Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Mids

Typical Best Western

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Needs an upgrade. Staff pleasant enough. Coach parties visiting. Room interconnecting so noises from next door off putting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Our stay with you

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Comfortable hotel, and but it was the staff who made our stay brilliant and we promised to come back again x
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York

DISAPPOINTING

Posted Sep 11, 2017
I've never had a bad experience with a hotel until this one. With the area being fairly dead of hotels/restaurants, I previously contacted the hotel about veggie options in their restaurant, and was reassured there would be plenty of choice. When we arrived there was a severe lack of veggie options, and also a function on meaning they scrapped most of their meat options from the menu, meaning neither myself or partner could order food. This meant we had to go out in the rain hungry, looking for pubs. It took us about 30 mins to find a pub that wasn't busy and could actually seat us - the Appleby Inn, which is also a hotel and serves absolutely lovely food! I would like to add that the walk back to the hotel involved a pitch black street with no lighting, cars going 50mph and no path - a very unpleasant and scary experience! We tried to complain about the inconvenience and lack of communication, but staff were not interested. To add to things, the room was incredibly cold! And that is coming from a couple that get absolutely boiling on a night, so something really is off there. We did try the heater, although it gave off a really strong burning smell and didn't seem safe at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Beverages

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The stay was excellent, however the drinks were more exspensive than a top London hotel. If you stay there drink elsewhere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

clean comfortable hotel with friendly staff

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: everything. didn't find fault.
Location: Location a little out of the way but nice and peaceful.
A little hard to find when you are from another country. Once found the hotel was clean with friendly staff. Room was a little small but then you only sleep in it. Main thing was room was clean and comfortable bathroom was also clean and fresh. Staff were friendly and overall the hotel was nestled in lovely surroundings complete with free parking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced and grotty

Posted Aug 21, 2017
The reception staff were very friendly but otherwise this place is a miss. The fact that the room cost (already very expensive for a BASIC room) doesn't include the breakfast (an additional 10 quid) when there is no where else around to get breakfast from is shocking and clearly taking advantage. Avoid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Great patience from staff in tough conditions. Shower head could have been a little higher.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice staff but clearly overstretched

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Staff were friendly but overstretched. Often had to wait for someone to come to the bar, or to reception for service. Breakfast was disappointing. For £10 it wasn't well organised at all, didn't have many options, and though I'm not veggie, wasn't good for non meat eaters. There was often no cutlery on the tables. Milk, juice and cups ran out at one stage. Staff were again clearly overstretched. The room was okay. The bed was uncomfortable however.
4 out of 5
by Jacob

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Jane

The worse nights sleep ever

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Arrived very late, the night receptionist was very busy serving drinks and looking after hotel guests despite this he was very courteous despite being uner pressure, I think an additional member of staff would of been helpful knowing what events were taking place in the locality. Initially impressed with the modern foyer/bar area that looked as if it has only just been re-furbished. Hotel room appeared satisfactory and clean. The twin beds were the worse bed I have ever slept on, totally worn with springs pressing through. I commented in the morning and was told the beds were being changed, spare matresses were available had I contacted reception. At 01:45 this was not an option for me as I had driven from Dorset that day to attend a festival and all I wanted to do was get a good nights sleep plus the night receptionist was already under enough pressure without me adding to his workload. My advice is to check when booking that you have a new bed and not something that should of been disposed of several years ago. On the plus side the breakast offering was excellent.