the original architecture and charm, and the service is outstanding. Only negative comment is the wifi reception - the thickness of the walls limits signal in some areas. Would absolutely stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel and wonderful experience.

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful experience having and historical landmark inside the hotel. and such an amazing design.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Costa Rica

Very good hotel. The best in town

Posted Oct 20, 2016
The only complaint is bad internet. But in general is the best hotel in town. Amazing museums