Ratings based on 512 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean a 3 star hotel.

Posted Feb 12, 2016
It was in a very good shopping area. Close to many things. Rooms a little dated but clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to fox river mall

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Nice stay, good breakfast. Would definitely stay again. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Awesome experience

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Also the breakfast was amazing and the room was HUGE!
Cons: I'm a millenial so I prefer a more modern/fun room decor but overall it wasn't an issue because everything was clean and homey.
Location: It's right next to the mall which is great and super easy to find from the highway
Even though Grand Stay isn't one of the Biggest names out there I thought they were better than most of their competitors. More ammenities, better layout, less corporate and more like home. They were flexible, kind and understanding about a little booking mix up I had!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

Poor choice

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Noisy, uncomfortable bed. Not conducive to a good night's sleep. Would not stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Cons: Hot tub was out. Running low on breakfast items.
$80 and some change. Check in staff pleasant. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good clean hotel.

Posted Jan 29, 2016
We had a good stay at this hotel. It was clean and comfortable and the staff were gracious.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from appleton

The hot tub

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: customer service was amazing
Cons: the only bad thing was the hot tub was broken but they were working hard to get it repaired.
Location: It was very close to the mall and other shopping.
the night we stayed we were really looking forward to a night in the hot tub after a long day of shopping. We had a girl night planned for my daughters 19th golden birthday. When we returned to the hotel we got ready for a nice relaxing hot tub evening. The front desk informed us the hot tub was down for repair and could not be used. The lady at the front desk was amazing and very accommodating and went out of her way to make up for the inconveince.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, MN

Not as good as the ratings indicated.

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Supposedly the 5th best in Appleton. No way. Sorry. Unless most of them are just not good. It's probably good for soccer or hockey tournaments. Smells like chlorine when you walk into hotel. The front desk area is worn. The room was very cold (60) and I really don't think housekeeping changed any sheets or pillowcases as there was long black hair everywhere. We walked back to the front desk and simply told Jack that we couldn't stay here as it did not meet our expectations. He and the manager were very good about not charging us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Valle, WI

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Pros: The price was reasonable
Cons: Didn't like the bed being right by the window.
Location: Great location with mall right down the street and several restaurants nearby.
Hotel was close to restaurants and shopping. Friendly staff. Room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was ok. Nice lobby and bar area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

I would recommend.

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: Rooms, breakfast, fitness center, pool.
Cons: Wi fi service was terrible!!
Location: Fox River Mall next door. Museums are nearby as is Lawrence University.
Rooms are a good size, it has a nice pool, and a nice fitness room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2015 by Emily, Hotel Management
Dear Alan, Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room, the breakfast and pool. We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us! We do greatly apologize for the wifi issues that you had, just a note for next time, we do have 24 hours tech support for our wifi that we can contact to help you connect.