Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Worse place I've ever stayed

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: The only thing it had going for it was that it was next to the train. There is nothing to do in this town.
I made reservations through Expedia well in advance. When we checked in, we were told there were no reservations. We were told there were no rooms available. After getting a little upset, there was magically a room available on the 2nd floor. The staff was scarey, the rooms were incredibly old. The grounds were not kept up. It would be well worth the effort to stay in Alamosa and travel to the train in the morning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheaper than Alameda.But not by much.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Chose this hotel due to crazy prices in Alameda. Was treated rudely at check in because I booked on line. Room was outdated. Large non working TV hung over access to bed. Bathroom was crusty around floor edges. Dead bolt on entrance door didn't connect to hasp.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norman, OK

Beware of Manager

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: It was next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad.
Cons: The manager's attitude and the treatment of guests with service animals.
Location: It is located next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad.
We checked in to what appeared to be a nice hotel. The next morning, the Manager gave my husband grief for walking my service dog. He claimed that we had to declare him as a pet and pay the pet fee which is against the law. When reviewed on their Facebook page, the manager became belligerent and called me names, even using the F-word publicly, then deleted the remarks. We couldn't locate the owner who resides somewhere in New York. While this hotel is next to the Railroad, take the time to choose a different one. This hotel is not friendly to service dogs, the disabled, or the law.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, FL

Convenient to the Rail Road.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Proximity to the Rail Road
Cons: Breakfast.
I had booked passage on the historic Compres and Toltec Rail Road and wanted a room that was reasonably close by. I couldn't have made a better choice. The motel is no more than a couple of hundreds yards from the train. My room, while certainly not luxurious, was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a bit of a downer, but there are two restaurants in town that serve a perfectly good breakfast, lunch and dinner. And the price was quite reasonable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Living in the 80's

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Grungy little town with little to do and an unfriendly atmosphere.
First off we were informed that the room we reserved, a smoking room, was not available despite having a confirmation. The whole place seems rundown, poorly maintained and poorly lit. This whole town which relies on tourist for much of their livelihood is generally ill prepared and unfriendly towards them. The TV in our room was one like I had in my bedroom as a teenager and I'm now a Senior Citizen. This was the first stop of a long vacation trek and things did not get off to a good start. Couldn't wait to pack up and leave.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older hotel in need of a face lift.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Convenient to Cumbres and Toltec Railroad
Cons: Hotel is in need of a facelift.
Location: Antonito is a very small town you will need to drive 30+ miles to find anything to do.
Booked this hotel for ease of access to Cumbres & Toltec Railroad we had reserved seats on. Had originally booked 2 nights and changed to 1 as the room was very disappointing. General condition of the room - no outlets in bathroom, curtains on the window were torn and wouldn't close, wall of the room were dirty, air conditioner noisy and didn't cool the room, bed was uncomfortable. Staff was friendly but no where to be found (they lived on premise).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Parker, CO.

Sorry I bothered you!

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Everything, especially the ownership.
Location: Antonito is a small community of about 1200 people. Seemed friendly, other than at the Narrow Gauge Railroad Hotel. Nothing to do. At all!
No one at front desk, slow answering call bell. Used toilet on entering room and it overflowed. Moved to another room. Same problem. Went to desk to ask for refund and was accused of "breaking the toilets". Refund refused. Argument ensued, police called. Hotel Hell suggested as new name.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Out dated rooms, breakfast was disappointing.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Called to confirm handicap room and staff was not friendly. Out dated room, no curtains just blinds, room was small. Was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Good motel, convenient for historic rail journey

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Convenient for historic rail trip.
Location: Town is small, but has food and gas.
Motel is located on outskirts of town, very close to the historic rail depot. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms basic and clean. Free wifi available. Light breakfast provided.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Closest lodging to the railroad.

Posted Oct 8, 2015
To get any closer to the Cumbres & Toltec Scenic Railroad you would have to stay on the train. The restaurant next to the motel serves excellent food. The motel itself while adequate lower budget digs does need a facelift.