Ratings based on 249 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

SUNRISE ON THE BEACH

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: ALL INCLUSIVE.MANY PLACES TO SIT AND RELAX AND ENJOY THE VIEWS. EVERYTHING WAS TAKEN CARE OF. BEAUTIFUL BLUE CLEAR WATER.
Cons: EVENTS & ACTIVITIES WERE POSTED ON A SOMEWHAT HIDDEN BULLETIN BOARD- I THINK THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN MORE ATTENDANCE IF LARGER SIGNS WERE POSTE.
Location: A PENINSULA -BEAUTIFUL PROPERTY IN A SECLUDED LOCATON. TAXI NEEDED TO GET TO ANY OFF SITE LOCATION. NEAR HISTORIC NELSONS DOCKYARD AND SHIRLEY'S HEIGH
OUR ROOM WAS ON THE GROUND FLOOR ON THE ATLANTIC SIDE, WHAT A TREAT TO BE ABLE TO WALK OUT EVERY MORNING ON TO THE BEACH TO WATCH THE SUNRISE. IT WAS VERY WINDY ON THIS SIDE OF THE PROPERTY BUT WE COULD ALWAYS WALK ACROSS TO MAMORA BAY FOR SOME WARMTH. WATER SPORTS WERE AVAILABLE THERE, BEACH BAR, RESTAURANT. WE ENJOYED THE ALL INCLUSIVE FOOD AND DRINKS.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington, NY

Beautiful resort

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Beautiful resort on Manora Bay. Expansive beaches on both the bay and the ocean. Preferred the ocean for the steady cool breeze - the bay can be very still and hot. 82 degrees every day. Nice choice of restaurants both buffet and sit-down. Docksiders has great themed buffets every night with great views of the bay and marina. Very relaxing stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Beach front view

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Ease of access around campus
Cons: have a standard bar package so that you don't have to go hunting from bar to bar to see if they are able to make your drink.
Location: With the walking group we traveled down the road a bit. We did to Shirley heights on Sunday afternoon/evening for the sunset. Very crowded.
about a 40 minutes ride from the airport. check in and out were easy. Since there were six of us we secured transportation from West Indian International tours for a very reasonable price. Natasha was a great contact in Antigua as we had a flight delay and were able to change our arrival and confirm transportation. They were waiting for us at the later hour. Front desk staff and Guest services - Brandon were great to get info from. Restaurant food was good. Activity staff were available and encouraged participation. 7:15a walking group was fun. Fitness center had a variety of equipment. Tennis was HOT, do it early in the day. Ocean side much windier than bay side. Water beautiful. Alfred who drove the beach bar dune buggy was always pleasant. No need to mark out chair, etc early in the morning as it always seemed there were enough chairs and towels. I tried paddle boarding and that was fun. The book library was great, if you forgot a book, borrow one and return it for someone else to read or if you brought a book leave it there for someone else. Dockside had nightly entertainment till 10:00p, a variety of music by totally awesome musicians. Andra in the late night lounge/club is the one to see for a great drink and good conversation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Beautiful, relaxing hotel. Would return!

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Pretty much everything. Sometimes things move slower than US hotels, but we really enjoyed our stay. We needed a lot of R&R and this hotel delivered!
Cons: I wish the pools were open later. They close at 6. NIght life could be a bit better--after 10 all you can do is the nightclub. Beds were ok at best.
Location: Visit Shirley Heights-go Sunday nights, Stringrays, Caribbean beaches on West Coast, and take an Island Tour with TourGuideGordon, ask for Jerome!
The St. James's club exceeded our expectations. I went with my wife and daughter (20). We were a little below the average there, but there were people of all ages. I think more British than American, but hard to tell. Staff was friendly. Pros: Great beaches (Atlantic side and Bay side). Current at the bay almost nothing, current at the Atlantic beach not much stronger. In our week there, swimming was always easy. The Atlantic side can get a little seaweedy (from the plants in the water about 10 feet in). We saw some fish by the rock wall near the Hibiscus hotel. Water activities were great. We did paddle boarding so many times and took a few sailing lessons. Roxanne took us on multiple sailing lessons and really tried her best (we are not that good!). The rest of the water sports staff really friendly too. The biggest pro was no beach was every too crowded. At times, we had the Atlantic beach almost to ourselves. They have 4 really nice tennis courts, that we never had to wait for. The tennis pro Bennett was great, super friendly too. Dining: Food was always good. This is not a huge hotel, but it's not small either. There are 4-5 restaurants, with a snack bar by the bay. Most nights we did the dinner buffet at Docksider and breakfast at the Rainbow Garden. We always found plenty of choices we liked. For lunch we really enjoyed the Fusion Grill below CoCo's. Sometimes, we noticed some food choices at were a bit on the salty side. Nothing new for all-inclusives.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Love the hotel and the room. The room was great and a beautiful view. Will definitely stay there again!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was friendly ,very relaxing resort

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Very relaxing resort food was excellent . Enjoyed our 5 day stay can't wait to return
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Needs new life

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Hotel has been around for some 50 years and it shows. Owners putting their money into other properties rather than cleaning up this one!! Food was absolutely inedible. No reason to do all inclusive as we went out for fabulous dinners 3 nights Staff was very courteous and friendly but could only do so much. Go elsewhere!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

We really loved it. The room was basic but nice.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: There was lots to do and the people were great.
Cons: Secure the rope railing by the Docksider Restaurant.
Location: We mostly stayed there after I fractured my rib.
We really enjoyed the place. Not really a place for single women, though! It really was all couples or families. There was a railing made of loose rope that I tried to use and it gave way and I fell and cracked my ribs, so that wasn't fun. But we loved having both a calm beach and a windy beach. Great sports club for exercising.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We had an absolute wonderful time.

Posted Feb 10, 2017
The staff was amazing. The grounds were kept very clean and the rooms were very nice. The comfort of the bed and pillows were the best in all the places I have ever stayed. Will go back...Excellent place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Nice hotel and great staff.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
This was my first all inclusive. The food was good. Lots of choices for drinks. The beaches are kept clean and the water sports are awesome. The water sports staff are a lot of fun and will join in the games. I would return to this resort in a second.