Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from france

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Staff were not very attentive and restaurant was overpriced for the food on offer - saying that it was peak season - shame because it is in a beautiful setting - tired is how I would describe the hotel and the staff - shame because with a bit more effort it has massive potential
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location, but.......

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: The riverside location is beautiful and the building itself looks very grand.
Cons: The whole lot!
Location: Periguex y town with lots of good eating, shopping and history.
This place makes Fawlty Towers look good. Shabby rooms, geese poo everywhere outside, very poor quality dinner for 21EUR, dusty tea bags at breakfast, frozen pastries for breakfast, the mozzies because you need the window open for air. This place has so much potential. Why were there only 3 rooms occupied? All of the above is why. Dear Owner, spend lots of money and do this place up. The location is fabulous and it could be perfect for large groups. I would recommend that Expedia remove it from the books.
3 out of 5
by David from Germany

Quiet place and enjoyable

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was great. While the place is dated, it is clean and comfortable. Away from the city life, but close enough to enjoy it. Perfect relaxing trip. Front desk was very helpful and assisted in getting us accommodations when weather caused us to depart the hotel early.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Kuala Lumpur

Choose a good room

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
We were given a room as requested: Facing the river and away from the lift [because of the noise]. As a result, we had a great stay! This cheapest room and under the roof though, not good in the summer, but great for our travel in autumn.
4 out of 5
by Ashley from Phoenix, AZ

Nice Château

Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is out of town but it is a beautiful château. The outside and grounds are beautiful as there are willow trees to sit under, a slow flowing river, a path to walk on and ivy growing on the building.The room was a bit run down and there were a few bugs on the ceiling due to it being summer and the windows were open. The bathroom was fine, a bit outdated but its an old building. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't have the breakfast so I can't comment on that. For the price we thought it was a great place to stay.
1 out of 5
by Martyn from Barnard Castle

Vicious goose and very tired hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is set in a lovely location by a river. The hotel and rooms are very tired and run down. Breakfast was not worth 10 euros, a small croissant, Apple and coffee. Cereal was available but only with nesquick milk that is sweet, not good for my diabetes. Be aware they have a vicious pet goose and as we were the only guests the goose would come running at us with wings outstretched and hissing in attack mode. When my wife went to the car it attacked her and bit her drawing blood, when we informed and showed the bite to Justine (receptionist ) she was mortified and supplied ice to reduce the swelling and bruising, when we checked out the next day, as we were not prepared to stay on any longer and run the gauntlet every time we stepped outside, we told the director, whose goose it was, and we were just met with a gaelic shrug. I would not stay in this hotel again or recommend it to any of our friends.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frinton, Essex UK

Large Country House on River Dordogne

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The lift went to the lower ground floor which saves carrying cases up steps to Reception. Restaurant is good. Very pleasant/ friendly staff
Cons: Hotel needs a refurb. with sound proofing(aircraft) and air con. and plumbing.
Location: Brilliant location alongside River Dordogne, opportunity for many walks - lots of wildlife.
We were pleased to be upgraded to a larger room by a very pleasant Receptionist. The room was comfortable but lacked air conditioning or even a fan and being a very warm night we left the balcony doors open which left us victim to aircraft noise from the local airfield until midnight.
4 out of 5
by Trevor R from Notts UK

OK Accommodation

Posted Dec 21, 2013 on Hotels
Nice big rooms, a bit dated, no tea/coffee making facilities but wonderful friendly service, food good. Breakfast very good - sep cost for this
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kit from uk

Pleasant hotel-great short break

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Exceptionally helpful hotel staff made this a really nice short break. The hotel is basic but set in lovely grounds close to the river. It's easy to find on the main perigeux road - which is important if arriving in the dark. I'll use the hotel again - though I will request a fan in my room. Well recommended.
3 out of 5
by Rob from Brooklyn, NY, USA

Beautiful spot

Posted Aug 4, 2013 on Hotels
We just stayed one night, got in very late and was welcomed by a friendly man at the front desk. A gorgeous location by a river. The only downside for us was there no air-conditioning and if we opened the windows, bugs got it...no screens.) So sleeping was not ideal that balmy night.