Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by deborah from Fond du lac

Posted Dec 4, 2015 on Hotels
I wrote a review about the stay at Retlaw and it wasn't flattering. So this is redundant. Today I was told by a co-worker that Retlaw was closing it's doors. Doesn't surprise me.
5 out of 5
by Michael from La Crosse, WI

Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was GREAT! Very friendly and very accommodating, they made my trip very enjoyable.
3 out of 5
by debbie from Fond du lac

Not a Cheap Gift or Even a Whole Gift

Posted Nov 29, 2015 on Hotels
I booked two rooms for two nights and paid good money for them. At 5:30 pm on Thursday, the pool was closed, due to Thanksgiving. The clerk had no key. We were not told prior to our arrival (or even that day) of this situation.I don't believe that taking this amenity away from us for even a day makes good business sense. This hotel stay was a gift for my daughter and her friend. And I paid the same price that day as I would any other day, no discount given for lack of an amenity. Needless to say I am disappointed and may think twice before booking a room at the Retlaw for a third year in a row.
2 out of 5
by todd from Wausau

POTENTIAL NOT ENOUGH

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
Would've been nice to know most of the hotel was closed ... New ownership? New renovations? Pricey for what was offered ... NOT HOT WATER :(
1 out of 5
by Barry from San Francisco

Avoid this property

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
Checked out after one night. Terrible beds. Terrible HVAC noise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Something out of the ordinary

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Pros: Charm, friendliness of the staff, Walter the ghost.
It's an older hotel but it makes up for it with charm and convenience. Plenty of restaurants, bars and businesses within walking distance. If you have the time, ask one of the employees of their resident ghost - "Walter".
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average at best

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Breakfast and location
Cons: Outdated
Location: Not much going on downtown, but it is centrally located
Hotel looks like it was nice at one point, but is outdated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Staff was very helpful and very nice to deal. My first time to the city, and they were helpful with directions and suggestions. Parking was free and access was easy. Free breakfast was great, including the fresh cook to order omelet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and Seems Unsafe

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
Place is outdate. Which would be fine but it felt unsafe as well. The hallways were very windy. You would not be able to see if someone else was around. Stairwells were also very isolated. There were signs saying they were under a "fire watch" while the alarms were updated. The workout facilities were in the basement which after feeling unsafe in the rest of the hotel I did not even go to the basement. Breakfast was odd because you would take a slip to the nearby restaurant for breakfast. The street area is bad with many of the building vacant. Had to park on the 4th floor and up for parking.The employees were very nice but they just can't make up for the condition of the structure itself.
3 out of 5
by Sara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels