Ratings based on 574 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Check in and check out terribly slow, Hotel closes completely @ 10:00pm, wished we had been informed! Bed a little hard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Much noise. And the air condicioner does not work

Posted Apr 13, 2017
We stayed for two nights and could not sleep well. You can hear what people talked in the next room. The room was hot and not ventilated. Air conditioner was not working. Also they refused to give me a receipt ( legal tax document ) Not so happy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

the best hotel in Antigua Guatemala

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: it is build in ruins, has the very best chef in town, the best spa in town
Cons: air conditioner, during hot weather even in Antigua is not tha hot, it will be much appreciated.
Location: it is at the very entrance, and is walking distance from central park and all the best places in Antigua
the hotel is great, the best location, the best facilities, great spa, the best of the Country
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best atmosphere in Antigua

Posted Apr 3, 2017
The grounds of this hotel are like no other. I've always wanted to stay here and finally had the opportunity. Every detail contributes to a unique experience. Plus, the hotel room is comfortable too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

The best hotel in Antigua?

Posted Mar 31, 2017
The manager forced me to leave an open voucher for $100. That's iligal, specially cause he had a copy of my American Express card which has a unlimited credit line. That was the only inconvenience at this hotel but other than that was really good specially the staff, they were so professional and cooperative. On my last dinner I had a creamy dish and it upseted my stomach really bad, so no creamy dishes here since they probably don't have the same Stards as we do in the US.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Evanston, IL

Amazing hotel with one exception

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Surroundings, unique setting.
Cons: Street noise.
The hotel is one of the most unique places my family and i have ever stayed. We were blown away by the ruins, gardens, museums and rooms. It is truly a unique experience to stay at the hotel. My only complaint and it is a big one is that the room we stayed in was against the outer wall of the hotel by the street and the cruising cars with blaring music, yelling passersby etc. made it impossible to get any sleep. This went on until after 3 AM in the morning and we had an early wake up call to catch our flight. If you book this hotel, request a room that is not on the street side of the building. My daughters were across the hall and did not hear anything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Pool

Posted Mar 15, 2017
We were unable get drinks at the pool and they would only serve French fries and chips for food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honduras

Excellent, quiet to have rest

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Very quite.
Cons: Everything is ok
Location: Excellente location, place, and we enjoy Antigua, its history, restaurants etc
During my stay, I have relaxed, from the noises, of the city. the place is excellent to relax and have time to read and enjoy the nature.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude staff

Posted Mar 5, 2017
we ask very basic questions and the attendant was quite rude. She acted as if we should know the answers. Two of the rooms were falsely advertised on Expedia to have a room with two double beds connected to a room with a king size bed and this was certainly not the case . We booked two rooms. Additionally, when we ask for extra coffee in the morning they actually sent room service and charge us and we did not ask for the room service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny ny

Luxurious hotel at a reasonable price

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Staff, location,pool,breakfast, suite
Cons: Hangers in room were a constant annoyance- they have the security hangers ( really who would steal hangers from them anyway) that constantly fell down
Location: Great steakhouse Ni fu ni fa 2 blocks away. Cafe no se has good bar scene.
This is my third time staying at Santo Domingo and needless to say we love it! It is a full service hotel within a centuries old monastery. The location is central to many excellent restaurants, an excellent tour company and has much to do within the hotel complex itself to keep you busy.