Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2019 on Wotif
The property was very Cozy, we lived the open fire and jet bath
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2019 on Wotif
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, au

Posted Jan 5, 2019 on Wotif
The location and aspect were excellent. All of the facilities were top notch. It was just a little unclear where the external bins were as they had been put out by the caretaker and the bbq was only a sunbeam electric with a damaged lid. This did not impact negatively on our stay and we would definitely choose to stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast Qld

Good location across the road from the beach

Posted Mar 11, 2018 on Wotif
Pros: The location was great
Cons: It needs refurbishing, the appliances are old and dated, the floor is in poor condition and it needs serious cleaning in the cupboards and drawers.
This is an excellent place to stay with a young family. There is a huge green lawn to play on and some of the cottages have play structures. It is fairly dated inside, with a pine cottage feel, but therefore no worries about having kids running about. The washing machine and drier worked well. It was pretty peaceful and quiet. The main downsides were it needs a really thorough clean, not the sort of ‘lick & polish’ it is currently getting. The fridge was old with the plastic yellowing and the door shelves missing. There were lots of decent frypans and saucepans but not a single baking tray for the oven. There was no dishwasher which was a bit surprising for the cost of this accommodation. Apollo Bay itself is a lovely town, close to bushwalks in the Otways and the rock pools just across the road, at the end of the beach, are rich with sea life.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2018 by Sharee, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying at Apollo Bay Cottages. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for will take on board your feedback on areas for improvement. We hope you would consider staying with us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Very nice

Posted Dec 11, 2017 on Wotif
We really enjoy our stay. It was thoroughly relaxing and peaceful and we look forward to visit the cottages again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Davina, Hotel Management
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to accommodating you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Apollo Bay getaway

Posted May 12, 2017 on Wotif
Great spot to explore the Otways. Quiet, comfy but close to town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Step back in time

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Wotif
The cottages look quaint online (although we saw a mix of photos of modern & old style wooden so weren't sure which we would get) but in reality they just felt a bit uncomfortable and poorly equipped - cooker was old, bathroom dated and lighting poor - I felt like I was living again in my 70s childhood home. The TV wouldn't work on digital so we couldn't watch several of the basic core channels and there must have been a bees nest somewhere as we had to remove 14 from the cottage over the course of 24 hours & we had kept all the doors and windows shut. It's actually in Marengo (despite the name) so not really walking distance into Apollo Bay for dinner in the evening so you would have to drive to be safe. The cottages look out onto a lovely green space shared by all the cottages where we sat out on a blanket in the early evening so some pluses but as is common along the GOR, significantly less for your money than you get elsewhere e.g. Mornington Peninsula.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Really disappointed.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Really disappointed for a 4-star rated property. Cob webs hanging off the ceiling. A bedroom window couldn't open and it's winder was literally crumbling. Back window covered in finger prints. Banana peel under a bed. Stains in the bath. Kitchen, bathroom and a bedroom light didn't work so when we got back to the cabin we had to cook with just the lounge room light. If it was one little thing we'd understand but since there was a string of items we were disappointed. They attended to some items when we complained but the reality is that the property was not well maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Quiet and pleasant place.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: There was plenty of bird life and apparently a couple of koalas on the fringe of the property.
Location: Plenty of walks and falls to visit
Had a cosy fireplace that was all set up nicely. The host gave very useful tips about the surrounding attractions. On our last night, we visited the rocks at the nearby beach where the sealions sometimes come up and saw a sealion pup that appeared lost. It was crying out piteously and some folks were trying to call the wildlife rescue but it swam off. Hope it found its mother.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SG

Cosy cottage with a beautiful view of the bay

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Wonderfully cosy cottage with a fireplace and a view of the beach and Bay Area. The cottage opens to a large lawn which my children loved running in.