Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perthshire

Lovely hotel,warm and friendly.Wonderful views .

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Perhaps the weather ,but not much else
Location: Scotland's west coast is fabulous and has so much to see and do,but most of the time you just want to look at the views. Hills water,islands,so much .
A wonderful place to stay, the Pierhouse sits just above the pier where you can watch the ferry to Lismore coming and going and lots of other boats, often the fishing boat that is landing that nights dinner of local shellfish . The hotel itself is relaxed and friendly, the staff are helpful and happy to speak to you and share their local knowledge.The food is great, especially if you like seafood and the menu offers lots of choices. With comfortable,warm rooms and lounges,thePierhouse has everything you need for a comfortable relaxed stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Picturesque location

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Snug for residents.
Whilst touring around Scotland we stayed at The Pierhouse for two nights. The location is picturesque and tranquil and we received a warm welcome on arrival. Our room was at the rear of the hotel so with hindsight I wish we had booked a room at the front overlooking the water. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable (with gorgeous bedding) but my only criticism would be that it was rather on the small side given the cost of the room. We ate on both evenings in the restaurant - both meals were delicious. Breakfast was also wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Caroline Willis, Hotel Management
Dear Kerry, Thank you very much for your lovely review. Our rooms get booked up many months in advance so if you would like a sea view for your next visit please book ahead as much as you can- we are already taking bookings for next summer with best prices always directly through our hotel. Kind Regards, Caroline
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

It's purely a b&b

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Very nice location and very nice staff. Goodbye is good too. But no facilities and the rooms r small and very basic. Very remote location so it was very peaceful but took a long time to drive to this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Caroline, Hotel Management
Dear Amit, It was a shame you got here so late and were not able to enjoy a relaxing evening in our Seafood restaurant. The peacefulness and remoteness of our location is why many of our guests choose to stay with us- we see it as a definite plus. Many Kind Regards, Caroline Willis
5 out of 5
by Joy

Relax and enjoy great views of the bay

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
A truly amazing location to spend on the water to relax in a quaint, small hotel in Port Appin (close to Oban). Service and food were both excellent. Rooms were smaller, but very comfortable. There is no elevator and the first floor of rooms is a set of stairs to climb so if this is an issue, ask for the first floor not the second floor. The bar had a great variety of beverages. The chef did an amazing job with all meals. Staff were very attentive. Cute and cozy lounge areas. Big picture windows overlooking the water. A nice walking trail to the point. To get to Port Appin one drives a fair distance on a narrow winding road, but it is a pretty route along Loch Linnhe. Highly recommend this as a stop when one just wants to relax and get away from the bustle of the cities and enjoy fine dining, hikes and fishing. Driving country...closest city is Oban, to the south.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017
Dear Joy, Thank you for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit. Many Kind Regards Caroline Willis
5 out of 5
by Tony

We will be back!!!

Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Hotels
We have been to a number of accommodations in the area and to us, this is the most romantic with the best views. from the food to the room to the staff themselves, The Pierhouse is top notch and should be on everyone's list as best places to stay. We will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017
Dear Tony, Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so delighted you had a good stay with us and look forward to your next visit. Many Kind Regards, Caroline Willis
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely comfortable hotel in a Great location

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Friendly staff and hosts, great location and lovely comfortable room. Will be back again
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Caroline, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your lovely review, I am delighted you had a good stay with us. Many Kind Regards, Caroline Willis
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay

Posted Jul 16, 2017
It looks more like a restaurant as there is no clear sign of reception. The waiter came out from behind the bar to check us in. The cliff view or cliff side they insisted was the view of a hedge with pot plants, the room is small and very basic with the smallest television (15'').
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Caroline Willis, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs Perryman, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. This does seem to be the exception to our other guests experiences, but every single review is important to us, and we would like every one of our guests to have a good stay. Thank you very much, Many Kind Regards, Caroline Willis
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Charming, quaint out-of-the-way hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Location: Hiking, boating, fishing. Visit Castle Stalker, a restored 14th Century castle.
My wife and I (both late 60's) loved The Pierhouse. We wanted to visit nearby Castle Stalker and found The Pierhouse through Stalker's recommendation. It's at the end of a twisty one-lane road but don't let that deter you, as the views from the hotel are stunning. It sits on the shore of Loch Linnhe near where it joins the sea. We had only scheduled one night there but wished for a longer stay, particularly for their excellent dining room and cozy bar and sitting areas. Staff are friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Caroline, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review which I will pass on to all of our staff. Hope to see you the next time for a longer visit. Kind Regards, Caroline
5 out of 5
by William

Excellent hotel and restaurant in scenic location

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
The pierhouse is in an old building, a pierhouse maybe if that's a thing, right on the water. My room looked very new like it had just been remodeled and the bathroom was modern although the shower was small. The bed was particularly comfortable. The food in the restaurant was excellent but not inexpensive and the views from the dining room are beautiful through the large windows looking out over the loch and the mountains beyond. There's ample parking and the staff were all friendly and welcoming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and your very kind words which I will pass on to all of our staff. Many Kind Regards, Caroline
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dunblane

Fantastic restaurant with rooms

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Rooms had beautiful wooden furniture and a crisp and clean feel to them. Very cosy and friendly atmosphere. Amazing food.
Location: Beautiful scenery, walks and boat trips.
My husband and I had a fantastic 2 nights with the Pierhouse Hotel. The atmosphere was very relaxing and cosy, the staff were helpful and friendly and the food was absolutely amazing. We obviously took advantage of it being a seafood restaurant and had mainly fish/shellfish for evening meals but I did have the venison one evening and it was cooked to perfection. The pickled chanterelles with the lobster ravioli was amazing and the langoustines and garlic butter was just gorgeous. The quality of food for breakfast was equally high. The fires were lit and kept going and there were plenty of areas to sit and relax. We did one of the walks recommended by the Hotel's information leaflet which was very easy to follow and it was a beautiful walk. We would definitely like to go back !