Ratings based on 548 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Must see hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2017
This hotel is like staying at a palace. Everything from the ambience , the service , the amenities and the location is excellent. I will definitely visit again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room 174 awful

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Next to the entrance of Antigua Guatemala, room 174 is a nightmare. Able to hear every car that gets into Antigua. Bed are the most uncomfortable I have been on. Really dissapointed
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by IG, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for letting us know about your experience. We are deeply sorry to know we didn´t exceed your expectations this time but we hope you can give us a second chance to serve you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Drcatur, Georgia

Posted Feb 16, 2017
This hotel is a special place, I can't wait to stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by IG, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your opinion. We will love to have you here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Superb hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Totally recommend, beautiful old structure, lovely gardens, you most visit it
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by IG, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for letting us know about your opinion. Hope you can come back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Posted Feb 13, 2017
We stayed here 2 nights and the service was excellent. It is an beautiful little paradise inside of Antigua, Guatemala. We had accidentally reserved a room with 2 beds and the staff easily accommodated us into a 1 king size bedroom the day we arrived. The view from our room into the garden was spectacular. The museum is absolutely astonishing. Just strolling down from our room to exit the hotel each morning was mystical. The staff is friendly and their restaurant is amazing! A definite amazing experience and great pick!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by IG, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. Come back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A sanctuary in Antigua

Posted Feb 12, 2017
We spent 2 lovely days here. It is a very beautiful hotel with magical gardens. The pool area was stunning although a few more umbrellas would have been nice as it was very sunny. We made reservations for the Sunday brunch for 11am and asked if it was possible to have an early check in. We totally understand that if a hotel is full that an early check in isn't possible. On this visit the hotel was not full and it would have been really lovely to use the room after our brunch ( 1pm). The 3pm check in is not negotiable. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely love to stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by IG, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for letting us know about your experience during your last visit to CSD. Hope you can come back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quito - Ecuador

Excelent decoration and taste

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Wonderful facilities, good taste in its decoration. Staff is ready to assist you at any time. There is also additional facilities in the hill near by such as museum and canopy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Jan 9, 2017
A strategically located hotel near everything and with a very good architectural representation of Antigua. Food is great. Hotel room is comfortable- with a living room and a working chimney that was fully ready to be lit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Gold Plus member treated less than spectacularly

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Hotel is superb and I, without Expedia Gold + receive upgrades consistently due to my frequency in visiting this hotel. Upon my first Expedia Gold + visit, there was no recognition and no upgrades, despite 15 minutes checking into the hotel. There was very poor WiFi reception at the front desk and when the front desk asked to see my reservation via Expedia for the Gold + details, I could not connect. After checking in and getting a normal room, I went to the pool for WiFi and had the Gold + documents readily available, so I returned to the front desk to inquire about receiving the negotiated benefits between Expedia and this hotel. They had another 10 minute conversation back and forth about upgrades. This is NOT a busy time in Antigua, nor for the hotel, and there were not that many guests, therefore, as my travel experience to 59 countries would dictate, there are statistically rooms available of upgrade based on observation of guests meandering the hotel. Finally got a really stupendous room, and enjoyed the stay, even though there was NO late check-out given. As a Platinum member of airlines and another world luxury hotel chain, I have always, yes, always, received a late check-out, today... ZIP.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2017
This hotel is very comfortable and has beautiful grounds. Part of the old hotel was a convent during Spanish colonial rule in Guatemala and the restoration and maintenance of those structures is very interesting. In addition, our reservation through Expedia indicated a gala Christmas Eve dinner was included in our already very reasonable room cost cost for this hotel. When we inquired at check-in about this we were told that the dinner was incorrectly listed as included. We accepted this (since the price of the room was already heavily discounted) and went about our way. The hotel staff independently decided to honor the free dinner and notified us later that each of our booked rooms would include 2 free Christmas Eve dinners per room. This was a wonderful surprise and the meal was delicious. I vowed I would post this since it was a very generous gesture and we really appreciated it.