Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Food plentiful but more canteen than buffet, Room

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Nelsons dockyard a must to visit
Food plentiful but more canteen than buffet. Room floor washed daily but never seemed clean. Reception staff excellent and accommodating with late check out. Buffet staff just OK. Excellent beach-sea view
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great Hotel Has an Ocean side and Beach side

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Loved the fact that you had options to go to the beach side or bay side.
Cons: I wish there were a couple of more restaurants in the all inclusive to chose from. Music by the main pool area would be nice (only morning aerobics).
Location: Since we went during nonpeak most thing were closed. Would like to come back during peak season.
It was my fiancé and I first time in Antigua. We absolutely loved the resort. We stayed in a beachfront room, which had a spectacular view. It was perfect since we both love the beach. Although the ocean side has very big jelly fish, so we were concerned about going in the water. Since it was so nice and breezy we stayed a couple of hours each day then went to the Bay side, which we enjoyed very much, no jelly fish! The resort had a very relaxing atmosphere, which is what we needed. We would like to come back during peak season (we went the end of Sept 2016) so that we can enjoy the night life more and explore the island (most things were closed). All the restaurants had good food (not excellent) but the ambiance and wait staff made up for it. We also made use of the gym, which had lots of equipment. My only suggestion to St. James is too pipe in more music in the main pool area (maybe add a couple of surrounding speakers) to give everyone that island vacation feel. Music was played very loudly in the morning for the pool aerobics class then for the rest of the day it was played only by the bar, very softly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

A wonderful resort to be at.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Friendly atmosphere
Cons: Nothing that I can think off.
From the catering staff, reception, activities, room service, maintenance and porters, this hotel has it right. A great friendly service from those who care. When you hear the words "You're welcome" you know they mean it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

September Vacation

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Comfortable, close to all restaurants, beach & bay. Loved the rafts in the bay!
Cons: A bit outdated, but comfortable. WIFI should be included in the overall charge as it was sometimes inconvenient to go to the lobby
Location: A bit far if you want to go to St Johns. Sunday night at Shirley Heights is highly recommended.
Very relaxing, quiet resort. Weather was beautiful with the exception of one rainy day. Hotel is at least a 30 minute drive from any other activities, with the exception of Shirley Heights, which I highly recommend for the Sunday night music & BBQ. Not much nightlife, if that is what you are looking for. The bars & music were fine for us as the beach was our goal!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N.J.

Nice hotel, has 2 beaches, beautiful gardens

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Room, food, gardens, people, excursions.
Cons: Entertainment
Location: Good location, the hotel has 2 beaches.
Excellent food, very nice people, good excursions, only entertainment was poor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF, Cal

Family Vacation

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Warm, attentive staff. A lot of fun daytime activities and many wonderful evening events. The all inclusive package is worthwhile.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from rochester, MN

Nice resort, 2 very different beaches

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Orbitz
Nice spacious rooms, all the amenities, comfortable bed and pillows. Beaches are cleaned several times daily, one beach is breezy and cooler and quiet, the other is more busy, no breeze with all the water and land sports. Both beaches have easy access to a bar and a golf cart comes around with drinks. There are 2 all access pools, one kids pool, one adult pool and 2 pools with restricted access to time share or elite members. Main and largest pool has easiest access to a bar but not swim up. Food is good but will not blow your mind, though plenty of variety to not get bored if you're into trying new things. I recommend paying the extra money to go to Picolo Mundo restaurant, very good. Also recommend excursions like Stingray City and Jolly Harbor beaches. My only regret was not taking boat excursion to Barbuda for the pink sand beach
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sow

It was wonderful

Posted Jul 11, 2016
I'm planing on going again and this will be my third time that's how much I loved it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Orbitz
Dinner food was ok. Not that many selections and it was just ok. Cocos for lunch was best.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything was perfect.

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Staff was great. Food was great. Beaches were clean. Plenty of chairs and accommodations.
Cons: Night life needs a little more.
Location: excursions were great.Beaches were awesome. Drinks flowed all day!
everything was perfect. Only thing the night life needs a little more.