Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Modern hotel with good sized car park

Posted Mar 23, 2017
The hotel was comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. The only downside was my husband was in a wheelchair and there was no facility for keeping the interior doors open, even for a short time, as they were fire doors. The reception staff found me a wedge to hold open the door to our room while I wheeled the chair in or out, and we managed the other doors by my husband pushing with his feet and arm! We enjoyed sitting outside in the sunshine and watching rabbits gambolling on the lawns. We even saw a buzzard one morning. Most unexpected so near to main roads!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very handy for the M1. Broke our journey nicely

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Location near M1
Happy with our room...basic but clean and comfortable. Staff helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bridlington

Nice hotel would stay again

Posted Feb 25, 2017
We travelled down from east Yorkshire and stayed the night first time very pleasant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disorganised Stay

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Nothing in general
Cons: The booking in process and a refurb of rooms
Location: Twycross Zoo
Arriving at the hotel they had no knowledge of the booking, whether this was their fault or yours for not advising them we could not determine, they did however have rooms available, agreed the room rate you had set and upgraded us on the basis of the problem and that I was a Best Western loyalty card holder. When getting into the room we found that the waste bin in the bathroom was full of rubbish left by the previous guest which places doubt as the whether the bathroom had be cleaned at all. The bathroom door wouldn't shut without slamming it shut, various knobs and shower heads came off in your hand when used, the bathroom door wouldn't shut unless slammed, the duvet cover was marked with coloured ink - the room was generally tired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tamworth

Nice hotel a couple of minor things

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Nice hotel, nice friendly staff....breakfast was plentiful & good. A couple of things.. The room was cold & the electric heater was manually adjustable took quite a while to heat the room up. Another thing we had twin beds...my single mattress was terrible....soon at you ley on it it squashed to half its size & made a terrible noise like all the springs were coming apart...& I'm not a heavy person....other than that I would definitely recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlothian

Improvements would help.

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: The location and access are good as is the parking.
Cons: As above - 1/, 2/, 3/.
Suggested improvements: 1/ erect a glass wall down the passageway side of the dining room; when the door was opened, cold air and cigarette smoke drifted in. The glass screen would retain the openness of the foyer but give diners a degree of privacy; 2/ the room key's' arrows imply that the card should be placed with the arrows down when inserting into the electrical device - but it actually only worked with the arrows up - different from other hotels; 3/ the breakfasts would benefit from a cold platter of meats and cheese. The room looked in need of a face-lift. The staff responded to our questions and were helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Hotel absolutely fit the bill of an overnight stay with breakfastPity the room didn't have a king size bed
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel for family visit

Posted Dec 5, 2016
This was convenient hotel with secure parking for our weekend away to visit my son, staff were friendly. I felt the restaurant was too open to the general public, right next to throughfare to reception and the bar making it very cold which were the main reason we choose not to dine there. Whilst the room was clean the tea/coffee facilities were very meagre and the bed was very soft making it uncomfortable, neither my husband or I got a decent nights sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
Toooooo cold not very good heating system
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Cons: The cleanliness of the room and decor of the room we stayed 124
Location: Nec
Despite following instructions about shower curtain , after still ran onto floor so evidence of previous leaks showed in bathroom , door surround. The overall carpet and chair looked grubby and stained. The shower head could not be moved which made it difficult for my daughter who is 6 ft tall .