Ratings based on 656 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Appleton, wi

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Condition was good
Chose this. Understand the price we were paying was very low. The room was overall clean. One of the beds had stained sheets. The tub was gross and dirty. they had some basic amenities such as fridge, microwave, coffee, hand soap and shampoo. Expedia listing said they had breakfast however there was non. We had stayed a total of 2 nights. The staff never came in our room the 2nd day to freshen the linens, towels, shampoo, coffee, etc etc. When we got back at end of day (7pm) I had to go request. The staff was nice. Not overly friendly but not bad.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Lobby seemed nice. Slight odor of smoke
Cons: Courtesy call when you are changing someone's reservation
Location: Mall and Food Nearby. Right off the expressway.
Arrived to hotel to check-in and was told we will not be staying there tonight. They had to move all guests to other hotel (Microtel Inn) due to a water main break (Same hotel owner). Could have saved 15-20 minutes with a courtesy call. Hotel still under construction in the second building.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Great internet connection but no closet or clothes rack in room
1 out of 5
by Matt

Worst Hotel Stay I've Ever Had

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
We were staying in the Appleton area last minute and found a great deal on hotels.com for the Red Roof Inn Appleton. We checked in around 9pm and headed to our room. Upon entering, we immediately noticed the STRONG stench of cigarettes, even though the room is listed as non-smoking. The room also looked like it had never been vacuumed. Ever. The beds were made, but the rest of the room was filthy and it reeked of smoke. We requested a new room and at first he gave us one room, but then thought aloud "No, 223 should be okay". So I guess there's no baseline of cleanliness for these rooms, and they just have to remember which ones are okay. All room doors are on the exterior of the building, and about this time we noticed all of the shady characters that were hanging about. Our new room was much better than the first, but there were still loud neighbors. We went out and were back at the room around 2:30am for some sleep, but the neighbors were still raging. We slept for maybe a few hours, but couldn't take it after a while and just left. I called the front desk and told them that the meth/crack party that was happening next door drove us out of the room and that we were checked out, and he really didn't seem to care at all. I guess maybe this is just the local crackden party house and we just didn't know. All we wanted was a night's sleep in a decent room and certainly didn't get that. Never staying at a Red Roof in again. F-
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
hi sorry for inconvenience that happened at our hotel.We did hire new house keepers for better cleanliness.We hpoe your stay with us next time will be a good experience. THANKS.GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Appleton, WI

The rooms were large

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: It was quiet.
Cons: Breakfast was small. Not many choices.
Location: Texas Road House and Applebees were close by and KWIK Trip and another gas station was close.
We stayed during cold weather so the outside entrance was difficult for coming and going.
1 out of 5
by Greg

Avoid this hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
Very run down hotel. Toilet barely flushed chunks of wallpaper torn from walls. First room windows didn't even lock could be opened from outside. When we went to tell about the problem we were given another room. The person at desk didn't seem to care. Very deceiving place based on picks. Would recommend avoiding this place
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Sorry for inconvenience that happened at our hotel.We will doing renovation pretty soon.We will make sure it won't happen next stay with us.raj patel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Didn't go quite right

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Cons: upkeep of room
First room we were given had dirty underware behind the bathroom door. They moved us to a different room. Second bathroom had no shower curtain, we called down and they brought one to the room in a timely fashion.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
Room needs updating. Wallpaper was pealing by the bathroom walls. Bathroom had mold on the tile floor and in the shower.
4 out of 5
by David

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
It was good. I had a great stay there. Thank you
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect if you miss the 70's

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Room was very out of date, mattress not very comfy. And absolutely horrible to find this hotel.