Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lynchburg, VA

Peaceful and relaxing place to stay!

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Really enjoyed our night away! Everyone was very accommodating and friendly! We would defiantly would like to return in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Quiet and Relaxing B&B

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: The furnishings were lovely and the room was spacious.
Cons: The grounds around the hotel and some of the common areas were rather dated and could use some attention.
Location: Appomattox is a very historic town which is an interesting destination for history lovers.
Although our hosts were not there at the time of check-in, they left a note with instructions. Our room was very nice and clean. Overall, the property was a bit dated, but inside the room, we were very pleasantly surprised at the lovely decor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mount Pleasant, South Carolina

2nd time visit, awesome!

Posted Nov 11, 2017
This was are second visit and it was even better than the first. Everything was great, from the accommodations to the hospitality. We enjoy meeting the other guest while Sharing a wonderful breakfast. Renee and her brother John who operate the B an B are like family. You will enjoy the charm of this wonderful home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, VA

Nice B&B with great location

Posted Nov 6, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff was great and accommodations were "warm and comfortable".
Cons: Having the ability to have coffee past 10am would be nice, but that's just the Sailor in me :-)
Location: Perfect location. Walking distance to downtown shops and dining. Short drive to the historic sites.
We were looking for a quiet get away that was close to what we wanted to visit, the Longacre provided both. Perfect.
4 out of 5
by Chris

Appotomax and Civil War trail

Posted Sep 23, 2017 on Hotels
Last minute reservation and made to feel very welcome despite late arrival and a good breakfast to get us going in the morning
5 out of 5
by Belinda

Excellent. Clean comfortable room. Felt safe.

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was well run, comfortable , clean room. I was a woman traveling alone and felt safe.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Charming Night at Grandma's

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Our room was very open, clean and cheery. The bathroom was very large and bright. The owners were friendly and easily accessible.
Cons: Many slipcovers, threadbare furnishings need to be updated. Breakfast uncomfortably close quarters. Put in zoned AC for rooms.
Location: This was a one night stay and didn't have the time to look around with what the area had to offer.
The building, grounds and room were all nice. The building itself is amazing and we wish we had more time to see the all the grounds. However, it does seem to need some cleaning up outside and updating overall. It is somewhat dated. Be aware that rooms do not have their own heat or air. The unit that controls the rooms upstairs is asked to be left set to 75 in the summer and 68 in the winter...leaving our room uncomfortably stuffy. Also, the train runs right near the house. During our stay, it ran, with horn blowing, several times that night. Definitely woke us up each time. Lastly, breakfast is not a private affair, Instead, it is served in a small dining room with two shared tables. Hopefully you are a morning person who likes to talk to others, if not, this is not the breakfast time for you. Will say that this is a perfect place to stay for people who enjoy being close to the history of the area, getting to visit with others and like the cozy feel of grandmother's house. If you're looking for a more upscale or a romantic stay, I'd look elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice b&b with reasonable rates

Posted Aug 28, 2017
I booked a downstairs room, when we arrived I had a note on the door that we had been upgraded. The upgrade was upstairs. Fortunately we were able to manage the stairs but we didn't get an choice in the room change. Overall we were satisfied with our stay. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montgomery Village MD

A Special Place.

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: The intimacy, the history, and personal-ness of the hotel.and its owners.
Cons: We think the sport area in the back of the house could be improved by replacing the tennis court with a volleyball and/or badminton court.
Location: Lots of churches nearby, including Baptist across the street and Catholic not too far away. Close also to fine eating at the historic Babcock House.
Truly a special place. Built in 1933, it is a mansion and is furnished like one. It is impeccable. There are at least 3 sitting areas on the 1st floor. My wife and I spent literally an hour in one of them, just talking and relaxing. Our room on the 2nd floor was very comfortable and clean and like the rest of the house furnished with antiques and family heirlooms. The mint room does not have a bathroom in the room itself, but does have exclusive use of a private bathroom just next door to the room. The bathroom is large and likewise elegantly furnished. I bet our bathroom was the best in the house. The TVs had a connection with something called Soundscape. Ours was tuned to "spa" music and accompanied with meaningful proverbial sayings of famous people, as were most of the TVs in other rooms. The innkeepers and owners, brother and sister, Renee and John, provided personal care for us throughout our visit and regaled us with stories about the house and the families who lived there. They were even able to tell us why the 3 acre property is called Longacre. This is a perfect place to stay if you want a complete Appomattox experience.
4 out of 5
by Maya

Nice place in Appomattox

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable B&B with friendly proprietors.