Ratings based on 603 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in aptos

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Will definitely be staying here again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017
The hotel staff was very accommodating. One of our party used a walker so they gave us a ground floor room instead of a second floor room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Cons: It could get air-conditioning.
I would rate the hotel higher if it had air-conditioning. It only has heating. I found it a tad warm. I needed to have all the windows open including the room door till the early morning hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel within walking distance to the beach

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Anytime we go to Aptos we always stay @ the Rio Sands
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not as described

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Not much, staff were pleasant
Cons: Air conditioning., updated bigger rooms
Location: Stayed here as it was bank holiday weekend and nearby Sant Cruz was too expensive. Near beach but have visited better beaches
We booked a junior suite and was disappointed to find out it was one small room with 2 double beds and a sofa bed. I was travelling with my partner and our 2 children aged 15 and 17 and the room was far too small for our requirements. There was no air conditioning. I went to reception and was lent a small fan. The breakfast room and lobby area were nice and clean but our hotel room was outdated. I wold not stay here again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Main value is location...

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Perhaps a ceiling fan would be nice.
Location: A block from the beach as well as small grocery stores and a couple of cafes.
We booked this place because we made a spontaneous trip to the coast to beat the heatwave. The room overall was clean and somewhat updated...kind of what you can expect from a place that gets a lot of "ocean wear". There was no A/C, so the room was a bit muggy and warm during the day, things cooled off in the evening, but only after setting up a cross-breeze. There is noise from other customers walking by the front door (every room will have this issue), and from the swimming pool area. Things got quiet by around 1130pm. There was some mild second-hand smoke that wafted in, but nothing that warranted a complaint. Breakfast is on par with most economy hotels...packaged cereals, costco-style pastries and muffins, coffee, juice, yogurt, waffle maker, and hard-boiled eggs, As mentioned, the main value of this hotel is its location...it is just a block away from the beach and nearby general stores and cafes (there are not many, as compared to Capitola). If you book through Expedia, be sure to convey your specific needs to the hotel (including bedding needs). Like most hotels that use Expedia, what you convey on the webform may not be conveyed to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Hot

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Everything was nice but we stayed on a very warm weekend and room was very hot. Had a ceiling fan but fan was very little help. Hotel is really close to beach big plus
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento

Perfect location.

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Location was perfect, spa, pool, and staff were friendly. Will be back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aptos

Excellent

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Lived the staff and rooms are clean. Hot tub could be a little hotter thou
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Nice place to be close to the beach. Large clean room. Breakfast could have offered a few more items. All starch foods. More variety.