Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from neth

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: The staff are excellent, location easy to access , quiet hotel, high privacy , good room size and also the bathroom , Good restaurant inside
Cons: Little bit old furniture, some spider inside the room
Location: Excellent location
i like this hotel , was excellent for my visit purpose
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Functional

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Very basic. Not central to anything. Nice bathroom but bedroom very basic. Reception area well presented but rooms and layout needs to be refurbished. Rooms too exposed. As a single female, I didn't feel safe.....
4 out of 5
by Roger

Nice place sham about the noise

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
No air con or fan so had to have windows open so was very noisy do to traffic. It was a long way to get a shop or food. Also no Tea Coffee or Kettle
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island, Canada

Good experience. Best motel restaraunt ever.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
We were told our room was " the new one ". It was exceptionaly large, with ample room for 3. The third person had a bed ( pull outs were very common on this trip ) The room was clean. Would definately stay there again. The restaurant was excetional. Great waiter and really really good food. Overall, onr of the best experiences on our 3 weeks in Europe.
4 out of 5
by Anne - Marie

Always good !

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
Took my own kettle this time as the hotel is always excellent but i really need coffee in the morning..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel, a bit noisy

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel : nice room with comfortable bed, simple but nice breakfast, nice restaurant, friendly and helpful staff. It was also nice to see several vegetarian options on the menu. A few drawbacks : very noisy during the night (no double-glazing ?), buildings look a bit dated, evening meal : fish gratin had been put in the micro oven and was not hot enough, not enough toiletries, no tissues in the room. The positive things do outweigh the negatives, though. Nice also that one can bring one's dog(s) (we will do so next time as the location is fantastic for nice walks).
4 out of 5
by Anne - Marie

THANK YOU Hotel Van Der Valk for a GREAT STAY !

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
I booked a double room.. this turned out to be two singles pushed together but beds were still very comfortable. Bathroom was good size but had a fight with the shower as it was a over bath and kept moving but water was loverly and hot once I got it. Booked for breakfast the next morning and glad I did the food was AMAZING! worth every penny... Hotel looks nice, in nice quiet area and not to far for trips in to other areas of belguim, trips to holland and shopping, great parking too... would advise car but thats the same for whole of belguim. Only down side was no kettel... but they do have a bar for drinks until around 10pm... I'm used to this though so I got coffee and milk and used the hot tap... still good.. Lol Staff had good english so no need for my bad flemish and they were all polite and helpful. As a brit in belguim... great stay and next time I book i'll even take the kids (breakfast covered for all fussy eaters and a kids menu for the evening). Would recomend everytime...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value for money, clean room & comfortable bed

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
I have not slept very well on the first night as I could hear the traffic. After advising the reception the next day, I was moved to a different room at the back of the building which was very quiet . The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Coffee or tea dispenser was not provided in the room , only a small bottle of water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that we could help you with the noise. We are having rooms with a coffee machine. These are our superior rooms. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Melissa, Van der Valk Hotel Dennenhof
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

CONVENIENT AND CLEAN HOTEL

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
IT WAS WHAT WE EXPECTED