Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Has it all!

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect spot, really nice guys to deal with. Would go back again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Huge, clean, and in the heart of the city!

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Michael and the CoCo-Mat supplied us with the best hotel experience we've had in 8 yrs living in Europe! We got the large room with 2 king beds, and could not be happier with it. A very short walk from the train station and situated in the heart of restaurants and shopping in the newer section of Antwerp. The zoo is a 2 minute walk away! Old-town Antwerp is a 20 min walk, through the large shopping plaza area, surrounded by beautiful architecture. Movie theater next door! The room was huge! Two good size bedrooms with extremely comfortable beds (also sold on the ground floor, which doubles as the lobby and a bed shop), a full bathroom, and a half bath with toilet and sink were all clean/comfortable/tastefully decorated. The icing on this cake though, is the living room area, which is probably 4x the size of any hotel apartment we've stayed in. A full size couch with cable tv, lounging furniture, and a full size kitchen with oven and fridge, and a giant dining table with chairs! You literally could not ask for a better furnished room in Antwerp. The view was outstanding with the old Opera on one side, and the main walkplatz all around below, with picturesque buildings everywhere! The manager Michael, was extremely helpful and friendly, and really ensured our stay was perfect. He went above/beyond with excellent customer service. Thank you! We will definitely be back to the surprising city of Antwerp and definitely to the Coco-Mat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice apartment

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Location is convenient. Two bedrooms and a big sitting area provide comfort space for a family of four or five.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
The best place in antwerp
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

COCO MAT Family stay- REVIEW OCT 2016

Posted Oct 10, 2016
We wanted to share our thoughts on some Missing items at the coco mat. Cons: 1- 4 major lighting fixture NOT working: living room (2) / kitchen (1) / kids entryway (1)-its very dark and very unpleasant for family time since most of the day we are out exploring! 2- convection oven NOT operational. Cannot heat food. 3- missing basic microwave 4- kitchen faucet broken! 5- lighting circuit causes outage and lighting in main space to flickers- 4 major lighting fixture broken! 6- blind hanger broken in living room 7- No sun block shades. Light in morning is penetrating unit. Those issues should have been addressed as basic accommodation Items. Especially for the rate charged and being a 4 star accommodation establishment. We obviously communicated that to them and offered NO substantial remedy or monetary compensation. Friendly tip: get there before 6 PM because no one will be there to hand you the room keys. We had to re-book a hotel across the street since NO ONE was there to accommodate us on a cold windy night. (We had to pay an extra 200 euro for the other hotel) Pros: very friendly staff.excellent location. parking: public parking close by 18 Euro / Day. general impression: avoid if possible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United States

Large, comfortable, modern apartment

Posted Sep 17, 2016
The Co-Co Mat is centrally located, tastefully furnished and very comfortable. The only downside is we were there during an unusually warm stretch of weather and no air conditioning. We opened windows to sleep (several floors up) but the street noise made it difficult.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Doors closed, did not respond to calls, emails

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Informed late check-in for 12:30 am and got there 35 min earlier but couldnt get into the place. Called their emergency number and the main line repeatedly for 5 times and also left 3 voice messages over an hour. Also sent an email (responded on a thread they initiated earlier that day re: check in time). Stranded in the town for 2 hrs with family (kids) looking for another hotel as I couldnt get hold of them and the doors were closed. I fell for the high rating of this place in Expedia and decided to give this place a try...lesson leamred and from now on, only reputable chain hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location and spacious accommodations

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: Location, spacious accommodation, friendly staff.
Cons: Perhaps consider adding a TV news channel in English.
This was a return stay in Antwerp in the same Coco-Mat apartment. Obviously, I liked it the first time. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
by Richard from La Côte d'Arbroz

Huge apartment. But not a hotel service experience

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
The Good: This is a huge duplex apartment. Two bedroom areas and a large lounge/dining/kitchen plus large terrace. Beds super comfy as it's actually owned by the specialist bedding shop which is on the ground floor. Well located 5 mins walk from the central station and main shopping area. The Bad: I stayed two nights but the room was not services which I found surprising at this price. Although enormous the apartment decor was a little tired and grubby. It was actually quite noisy from the outside. But this was worse for me as they resurfaced the road overnight on my first night. I slept in the back room which was better. Note that check-in is inconvenient compared to a 'regular' hotel as it closes at 6pm. There is a €30 charge if you need to check in later. This is because you are checked in at the shop below and no one there outside their regular hours. So don't expect any help from a receptionist or concierge. But then this is an apartment not a hotel room.