Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salisbury UK

Central hotel yet quiet location (in January)

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Decor, location, varied breakfast menu.
Cons: See above
Location: Central position meaning that all the central attractions of Antwerp and a major tram route, were within walking distance.
From the welcome to our departure the staff were unobtrusively helpful. Our only criticisms were that the walk in shower had no grab handles or non-slip mat. Near the drain the surface was very slippery and there was nothing to make it feel safe.( We are well balanced active adults) The provision of tea and coffee in the room was rather mean. Otherwise everything was fine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2016
The hotel was good. The staff were nice. We have a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Weekend Break in Antwerp

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The location is fantastic, set a short distance from the Grote Markt in a quiet side street. It is stylish and traditional at the same time.
Cons: kettle in room rather than modern coffee making machine.
Location: See above. Highlights were Rubens' House, Museum Mayer van den Burgh and Museum Plantin-Moretus.
I came with my wife for a weekend away from the UK having never been to Antwerp before. It's a great place to spend 2/3 days. Most places are walkable and its a lovely City in which to stroll and people watch. It's also packed with history, art and beautiful architecture and if you like eating out or hanging out in cafes and bars it has a tremendous choice. Overall a really interesting and charming City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Great location. Rooms are nice size with a very comfortable bed. parking is problematic so be sure to reserve parking with hotel before you arrive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Recommending Rubens

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Great location, historic character, garden, excellent breakfast; desk, tea/coffee facilities in room, good bed; and extremely nice helpful staff
Cons: The décor in my room and in the corridor was tired and dated, but a refurbishment is in progress; breakfast coffee machine rather temperamental
Location: Very central, near to metro, trams, the main squares and the many bars and restaurants around them. There also many museums nearby
I booked this hotel for a conference and then stayed on to see the city, staying a week in all. I particularly wanted a quiet location with a desk in the room, tea and coffee facilities and traditional décor; I was pleased with my room, which was on the third floor and overlooked the lovely courtyard garden, although the furniture and curtains were a bit dated, so cannot rate it more than a 4 now. However, a major refurbishment started during my stay so I'm sure things will improve, but hope the historic character will be maintained, as it has been in the foyer and breakfast room. The breakfast itself was excellent. All the staff were lovely and made me welcome throughout my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Vibrant City!

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Within easy walking distance to all the great bars. Antwerp is a very vibrant City with something always going on. Highly recommended. Hotel is under refurbishment but it didn't disturb us. Room was big and clean. A very comfortable bed. Good breakfast menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Good value for location

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: location
Location: 1 block from main square and shops
Short walk from underground tram made taking luggage to and from hotel convenient. Helpful staff and room cleanliness made our 1 night stay comfortable and enjoyable. Loved the very short walk to the main square - felt safe walking the area at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Outstanding hotel in the heart of Antwerp old town

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: All the facilities of a major hotel but with a friendly boutique hotel ambiance
Cons: Wouldn't change a thing
Location: The location is perfect - a quiet cobblestone street in the heart of the old city
Our stay at the Rubens was an unexpected treat. In a quiet back street just around the corner from the stunning cathedral, the Rubens has class with a friendly boutique feel. The staff were very helpful, including booking a restaurant with local character away from the tourist traps. The hotel exceeded expectations in every department and at a very reasonable price point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: great location.
Great hotel in Antwerp's old town area. A short walk to Grote Market, and walkable to the diamond district and other sites. The hotel was very nice with a room larger than expected. The staff were friendly. Great breakfast buffet in the morning. Recommend Hotel Rubens to visitors to Antwerp.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston, UK

Nice hotel, close to everything

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Pros: Close proximity to everything.
Cons: A price list for minibar drinks and snacks.
Hotel is literally a stones throw away from the tourist attractions. Very good sized comfortable room. Expedia booking says that room includes free drinks and snacks however this is not the case as the hotel have asked this to be stopped. Definitely recommend.