Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cairo Ga

nice hotel but traffic noise terrible

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: staff and breakfast
Cons: better housekeeping
Location: If you can't stay at St. George Island this is a good alternative. Close to beach and State Parks.
Room was ok except for sticky floor ? Think maybe not rinsed after mopping. Room was right next to Hgy 98 with traffic noise sounding like it was coming into room. Why are motorcycle pipes so loud ? Breakfast was excellent and enjoyed talking to other guests.. Would stay again but ask for room away from street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Denise Hendricks, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. We are glad to hear your experience was good and we welcome you back any time. Maybe the second floor next time. :)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marion, Illinois

Plumbing Problems,

Posted Nov 4, 2017
The Shower wouldn't drain in room 19. The Staff had us transfer to room 17, but same issue again. Extremely disappointed. No one wants to stand in a foot of water while they take a shower. Checked out a day early due to the plumbing problem. We were charged for 4 days only stayed for 3 days. Staff didn't offer a refund.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old in-town inn

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Lighting
Nice old house close to restaurants and the bay. Friendly staff and great breakfast. Dark wood in the house makes it seem dark.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Denise Hendricks, Hotel Management
Dear Gary, thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. We are glad to hear the staff were friendly and that you enjoyed your breakfast. The wood can tend to look a little dark however, that is all original and over 112 years old. We invite you back and hope it will ve soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee

Staying at the Coombs Inn

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Love that old house, especially our room- the Coombs room. Awesome antique furniture in that place!
Cons: Larger hot water heaters, and do maintenance and painting away from visiting guests.
Location: Apalachicola is a scenic, quiet, river town. Restaurants in town are a little pricey, but the seafood is great!
Very nice place, great breakfasts and great staff. I hesitate to complain about anything, because overall it was a very good experience.. But as others have noted in their reviews on other sites, when trying to use their jacuzzi, their wasn't enough hot water to even fill the tub.. not even past the tub's jets. Of course, that may have been simply the time of day (during the afternoon, when they may have been washing towels?). They were also painting and touching up the house during the day, so taking a nap wasn't an option. The painter was right outside our window making lots of noise. Glad they care about making sure the house is looking good, so putting a fresh coat of paint is a good thing. But the timing of that was bad for us. Still, a very nice place overall. The staff was super friendly and down to earth. They cook a great breakfast too :-)
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Denise Hendricks, Hotel Management
Dear Skip, thank you for your feedback. We hope you will come back soon and see all the completed renovations and updates.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Different
Cons: lighting
Location: If you like oysters got here
Trouble checking in as they don't have a "reception desk" per say. Took finding another guest to tell me where to go, Then you had to ring a bell. Two bells one I kept pressing wasn't working finally saw another one. Breakfast was great but the dining room so dark, curtains closed you could hardly see what you were eating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Denise Hendricks, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. We appreciate all feedback and are always looking to improve from our guest suggestions. We look forward to your next stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Quick Getaway

Posted Sep 5, 2017
The Coombs Inn was charming. My boyfriend and I went to Apalachicola for a overnight get away. The staff was exceptionally friendly and courteous. Check in was a breeze, and hot cookies were brought out for us to munch on, as we thought that cocktail hour was going to start shortly, however we arrived on a Sunday, and that offer only happens on Friday and Saturday eve. So cookies were it!! We also brought some food with us that needed to be refrigerated, and our room did not have that accommodations, so we asked if we could put our items in their fridge. They said "absolutely" and whenever we needed anything, they were more than happy to help us out! Breakfast was exceptional, a lot of baked goods, and home made casseroles.. We will definitely be going back to the Coombs Inn again...
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Denise Hendricks, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Thank you for reviewing our Inn. It is always so nice to hear that our staff were friendly and courteous. You are welcome back any time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

Unexpected delight

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Everything was fine.
Location: This hotel is in a small town. Many of the restaurants were closed. This is such a lovely area for a drive.
We had a wonderful suite with a porch in a quiet building next door to the main house. The bed was comfortable and we enjoyed the peacefulness although the hotel is on a busy street. The breakfast was plentiful with various choices and a hot meal made to order, if desired. We would recommend this as a place to stay when in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Denise Hendricks, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, thank you for your review and the 5 out of 5 star rating. We welcome you back soon!
5 out of 5
by JEANNETTE

Wonderful Place to Stay

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great time at Coombs House Inn...the room was phenomenal, great porches for sitting, rocking, etc., internet worked great, breakfast wonderful, including homemade quiches and breads and muffins..., and EVERYONE was absolutely the best, most friendly and helpful staff anyone could hope for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017
Dear Jeannette, we are so happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay at The Coombs House. We hope you will be back very soon for more R&R.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tallahassee

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Location was wonderful and i walked all over town. Nice restaurants, coffee shop with gelato and chocolate was a treat. I like the charm and the art.
Cons: Would have been nice to see photos of room chouces.
Location: Town walkable and lovely beaches a short drive away.
What i saw of the main house was lovely; the annex not as much. Breakfast was unexpectedly very good except for the walk from the annex. Room small but comfortable, quiet. I was disappointed that the tub was half size as i had read that the bathtubs were jacuzzi. I would have been happy with one i could relax in, but mine was way too short, also had drainage problems. Staff was friendly and helpful. Ill come back, but will stay in the main house.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Denise Hendricks, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, thank you for your review and we welcome you to stay in the main mansion on your next visit.
5 out of 5
by Penny

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017
Thank you Penny for giving us 5 stars. We strive to get this kind of review and appreciate your time.