Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Alana from Fond du Lac

Cozy hotel at a great price

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Noise was a little bit of an issue. I stayed Friday and Saturday night. Saturday night (@3:30 in the morning) it sounded like someone was slamming a door. Its not the hotel's fault but still I was looking forward to a deep uninterrupted sleep. However, the room was great! I loved the hotel as well. The complementary buffet was great! Lots of choices to choose from and the coffee was yummy. I loved the pool. I liked that the hours they were open. They had extended hours for adults which is cool. Plus, the hotel is walking distance from the Oshkosh Outlet too. Looking forward to staying again
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Alana, Thank you for the great review. We are sorry someone slammed their door and woke you up. We are happy to see beside the door issue you had a good stand. Thank you for taking the time to let us and the other readers know. We look forward to seeing you again. At your service, Vicki K
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Traveller, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. although it is not what we like to see - each review helps us become a more user friendly hotel. We look forward to showing you a 5 star stay next time you are in Oshkosh At your service, Vicki K
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the 5 Star review! We are so happy to see you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again real soon! At your service, Vicki K
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Plumbing gone wrong

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was nice but in our room, the sink faucet was dangling and the water backed up in sink making it difficult to do something as simple as washing your hands or brushing your teeth. Also, the closet door was broken. We reported it and weren't offered a new room with working plumbing. Very disappointed!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to see that your stay was not what it should have been. We are wondering if you stay on a night we were 100% full, other wise a new room would have been offered for sure. We would like to know what night you stayed so we can look into these issues. Thank you for letting us know that you were not taken care of right away, We look forward to your next stay being something to write about a 5 star with bonuses. Look forward to seeing you soon At your service, Vicki K
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
WOW!!! Thank you for the 5 stars! What a treat!! we are so glad to see you enjoyed your stay - we hope to see you again real soon! Thank you for the wonderful review!! At your service, Vicki K
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
pool and hot tub were packed so that sucked but very nice resturant/bar
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by Vkoch@whgco.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know that your enjoyed your stay and your visit to The Vintage. We hope to see you again real soon. Oshkosh is waiting for your next visit. Thank you again - you made our day! At your service, Vicki K
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute room decor, awful everything else

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
The room has a queen and two twin beds, and walls decorated with airplanes, and that is all that I can say nicely about the room. There were little things that were irritating, 1) cable TV was down and there was no apologies for it, 2) the toilet paper holder kept on falling down, and 3) the breakfast area was pretty gross, there was no syrup for the waffles, the fridge door was open for who knows how long, I had to search for forks as there was no one around to help, they were out of apple juice on the juice machine, and there was no drinking water to be found. For the price, I'd expect something a lot more decent in a city like Oshkosh.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Traveller, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are happy to see you enjoyed the family room. We are sorry we missed apologizing to you about the cable TV, we tried to tell everyone how sorry we were that Time Warner Cable did not come to fix the cable. We called them everyday 3 or 4 times a day for 10 days asking them to fix out TVs. We tried to tell everyone making reservations that our TVs were out. Thank you for letting us know about the holder in the restroom so we can get that fixed. Thank you for letting us know about the breakfast room that will be addressed with the breakfast staff. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to showing you a 5 star stay on your next visit to Oshkosh. At your service, Vicki K.. Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cleveland

No wifi no cell reception no cable tv hmmm

Posted Jul 30, 2016
There for business and couldn't even work charged my company 400 for a room I can't work in... Or call anyone in or text anyone
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by Vkoch@whgco.com, Hotel Management
This was horrifying for all of us. Our service went out and we called the company every day 3 times a day begging them to fix our service. We were at their mercy! Joy, we and every guest we had that week felt your pain. The whole valley was full so we could not even move our guests or we would not. We are sorry that you had to deal with this issue with everyone else. I am sorry the company that left us all in the dark did not make an effort to fix the issue. It was horrible and we had no controls to fix the issues on our owe. We even looked for a new company to come in the hotel and put a new system in but we were give a 4 week lead time. We are beside ourselves in grief over this whole matter. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I hope we can show you a 5 star stay like you deserve one day soon. At your service, Vicki K
4 out of 5
by Jesse from WI

Good Hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
I was pretty happy with my stay at this hotel. I was there for the Rock USA music festival. I walked from the hotel to the venue which is doable, but it was quite the jaunt, especially afterward. The room was really nice. I booked a King Suite and it had a full couch, full fridge, full counter, dishwasher, coffee maker, & microwave. I'm just happy to get a little mini fridge so that was quite the pleasant surprise!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Jesse, For the awesome review. We are happy to you enjoy the Kitchenette. We hope to see you again. Sorry it took us so long to reply to your great review, we are thankful you took the time to write a one. Looking forward to seeing you again... At your service, Vicki K
5 out of 5
by Annamae

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2016 by VickiK, Hotel Management
Annamae, Thank you for the great review. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you real soon. At your service, Vicki K